Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-11-02

Ice Capades and Rambling Rose

Yesterday, my sister Heather was heading out of the high school where she teaches English, and another staff member said, �Heather, I�m going to see Maya Angelou speak this evening up in La Jolla. Any interest in joining me?� To which my pregnant sister replied, �No, Melissa, can�t make it tonight. I�m going to see Beauty and the Beast on Ice!� hee hee. If you don�t see the humor in that, you�re a lost cause. Heather�s already in baby-mode, and fuck, we�ve always loved Disney movies.

That�s right, Dad took his four daughters to dinner and the Ice Capades. As always, dinner was full of laughs, shared stories, and I think Jane almost cried a few times. Jane and I are the ones to cry at commercials, so when Dad relayed his most recent trip back to New York, when he described Aunt Carol bent over in grief when she was finally close to the body of her son, well, this sore is still tender. And when it�s poked at, we still cry, okay? But back to the laughs! My sisters are fucking hysterical, but we know this. They even had Jenny, sourpuss, laughing before our drinks were served.

We killed a piece of cheesecake and headed across the street to the show. I love figure skating, it�s actually the only sport I watch during the Olympics (and sometimes gymnastics). I just think it�s amazing how some people can transform their bodies into kinetic art, flying, twirling, so graceful, so seemingly effortless. But, with these ridiculous costumes (some of which you could hardly see that there was a person in there), I can�t imagine how these actors maneuvered! The art, the lights, the decoration, the choreography. I was duly impressed, and told Heather that I want to be first on the list when she takes her son to any kind of �children�s� performance. The kids were ecstatic, laughing at Mickey, booing at Gaston, the little girls cheering for Belle. It made us enjoy the show on so many levels.

About 15 minutes into the show, I leaned over to Jen and said, �Alright, next time, we do this on some kind of hallucinogen.� She said, �yeah, at least now we know!� The costumes were so original and creative. The people who played the trees, the wolves, there was even a horse out there, must have been two people in that costume. I�m just so amazed and impressed with the talent�s vision and creativity. We were so stunned with the sounds and the sights, the lights and the jumps, that the four of us actually forgot to clap a few times. Very cool.

After the show, I helped my dad move a dresser from his van to his apartment, yeah, I know, I�m like all buff and shit. Hee hee. I just dropped him off at the airport. Fuck, it�s Friday already? Comedian comes into town tonight, that should be fun, nice to hang and catch up, it really has been awhile. And Pony is back in town (been another while, eh?) I�m telling you now, folks. There�s going to be another earthquake. My cats are bouncing off the walls. Either that, or� no, it can only be that. Sorry for the randomness! I�ll be SO much more focused next time I update. I�m off to have lunch with Halcyon. Ooh la la! So much to look forward to on a Friday! And it�s only 10am!!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Ice Capades and Rambling Rose 2001-11-02 10:17 a.m. Yesterday, my sister Heather was heading out of the high school where she teaches English, and another staff member said, �Heather, I�m going to see Maya Angelou speak this evening up in La Jolla. Any interest in joining me?� To which my pregnant sister replied, �No, Melissa, can�t make it tonight. I�m going to see Beauty and the Beast on Ice!� hee hee. If you don�t see the humor in that, you�re a lost cause. Heather�s already in baby-mode, and fuck, we�ve always loved Disney movies.

That�s right, Dad took his four daughters to dinner and the Ice Capades. As always, dinner was full of laughs, shared stories, and I think Jane almost cried a few times. Jane and I are the ones to cry at commercials, so when Dad relayed his most recent trip back to New York, when he described Aunt Carol bent over in grief when she was finally close to the body of her son, well, this sore is still tender. And when it�s poked at, we still cry, okay? But back to the laughs! My sisters are fucking hysterical, but we know this. They even had Jenny, sourpuss, laughing before our drinks were served.

We killed a piece of cheesecake and headed across the street to the show. I love figure skating, it�s actually the only sport I watch during the Olympics (and sometimes gymnastics). I just think it�s amazing how some people can transform their bodies into kinetic art, flying, twirling, so graceful, so seemingly effortless. But, with these ridiculous costumes (some of which you could hardly see that there was a person in there), I can�t imagine how these actors maneuvered! The art, the lights, the decoration, the choreography. I was duly impressed, and told Heather that I want to be first on the list when she takes her son to any kind of �children�s� performance. The kids were ecstatic, laughing at Mickey, booing at Gaston, the little girls cheering for Belle. It made us enjoy the show on so many levels.

About 15 minutes into the show, I leaned over to Jen and said, �Alright, next time, we do this on some kind of hallucinogen.� She said, �yeah, at least now we know!� The costumes were so original and creative. The people who played the trees, the wolves, there was even a horse out there, must have been two people in that costume. I�m just so amazed and impressed with the talent�s vision and creativity. We were so stunned with the sounds and the sights, the lights and the jumps, that the four of us actually forgot to clap a few times. Very cool.

After the show, I helped my dad move a dresser from his van to his apartment, yeah, I know, I�m like all buff and shit. Hee hee. I just dropped him off at the airport. Fuck, it�s Friday already? Comedian comes into town tonight, that should be fun, nice to hang and catch up, it really has been awhile. And Pony is back in town (been another while, eh?) I�m telling you now, folks. There�s going to be another earthquake. My cats are bouncing off the walls. Either that, or� no, it can only be that. Sorry for the randomness! I�ll be SO much more focused next time I update. I�m off to have lunch with Halcyon. Ooh la la! So much to look forward to on a Friday! And it�s only 10am!!