Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-08-31

Me, the World, and Weekends!

Such a fucking rock star, I was asleep by 9pm last night. Hmm, must have needed that, my body�s pretty communicative with my brain for the most part. And if my brain doesn�t listen, well, my body just shuts off, says, �take that, smartass� I mean brain.� So I�m feeling quite refreshed, and just in time for a 3 DAY WEEKEND! Oh, yeah. I�ve got plans alright, bigguns. But first, as the caffeine surging through my system dictates, I�m gonna bounce around a bit in the subject department.

CNN.com, anyone read it? I do, everyday, see what�s going on in the world, in my backyard. And I always have the same expression on my face as I read: mouth-open like a drooling idiot, squinted eyebrows, raised in a mixture of question, confusion and disbelief. How can this shit actually be happening? What the fuck is wrong with Florida? Can�t that state get ANYTHING right? Yesterday, a U.S. judge upheld the ban for gays to adopt. Meaning, homosexual parents cannot adopt the children they�ve raised since infancy. What, do I live in a little modern bubble that I can�t accept all the backwards rulings and beliefs just out of my reach? Women kills her 5 kids, a man kills half his family, another one today, killed the family next door. I really do need to like, not read it for a few days. I�m sick of coworkers walking by my office and saying, �ooh, Barb, don�t make THAT face.� I call it my face of Awareness, and I�m telling you now, I know it�s as ugly as the things I'm becoming aware of.

I had a lovely dinner with my good friend, Zim, at a local restaurant we love to frequent, Brian�s. Mm, mm good, like the Campbell�s soup kid I remind people of. That little bitch. Got home, and dramatically collapsed on the couch, a show for my sister, she needed to see just how tired and exhausted I really was. And I passed out right there. I wake up to a loud, boisterous friend, standing over me, saying he won�t leave until I dance for him. Huh? He was holding tools in his hand, and my mind raced to fill in the blanks, as I was still in a half-wake, half-dream state. Turned out Jen had invited our good friend here to come over and fix the flusher on our toilet. She broke it over a week ago, and not wanting to deal with anything slightly mechanic or bathroom related, I tried to ignore the fact that it was broken until someone else was willing to fix it (I can�t believe I just admitted that, but on some level, come on, what else did you expect? That I�d go to Home Depot and BUY a new flusher and then use TOOLS to INSTALL a new one through all that icky toilet water? Uh uh).

He just happens to be a plumber, so it was a quick, painless operation, and I slept through the whole thing. Whew! The party I had last weekend, we just left the top off the back of the toilet, and everyone who peed had to manually pull the little chord and make sure it flushed properly. What troopers. I love my friends, they put up with so much! This weekend, this weekend. Cousin from Jersey, Dad back from Korea, my summer girls, and a whole lotta boys down from LA. Bring it on.

Three day weekend, no less. I am going to escape into the world of frolic and forget about everything else for awhile. It�s called escapist tactics, by the way. A chunk of my friends (yeah, I know, �chunk� IS an odd word to use their, but it was in me and had to come out) are at Burning Man, and they�ll be partying through the weekend in that other dimension. Even with all that I�ve got going on in my world, there are a few of those burners that I actually miss, a lot. I can�t wait for their return, and the stories they�ll have, like the children coming back from Narnia through the wardrobe with stories of witches and talking lions. So much! Three days of fun, next weekend is Street Scene (where they close of the Gaslamp quarter of downtown San Diego and the lineup this year includes 311, Cake, and many, many others that I�ll mention later), and the weekend after that is my birthday, complete with a party in honor of my existence held in LA.

I imagine that the week AFTER my birthday party, I will most likely weave a cocoon around myself and hibernate for a few days. God knows I�ll need it.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Me, the World, and Weekends! 2001-08-31 8:52 a.m. Such a fucking rock star, I was asleep by 9pm last night. Hmm, must have needed that, my body�s pretty communicative with my brain for the most part. And if my brain doesn�t listen, well, my body just shuts off, says, �take that, smartass� I mean brain.� So I�m feeling quite refreshed, and just in time for a 3 DAY WEEKEND! Oh, yeah. I�ve got plans alright, bigguns. But first, as the caffeine surging through my system dictates, I�m gonna bounce around a bit in the subject department.

CNN.com, anyone read it? I do, everyday, see what�s going on in the world, in my backyard. And I always have the same expression on my face as I read: mouth-open like a drooling idiot, squinted eyebrows, raised in a mixture of question, confusion and disbelief. How can this shit actually be happening? What the fuck is wrong with Florida? Can�t that state get ANYTHING right? Yesterday, a U.S. judge upheld the ban for gays to adopt. Meaning, homosexual parents cannot adopt the children they�ve raised since infancy. What, do I live in a little modern bubble that I can�t accept all the backwards rulings and beliefs just out of my reach? Women kills her 5 kids, a man kills half his family, another one today, killed the family next door. I really do need to like, not read it for a few days. I�m sick of coworkers walking by my office and saying, �ooh, Barb, don�t make THAT face.� I call it my face of Awareness, and I�m telling you now, I know it�s as ugly as the things I'm becoming aware of.

I had a lovely dinner with my good friend, Zim, at a local restaurant we love to frequent, Brian�s. Mm, mm good, like the Campbell�s soup kid I remind people of. That little bitch. Got home, and dramatically collapsed on the couch, a show for my sister, she needed to see just how tired and exhausted I really was. And I passed out right there. I wake up to a loud, boisterous friend, standing over me, saying he won�t leave until I dance for him. Huh? He was holding tools in his hand, and my mind raced to fill in the blanks, as I was still in a half-wake, half-dream state. Turned out Jen had invited our good friend here to come over and fix the flusher on our toilet. She broke it over a week ago, and not wanting to deal with anything slightly mechanic or bathroom related, I tried to ignore the fact that it was broken until someone else was willing to fix it (I can�t believe I just admitted that, but on some level, come on, what else did you expect? That I�d go to Home Depot and BUY a new flusher and then use TOOLS to INSTALL a new one through all that icky toilet water? Uh uh).

He just happens to be a plumber, so it was a quick, painless operation, and I slept through the whole thing. Whew! The party I had last weekend, we just left the top off the back of the toilet, and everyone who peed had to manually pull the little chord and make sure it flushed properly. What troopers. I love my friends, they put up with so much! This weekend, this weekend. Cousin from Jersey, Dad back from Korea, my summer girls, and a whole lotta boys down from LA. Bring it on.

Three day weekend, no less. I am going to escape into the world of frolic and forget about everything else for awhile. It�s called escapist tactics, by the way. A chunk of my friends (yeah, I know, �chunk� IS an odd word to use their, but it was in me and had to come out) are at Burning Man, and they�ll be partying through the weekend in that other dimension. Even with all that I�ve got going on in my world, there are a few of those burners that I actually miss, a lot. I can�t wait for their return, and the stories they�ll have, like the children coming back from Narnia through the wardrobe with stories of witches and talking lions. So much! Three days of fun, next weekend is Street Scene (where they close of the Gaslamp quarter of downtown San Diego and the lineup this year includes 311, Cake, and many, many others that I�ll mention later), and the weekend after that is my birthday, complete with a party in honor of my existence held in LA.

I imagine that the week AFTER my birthday party, I will most likely weave a cocoon around myself and hibernate for a few days. God knows I�ll need it.