Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-08-27

Party on, Barb

Okay, so I�m a little tired. But oh, what a weekend. My goodness gracious, I do push the limits on what a body can endure for the sake of keeping the party going. I�m so good like that, though. Friday night was perfectly mellow, I stopped by Cabana Boy�s boyfriend�s birthday gathering at Hamburger Mary�s for a drink. Got to chat with some old friends, and share in the festivities for a bit, then headed home and passed out on the couch, snoring, while my sister and a friend watched the rest of the Disney movie we all started together. I must have needed that sleep. Thank God I got that sleep. Because for the next 2 days, I wasn't to have any sleep at all.

Saturday morning, my mother took me to breakfast. We had great discourse, seemed to meet on the same level, which is quite rare with the two of us. Laughing and bonding and talking, as friends more than mother and daughter. She was very honest about her stance on her sick parents. It was good to hear that she�s coming to terms with many things and actually okay about those terms. Very good, indeed. Saturday afternoon, I pranced around Hillcrest with Cyrano as he searched for the perfect Burning Man costumes. He came up with some pretty damned nice finds, I must say. The rest of the afternoon was fun and frustrating, fun just to chill and hang at home with a drink and a few friends, including my sister, and frustrating, because those damn boys in LA took forever to get their shit together and figure out how to get down to my place.

But, eventually, they made it. Africa Dick, Comedy, and Kenny. They are just a group of fun waiting to explode onto any scene. And take over, in a good way. Spontaneous party under way! Jen stuck around to play with us, also a rare treat! It was the perfect mix of people. Kitty, of course, the LA boys, German girl and her awesome crew (complete with her adorable husband and a gorgeous little raver boy). I got to party with the better half of a good friend, and I�m so happy I ran into her and brought her over, because she was an awesome addition. Okay, events of the evening. Raver boy brought in a light show, that was pretty cool, he would create patterns on the walls and ceiling, staying to the beat and flow of the music. Amazing to watch, and it helps when you�re slightly inebriated, trust me on that one.

The boys from LA were HYSTERICAL. I haven�t laughed that hard, for that long, in like, well, almost 2 weeks. There was a moment the following morning (yes, we little freaks were still awake and laughing) when I lost the ability to speak. Yes, I know, it was horrible. But kind of funny and relaxing, in a way. I was just unable to talk. As people caught on to my plight, they stopped expecting me to say anything. It would have made for a very interesting experiment, that is, if I was faking the not-being-able-to-talk part. I was stuck on stupid, and the crew was starting to get worried that I was fading out, because the party�s not as much fun when one of us drifts away. The bulk of the group left to run some errands, go to the store, etc, and by the time they returned, I was up and about, talking nonstop (as usual) and making faces and cracking jokes.

Pixie stopped by in the afternoon, a lovely surprise, and then she tried to do the wonderful friend thing she does, and tried to take the party back to her place so that I could get some sleep. She didn't want me put out, and I didn�t want to be responsible for putting her out, so we went back and forth tossing ideas to the crowd to gauge their final destinations. Being the awesome people that they are (but I believe that has already been established), they were all pretty flexible, but eventually decided that they would head back to the adorable couple�s place to continue hanging out, then come back later for the rest of their belongings. It was perfect. I took a long, wet shower (I would have said hot or cold, but in reality, it was lukewarm, so why not just state the obvious and call it wet?), and crawled into bed, clean and happy and utterly wasted. A few hours later, when the boys came to get their things and drive back up to LA, Africa Dick came to lay on me and say goodbye, and thank me for an awesome time.

It really was just an all-around fun, stupid, silly, outrageous, hilarious, loving, appreciating, helluva good fucking time.

So yeah, I�m a little tired. But I�ll get over it quickly. A handful of my friends have headed out to Burning Man, and I�ve got some people arriving home or coming into town this week. It�s going to be one of those mellow, yet interactive weeks. I can dig it.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Party on, Barb 2001-08-27 10:14 a.m. Okay, so I�m a little tired. But oh, what a weekend. My goodness gracious, I do push the limits on what a body can endure for the sake of keeping the party going. I�m so good like that, though. Friday night was perfectly mellow, I stopped by Cabana Boy�s boyfriend�s birthday gathering at Hamburger Mary�s for a drink. Got to chat with some old friends, and share in the festivities for a bit, then headed home and passed out on the couch, snoring, while my sister and a friend watched the rest of the Disney movie we all started together. I must have needed that sleep. Thank God I got that sleep. Because for the next 2 days, I wasn't to have any sleep at all.

Saturday morning, my mother took me to breakfast. We had great discourse, seemed to meet on the same level, which is quite rare with the two of us. Laughing and bonding and talking, as friends more than mother and daughter. She was very honest about her stance on her sick parents. It was good to hear that she�s coming to terms with many things and actually okay about those terms. Very good, indeed. Saturday afternoon, I pranced around Hillcrest with Cyrano as he searched for the perfect Burning Man costumes. He came up with some pretty damned nice finds, I must say. The rest of the afternoon was fun and frustrating, fun just to chill and hang at home with a drink and a few friends, including my sister, and frustrating, because those damn boys in LA took forever to get their shit together and figure out how to get down to my place.

But, eventually, they made it. Africa Dick, Comedy, and Kenny. They are just a group of fun waiting to explode onto any scene. And take over, in a good way. Spontaneous party under way! Jen stuck around to play with us, also a rare treat! It was the perfect mix of people. Kitty, of course, the LA boys, German girl and her awesome crew (complete with her adorable husband and a gorgeous little raver boy). I got to party with the better half of a good friend, and I�m so happy I ran into her and brought her over, because she was an awesome addition. Okay, events of the evening. Raver boy brought in a light show, that was pretty cool, he would create patterns on the walls and ceiling, staying to the beat and flow of the music. Amazing to watch, and it helps when you�re slightly inebriated, trust me on that one.

The boys from LA were HYSTERICAL. I haven�t laughed that hard, for that long, in like, well, almost 2 weeks. There was a moment the following morning (yes, we little freaks were still awake and laughing) when I lost the ability to speak. Yes, I know, it was horrible. But kind of funny and relaxing, in a way. I was just unable to talk. As people caught on to my plight, they stopped expecting me to say anything. It would have made for a very interesting experiment, that is, if I was faking the not-being-able-to-talk part. I was stuck on stupid, and the crew was starting to get worried that I was fading out, because the party�s not as much fun when one of us drifts away. The bulk of the group left to run some errands, go to the store, etc, and by the time they returned, I was up and about, talking nonstop (as usual) and making faces and cracking jokes.

Pixie stopped by in the afternoon, a lovely surprise, and then she tried to do the wonderful friend thing she does, and tried to take the party back to her place so that I could get some sleep. She didn't want me put out, and I didn�t want to be responsible for putting her out, so we went back and forth tossing ideas to the crowd to gauge their final destinations. Being the awesome people that they are (but I believe that has already been established), they were all pretty flexible, but eventually decided that they would head back to the adorable couple�s place to continue hanging out, then come back later for the rest of their belongings. It was perfect. I took a long, wet shower (I would have said hot or cold, but in reality, it was lukewarm, so why not just state the obvious and call it wet?), and crawled into bed, clean and happy and utterly wasted. A few hours later, when the boys came to get their things and drive back up to LA, Africa Dick came to lay on me and say goodbye, and thank me for an awesome time.

It really was just an all-around fun, stupid, silly, outrageous, hilarious, loving, appreciating, helluva good fucking time.

So yeah, I�m a little tired. But I�ll get over it quickly. A handful of my friends have headed out to Burning Man, and I�ve got some people arriving home or coming into town this week. It�s going to be one of those mellow, yet interactive weeks. I can dig it.