Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-11-14

Vans and Al-kee-hall

�I have something special that I want to share with someone, are you available?� �Oh yeah? And what might that be?� �This may be a once in a lifetime thing, Barbara, maybe twice, but for me so far, once.� �Really, Dad? And I�m special enough to share it with you? WHAT? What is is?�

�My Vanagon�s mileage is at one hundred ninety nine thousand, nine hundred ninety eight. I�m gonna watch it flip to 200,000.� �Is there dinner involved?� �You betcha.� �I�ll be waiting outside.�

I had a wonderful dinner with my father last night, and he lives so close to me and our hoppin� neighborhood, that we didn�t witness the �flip� until after dinner, heading home. It WAS pretty cool. He stopped the car on the street when it turned, �I just don�t want to drive anymore right now, I should have brought a camera.� I started to laugh. He asked, defensively, what was so funny, was I laughing at him, �you better have just gotten a joke that someone told you earlier,� things like that. I said, �With so many exciting things going on in the world, in YOUR life in particular, it just makes me giddy that little, simple things can still get you so enthusiastic and excited.� �This is NOT little,� he said, feigning an indignant attitude, but the glint in his eyes and the tilt of his mouth gave him away. The man has too much of a sense of humor not to laugh at everything, at least a little. And I mean everything.

I had a pretty busy day over all� okay, I got out of the house to run an errand in the afternoon, but c�mon, I was like, all OVER this city on that errand. Hee hee. Fizgig and I went to pick up some cases of a drink called, Sparks. Oh, you�ll be drinking it. Of course, we just HAD to try it out before distribution, and were too intrigued after reading the tall, orange and silver can to turn down the opportunity. Malt liquor, you say? Hmm. Same ingredients as Vodka & Red Bull, you say? Hmm HMM. It tasted like CANDY. Keep me away from that shit, I can sense the hangovers now. Barb Blacks Out on New Malt Liquor Disguised as Girly Drink. But mmm, it�s like sweet orange carbonated yumminess. And tonight, I shall have another. Look for it on the shelves soon, people, this might not be reaching every state. Some of this company's OTHER drinks are already banned in several. That�s what makes it so exciting!

A quote for you to ponder, before I leave you for the day to rinse and gargle AGAIN with Listerine (you don�t understand the strength of this garlic dinner I had). So, �chew on this� as that annoying woman says in that stupid Trident commercial:

�Language is not neutral. It is not merely a vehicle which carries ideas. It is itself a shaper of ideas.� -- Dale Spender, writer (1943 � hmm)

I love me my English language.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Vans and Al-kee-hall 2001-11-14 11:26 a.m. �I have something special that I want to share with someone, are you available?� �Oh yeah? And what might that be?� �This may be a once in a lifetime thing, Barbara, maybe twice, but for me so far, once.� �Really, Dad? And I�m special enough to share it with you? WHAT? What is is?�

�My Vanagon�s mileage is at one hundred ninety nine thousand, nine hundred ninety eight. I�m gonna watch it flip to 200,000.� �Is there dinner involved?� �You betcha.� �I�ll be waiting outside.�

I had a wonderful dinner with my father last night, and he lives so close to me and our hoppin� neighborhood, that we didn�t witness the �flip� until after dinner, heading home. It WAS pretty cool. He stopped the car on the street when it turned, �I just don�t want to drive anymore right now, I should have brought a camera.� I started to laugh. He asked, defensively, what was so funny, was I laughing at him, �you better have just gotten a joke that someone told you earlier,� things like that. I said, �With so many exciting things going on in the world, in YOUR life in particular, it just makes me giddy that little, simple things can still get you so enthusiastic and excited.� �This is NOT little,� he said, feigning an indignant attitude, but the glint in his eyes and the tilt of his mouth gave him away. The man has too much of a sense of humor not to laugh at everything, at least a little. And I mean everything.

I had a pretty busy day over all� okay, I got out of the house to run an errand in the afternoon, but c�mon, I was like, all OVER this city on that errand. Hee hee. Fizgig and I went to pick up some cases of a drink called, Sparks. Oh, you�ll be drinking it. Of course, we just HAD to try it out before distribution, and were too intrigued after reading the tall, orange and silver can to turn down the opportunity. Malt liquor, you say? Hmm. Same ingredients as Vodka & Red Bull, you say? Hmm HMM. It tasted like CANDY. Keep me away from that shit, I can sense the hangovers now. Barb Blacks Out on New Malt Liquor Disguised as Girly Drink. But mmm, it�s like sweet orange carbonated yumminess. And tonight, I shall have another. Look for it on the shelves soon, people, this might not be reaching every state. Some of this company's OTHER drinks are already banned in several. That�s what makes it so exciting!

A quote for you to ponder, before I leave you for the day to rinse and gargle AGAIN with Listerine (you don�t understand the strength of this garlic dinner I had). So, �chew on this� as that annoying woman says in that stupid Trident commercial:

�Language is not neutral. It is not merely a vehicle which carries ideas. It is itself a shaper of ideas.� -- Dale Spender, writer (1943 � hmm)

I love me my English language.