Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-06-21

Life and the death penalty

This is the most alert and awake I have felt all week. It�s about fucking time, for a minute there I thought I might be slipping into a friggin� coma. Yesterday after work, I went to pick up my father at San Diego Harley (it�s preventative work, Barb, some people actually take care of their vehicles, he said to me), and forced him to go with me to look at cars, something I still hadn�t done! We went to the same Toyota Dealer that we�ve purchased 4 new vehicles from (we don�t like to deviate from what works, it�s the same with food, but I�ll get to that). I think I�m going to get a used Camry. Step up from my Corolla, dependable, good warranty, when it comes to cars, I�m pretty practical.

That out of the way, Dad took me to a new Thai restaurant in the neighborhood. This is where I notice father-daughter similarities most, when we are sharing a meal. We each have 2 staple items found on any Thai menu that we KNOW we like, so we always know what to order, the safe bet, something I won�t have to spit up onto the table. Chicken and rice, you can�t go wrong. Thai iced tea. We�re doing good. We each took a moment to pick out the onions, and dug in, sharing stories and conversation, laughing and listening. My father said, �I love the time I get to spend with you. It really is good for me, in many ways.� I agreed with a wholehearted �Ditto, Daddy.�

After dinner I had a nice relaxing evening, finally got my laundry done (had to intimidate fellow tenants away from the machines by growling and hissing, c�mon, it�s Thursday for Christ�s sake! MY turn!) Watched some TV for the first time in a while. The movie, Playing By Heart, what a great flick. Gena Rowlands, Gillian Anderson, Angelina Jolie, John Stewart, Sean Connery, Dennis Quaid, Jay Mohr, more, more, more. All about love and relationships. It�s the kind of movie that gives you hope, makes you feel. After crying to the movie (always the pinnacle moment of any chic-flick, that which brings you to tears), South Park came on. The NEW South Park. I hardly ever catch the show, sometimes it�s okay, sometimes funny, never thought too much about it. I laughed my ass off.

This show was the debut of the word �shit� on regular television. They had a little counter on the bottom left side of the screen, tallying the amount of times this taboo word was uttered. The word �shit� was said in this episode over 180 times. I just thought the whole set-up was very clever. I don�t care to explain it, watch the repeat, I�m not a TV Guide reviewer here, just a woman who likes to hear dirty words from the mouths of babes � it�s funny.

In other news, have you been paying attention to the news? Do we read the paper everyone? A woman in Texas murdered her children yesterday. Drowned them in the bathtub. Her children! Check out CNN.com for the full story. The cops who were called to the house (by her), the men who discovered 4 tiny bodies, still wet, covered in a sheet on the bed, another body in the tub, dead, were fathers. Each with children of their own. To walk into this house with this woman, standing, waiting, while her children lay dead by her own hands. This is tragic. She�s up for the death penalty. I wouldn�t mind being the person to administer the needle (Texas is death-by-injection now).

You need a license to drive a car. No training required to have children. There are some really fucked up people in this world. I�m for capital punishment. What good are you for the world, for yourself, for anyone, if you have it in you to kill 5 innocent children? She had postpartum depression after having the 2nd to last child. Authorities say she may also have deeper psychological illnesses, as postpartum depression does not typically lead to violence against others. Ya THINK? No shit she�s sick in the head. You HAVE to be to do something like that. Something inexplicable. Something horrendous to the rest of us, to human nature.

I don�t care what she has. Five children are dead. She�s depressed anyway. Put her out of her misery. How can I jump from a nice evening to ranting about the deserved death penalty? This is life, baby. We take things as they come. Especially thoughts and emotions. Lately, there�s just no order to mine.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Life and the death penalty 2001-06-21 9:11 a.m. This is the most alert and awake I have felt all week. It�s about fucking time, for a minute there I thought I might be slipping into a friggin� coma. Yesterday after work, I went to pick up my father at San Diego Harley (it�s preventative work, Barb, some people actually take care of their vehicles, he said to me), and forced him to go with me to look at cars, something I still hadn�t done! We went to the same Toyota Dealer that we�ve purchased 4 new vehicles from (we don�t like to deviate from what works, it�s the same with food, but I�ll get to that). I think I�m going to get a used Camry. Step up from my Corolla, dependable, good warranty, when it comes to cars, I�m pretty practical.

That out of the way, Dad took me to a new Thai restaurant in the neighborhood. This is where I notice father-daughter similarities most, when we are sharing a meal. We each have 2 staple items found on any Thai menu that we KNOW we like, so we always know what to order, the safe bet, something I won�t have to spit up onto the table. Chicken and rice, you can�t go wrong. Thai iced tea. We�re doing good. We each took a moment to pick out the onions, and dug in, sharing stories and conversation, laughing and listening. My father said, �I love the time I get to spend with you. It really is good for me, in many ways.� I agreed with a wholehearted �Ditto, Daddy.�

After dinner I had a nice relaxing evening, finally got my laundry done (had to intimidate fellow tenants away from the machines by growling and hissing, c�mon, it�s Thursday for Christ�s sake! MY turn!) Watched some TV for the first time in a while. The movie, Playing By Heart, what a great flick. Gena Rowlands, Gillian Anderson, Angelina Jolie, John Stewart, Sean Connery, Dennis Quaid, Jay Mohr, more, more, more. All about love and relationships. It�s the kind of movie that gives you hope, makes you feel. After crying to the movie (always the pinnacle moment of any chic-flick, that which brings you to tears), South Park came on. The NEW South Park. I hardly ever catch the show, sometimes it�s okay, sometimes funny, never thought too much about it. I laughed my ass off.

This show was the debut of the word �shit� on regular television. They had a little counter on the bottom left side of the screen, tallying the amount of times this taboo word was uttered. The word �shit� was said in this episode over 180 times. I just thought the whole set-up was very clever. I don�t care to explain it, watch the repeat, I�m not a TV Guide reviewer here, just a woman who likes to hear dirty words from the mouths of babes � it�s funny.

In other news, have you been paying attention to the news? Do we read the paper everyone? A woman in Texas murdered her children yesterday. Drowned them in the bathtub. Her children! Check out CNN.com for the full story. The cops who were called to the house (by her), the men who discovered 4 tiny bodies, still wet, covered in a sheet on the bed, another body in the tub, dead, were fathers. Each with children of their own. To walk into this house with this woman, standing, waiting, while her children lay dead by her own hands. This is tragic. She�s up for the death penalty. I wouldn�t mind being the person to administer the needle (Texas is death-by-injection now).

You need a license to drive a car. No training required to have children. There are some really fucked up people in this world. I�m for capital punishment. What good are you for the world, for yourself, for anyone, if you have it in you to kill 5 innocent children? She had postpartum depression after having the 2nd to last child. Authorities say she may also have deeper psychological illnesses, as postpartum depression does not typically lead to violence against others. Ya THINK? No shit she�s sick in the head. You HAVE to be to do something like that. Something inexplicable. Something horrendous to the rest of us, to human nature.

I don�t care what she has. Five children are dead. She�s depressed anyway. Put her out of her misery. How can I jump from a nice evening to ranting about the deserved death penalty? This is life, baby. We take things as they come. Especially thoughts and emotions. Lately, there�s just no order to mine.