Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-09-24

Women in the World

With my weekend update out of the way, there�s something else I�ve been needing to say. Yesterday, I watched a CNN report, a woman reporter undercover in Afghanistan. I was horrified. They showed women lined up and shot in the back of the head, execution-style. As if that wasn�t horrifying enough, the reporter then explained WHY these women were killed. Breaking the law, teaching each other to read when education is not to be available for women.

I�m sorry. Religion aside, culture aside, beliefs aside, there IS a universal morality, whether you believe it or not. And that universal LAW states that this is wrong in every way. I�m not necessarily ethnocentric and definitely not religiously haughty, but I KNOW this is wrong. These men who enforce these laws, these animals who use God as an excuse for murder, should be exterminated like roaches. Women can be executed for being raped in some of these countries. I can�t even get into how disgusted I am by the things that I saw, the reports that I�ve read, first-person interviews with women who have experienced the oppression, the enslavement.

There is no excuse for that treatment. And these beliefs and "values" run so deep that some would rather die than learn new ideas and consider other versions of morality. There is no religion that should accept it, let alone preach it. It would please me greatly to watch each and every man who is in a position of power in any city, village, or country with these �laws�, lined up on the football field they use for public enforcement, and shot one by one.

And yes, I would be willing to pull the trigger. The teachers of evil must be eliminated. In a country where women have to gather in hiding to apply makeup, paint their nails and steal (illegally) for a moment that feeling of self-gratifying behavior, feeling pretty, feeling good to be themselves, women learning and living despite the hatred, loathing, abuse and torture, there obviously needs to be reform. What kills me, is that these men, these pigs� they all have mothers. Some have daughters. And it doesn�t matter.

I have a very good friend who is an Afghani woman, she grew up here in the states. The thought of her and her sisters having to suffer through this, the thought that instead of being the bright, beautiful women they all are now, they would be covered from head to toe, cowering in the streets, is incomprehensible to me. The mindset of the man who believes this treatment of women was God�s intention disgusts me. I have a family member by marriage who has a similar mindset, and I�m literally nauseous every time I�m around him.

So, just a little thought from a simple woman who is far from simple. I love men, I love diversity. These are not men. That�s all I have to say about it for now.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Women in the World 2001-09-24 11:50 a.m. With my weekend update out of the way, there�s something else I�ve been needing to say. Yesterday, I watched a CNN report, a woman reporter undercover in Afghanistan. I was horrified. They showed women lined up and shot in the back of the head, execution-style. As if that wasn�t horrifying enough, the reporter then explained WHY these women were killed. Breaking the law, teaching each other to read when education is not to be available for women.

I�m sorry. Religion aside, culture aside, beliefs aside, there IS a universal morality, whether you believe it or not. And that universal LAW states that this is wrong in every way. I�m not necessarily ethnocentric and definitely not religiously haughty, but I KNOW this is wrong. These men who enforce these laws, these animals who use God as an excuse for murder, should be exterminated like roaches. Women can be executed for being raped in some of these countries. I can�t even get into how disgusted I am by the things that I saw, the reports that I�ve read, first-person interviews with women who have experienced the oppression, the enslavement.

There is no excuse for that treatment. And these beliefs and "values" run so deep that some would rather die than learn new ideas and consider other versions of morality. There is no religion that should accept it, let alone preach it. It would please me greatly to watch each and every man who is in a position of power in any city, village, or country with these �laws�, lined up on the football field they use for public enforcement, and shot one by one.

And yes, I would be willing to pull the trigger. The teachers of evil must be eliminated. In a country where women have to gather in hiding to apply makeup, paint their nails and steal (illegally) for a moment that feeling of self-gratifying behavior, feeling pretty, feeling good to be themselves, women learning and living despite the hatred, loathing, abuse and torture, there obviously needs to be reform. What kills me, is that these men, these pigs� they all have mothers. Some have daughters. And it doesn�t matter.

I have a very good friend who is an Afghani woman, she grew up here in the states. The thought of her and her sisters having to suffer through this, the thought that instead of being the bright, beautiful women they all are now, they would be covered from head to toe, cowering in the streets, is incomprehensible to me. The mindset of the man who believes this treatment of women was God�s intention disgusts me. I have a family member by marriage who has a similar mindset, and I�m literally nauseous every time I�m around him.

So, just a little thought from a simple woman who is far from simple. I love men, I love diversity. These are not men. That�s all I have to say about it for now.