Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-09-18

Celebrating Life (and my birthday)

Alright, trying to get back into the swing of things. Gonna be a busy week, I can tell you that much. Well, at least I hope it is, that I can prove myself productive at the office and overcome about a week of not being here. We�ll see. I�ll pull through, I know I will, I always do, so I�ve gotta stop stressing myself the fuck out. The weekend. My party. Oh, the weekend and my party. A success, as I had envisioned. Friday night, I went shopping for the perfect outfit, and lo and behold, I found it. At the register, the sales rep gave me a birthday card instead of a total. The card was from Cyrano, who had already taken care of the bill. How awesome is he?

Back to my place, glowing with excitement as the weekend slowly approached, it was almost 7pm. Time to go to the corner and light a candle, to bond with strangers, fellow Americans, and pay tribute to all who have been lost in this tragedy. Jen couldn�t stand out there for long, as soon as her candle blew out in the wind, she went inside to cry in private. It felt good, being out there. Emotional, but good. Some friends stopped by afterwards, and it was lovely to see them, to chat, get hugs, etc. At one point in the evening, though, when conversation turned more superficial than I could handle on any normal day, let alone a day where my mind was overcome with worry and thoughts of life and death, I had to say my goodbyes to my well-intentioned visitors. Then, in understanding, Pixie hung with me as I talked and lamented. Then, Master Love came over and we shared hearty, meaty conversation, about people and friends, the kind of stuff I like to talk about, the kind of stuff that actually matters to me in my life.

But let�s get to the good stuff! Got up to LA, to the boys� place, and how adorable they were, finishing up the last of the cleaning, mopping, vacuuming, scrubbing. Like house boys, I could have just pinched them all. Hmm, come to think of it, before the weekend was over, I pretty much DID pinch them all. Good for me.

I transformed myself in Actor�s room, long, false lashes, makeup applied with precision, shiny red lips and glittery silver jewelry. I believe I pulled of the look I was going for. I donned my red, satiny corset (quite the frame to present my breasts) and long, ball-gown-like black skirt, and I was ready to party. The outfit was a hit. I stopped counting how many kisses my dirty pillows received, how many noses dove into my cleavage, how many nods of approval and wonderful compliments seemed to surround me throughout the evening. I was feeling fabulous, the perfect mood for the bell of the ball to be in, and I was loving every minute of it. Friends drove up from San Diego, what a joy it was to have them there, for them to meet my boys in LA, everyone together and having a blast.

Into Sunday morning, the crowd was more intimate, and the house echoed with laughter (some of which we have on tape, thanks to hot-pants). The party carried on this way, from Saturday night through Sunday afternoon, and I only disappeared from the crowd a few times to tease myself with a tasty snack. On Sunday, I slept. Most of the crowd cleared out, some driving back to San Diego, some going to their homes in LA. I rested, and awoke on Sunday evening to find that it was dark yet again, and that a handful of my friends were still around. So, we awoke, gathered, ate some food, partied, and went right back to bed late Sunday evening, almost into Monday.

Monday, I awoke at around 11am. My actual birthday. We gathered our things fairly quickly, and Pony drove us back, me in the front, and some boys in the back with her beautiful pup, Sabby. Sometime during the ride, Bobo pointed out that the tragedy, the attacks, the horror, what was happening in the world, hadn�t crossed his mind in 36 hours. We had succeeded in our attempt to celebrate life and for just a moment, escape death and destruction. It worked for me. When I arrived home, Jen and I went to Jane�s for dinner and a movie. We talked about Jeffrey, looked at pictures, and for the first time, I didn�t break down. Jane was awesome, made dinner for us, and for desert, a Carvel ice cream saucer, just like we used to have on the east coast. With candles in it. My two sisters sang to me, and I blew out the little flames with a smile on my face.

Life is good.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Celebrating Life (and my birthday) 2001-09-18 10:04 a.m. Alright, trying to get back into the swing of things. Gonna be a busy week, I can tell you that much. Well, at least I hope it is, that I can prove myself productive at the office and overcome about a week of not being here. We�ll see. I�ll pull through, I know I will, I always do, so I�ve gotta stop stressing myself the fuck out. The weekend. My party. Oh, the weekend and my party. A success, as I had envisioned. Friday night, I went shopping for the perfect outfit, and lo and behold, I found it. At the register, the sales rep gave me a birthday card instead of a total. The card was from Cyrano, who had already taken care of the bill. How awesome is he?

Back to my place, glowing with excitement as the weekend slowly approached, it was almost 7pm. Time to go to the corner and light a candle, to bond with strangers, fellow Americans, and pay tribute to all who have been lost in this tragedy. Jen couldn�t stand out there for long, as soon as her candle blew out in the wind, she went inside to cry in private. It felt good, being out there. Emotional, but good. Some friends stopped by afterwards, and it was lovely to see them, to chat, get hugs, etc. At one point in the evening, though, when conversation turned more superficial than I could handle on any normal day, let alone a day where my mind was overcome with worry and thoughts of life and death, I had to say my goodbyes to my well-intentioned visitors. Then, in understanding, Pixie hung with me as I talked and lamented. Then, Master Love came over and we shared hearty, meaty conversation, about people and friends, the kind of stuff I like to talk about, the kind of stuff that actually matters to me in my life.

But let�s get to the good stuff! Got up to LA, to the boys� place, and how adorable they were, finishing up the last of the cleaning, mopping, vacuuming, scrubbing. Like house boys, I could have just pinched them all. Hmm, come to think of it, before the weekend was over, I pretty much DID pinch them all. Good for me.

I transformed myself in Actor�s room, long, false lashes, makeup applied with precision, shiny red lips and glittery silver jewelry. I believe I pulled of the look I was going for. I donned my red, satiny corset (quite the frame to present my breasts) and long, ball-gown-like black skirt, and I was ready to party. The outfit was a hit. I stopped counting how many kisses my dirty pillows received, how many noses dove into my cleavage, how many nods of approval and wonderful compliments seemed to surround me throughout the evening. I was feeling fabulous, the perfect mood for the bell of the ball to be in, and I was loving every minute of it. Friends drove up from San Diego, what a joy it was to have them there, for them to meet my boys in LA, everyone together and having a blast.

Into Sunday morning, the crowd was more intimate, and the house echoed with laughter (some of which we have on tape, thanks to hot-pants). The party carried on this way, from Saturday night through Sunday afternoon, and I only disappeared from the crowd a few times to tease myself with a tasty snack. On Sunday, I slept. Most of the crowd cleared out, some driving back to San Diego, some going to their homes in LA. I rested, and awoke on Sunday evening to find that it was dark yet again, and that a handful of my friends were still around. So, we awoke, gathered, ate some food, partied, and went right back to bed late Sunday evening, almost into Monday.

Monday, I awoke at around 11am. My actual birthday. We gathered our things fairly quickly, and Pony drove us back, me in the front, and some boys in the back with her beautiful pup, Sabby. Sometime during the ride, Bobo pointed out that the tragedy, the attacks, the horror, what was happening in the world, hadn�t crossed his mind in 36 hours. We had succeeded in our attempt to celebrate life and for just a moment, escape death and destruction. It worked for me. When I arrived home, Jen and I went to Jane�s for dinner and a movie. We talked about Jeffrey, looked at pictures, and for the first time, I didn�t break down. Jane was awesome, made dinner for us, and for desert, a Carvel ice cream saucer, just like we used to have on the east coast. With candles in it. My two sisters sang to me, and I blew out the little flames with a smile on my face.

Life is good.