Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-11-19

Stars, Cars, and Barbs (minus the 's')

Borrego was awesome. We had a 4-car caravan going out to the desert, destination-clear-sky, and the ride was smooth, uneventful, which is a good thing when you�re caravanning, in case no one�s told you. Arriving and finding a campsite as the sun was setting, just enough time to eat some rolled tacos with the other drivers while the rest of the crew set up the tents.

Thanks to Zim, our party grew by 3 cars before the peak of the meteor storm. He waited out by the road, looking for friendly faces and recognizing a few friends. He was like a greeter at Burning Man, standing at the entrance with a smile and a drink. Speaking of drinks, the Sparks were flying! Everyone was all sparked up on that sweet orange drink, running up hills and hiking in the dark. Fun, fun, fun. I think Fizgig and I guzzled the most (I had 4, and these cans are HUGE!) The morning after, one of us overheard a man from another campsite say, "Hey, did anyone else here get to try that Red Bull and Crack last night?" Classic.

Some neighboring campers came by, turns out these adorable little boys live all around San Diego, in the same neighborhoods as most of my campmates, including myself. Small world, I guess, or maybe San Diegans have nowhere better to go than the local desert to see the stars clearly. Either way, they were a fun little addition as well, the more the merrier, as Kitty would say. I don't know why, but I suddenly wanted to type, "the more the meteor," as well.

We saw a LOT of stars. Not as many as some complaining boys were hoping for, but I was plenty satisfied with the show. Laying on my back, wrapped up in blankets and friends, staring at the sky. What a nice, relaxing way to celebrate yet another wonder of nature. The Sparks kept me from sleeping soundly, which was fine enough for me, for I was able to savor the warmth of 2 bodies wrapped in sleeping bags with me. Kitty perfected the �cuddle-pretzel� maneuver, and she passed out as soon as her head hit my breast. I�m telling you, folks, they may be dirty, but they�re STILL pillows.

The ride back was nice too, beautiful scenery, reminded me of the drive to Copake just over a month ago. My father just called, says he thinks he figured out a way to fit my furniture into his place. He�ll just �stack his furniture into one room, consolidate it.� SURE, I know where this is going. He wants my furniture! It IS gorgeous, and the man has taste. It may just work for the time being, though. It just may.

More on my life as I get it situated coming up. For now, a cup of tea and the morning paper. Perhaps my dream job is posted in the classifieds THIS morning! You never know, so why assume the worst? Exactly.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Stars, Cars, and Barbs (minus the 's') 2001-11-19 8:38 a.m. Borrego was awesome. We had a 4-car caravan going out to the desert, destination-clear-sky, and the ride was smooth, uneventful, which is a good thing when you�re caravanning, in case no one�s told you. Arriving and finding a campsite as the sun was setting, just enough time to eat some rolled tacos with the other drivers while the rest of the crew set up the tents.

Thanks to Zim, our party grew by 3 cars before the peak of the meteor storm. He waited out by the road, looking for friendly faces and recognizing a few friends. He was like a greeter at Burning Man, standing at the entrance with a smile and a drink. Speaking of drinks, the Sparks were flying! Everyone was all sparked up on that sweet orange drink, running up hills and hiking in the dark. Fun, fun, fun. I think Fizgig and I guzzled the most (I had 4, and these cans are HUGE!) The morning after, one of us overheard a man from another campsite say, "Hey, did anyone else here get to try that Red Bull and Crack last night?" Classic.

Some neighboring campers came by, turns out these adorable little boys live all around San Diego, in the same neighborhoods as most of my campmates, including myself. Small world, I guess, or maybe San Diegans have nowhere better to go than the local desert to see the stars clearly. Either way, they were a fun little addition as well, the more the merrier, as Kitty would say. I don't know why, but I suddenly wanted to type, "the more the meteor," as well.

We saw a LOT of stars. Not as many as some complaining boys were hoping for, but I was plenty satisfied with the show. Laying on my back, wrapped up in blankets and friends, staring at the sky. What a nice, relaxing way to celebrate yet another wonder of nature. The Sparks kept me from sleeping soundly, which was fine enough for me, for I was able to savor the warmth of 2 bodies wrapped in sleeping bags with me. Kitty perfected the �cuddle-pretzel� maneuver, and she passed out as soon as her head hit my breast. I�m telling you, folks, they may be dirty, but they�re STILL pillows.

The ride back was nice too, beautiful scenery, reminded me of the drive to Copake just over a month ago. My father just called, says he thinks he figured out a way to fit my furniture into his place. He�ll just �stack his furniture into one room, consolidate it.� SURE, I know where this is going. He wants my furniture! It IS gorgeous, and the man has taste. It may just work for the time being, though. It just may.

More on my life as I get it situated coming up. For now, a cup of tea and the morning paper. Perhaps my dream job is posted in the classifieds THIS morning! You never know, so why assume the worst? Exactly.