Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-12-01

LA Evening and other Rubbish

Holy Eggbeaters, Batman! Back from LA, and as always, the event, the trip, the concert, the club, the after-party� I am pleased. Let me break it down a bit for you. First, a great ride up, absolutely no traffic, and we ended up at UCLA with plenty of time to meet up with the rest of our party and shoot the shit in the parking lot before heading into Royce Hall Auditorium. I don�t know how to describe Diamanda Galas. Intense is a word that comes to mind. Spellbinding, emotional, humorous, powerful, just another few. You�re gonna have to look her up online to get a better idea of the kind of show, the kind of �shared experience�, if you will, that this woman has to offer; that she offered on Friday night. I think there were about 4 encores, that sounds about right. She�d sing, slowly slide off the piano bench and saunter off stage. Applause. She�d come back, do the same. Standing ovation. The last time, she sauntered off and the lights just came on. As one of us pointed out, �she�s over us.� It was awesome.

Then, to the club of course! Valerie and the Vibe Tribe put on an amazing show. The beautiful Vibers and their fire tricks and dances had me captivated. Intermittently interrupted with the distraction of some great music that had me out there dancing. They truly had �vibed� the place. Everywhere you looked, people were smiling and just feeling good. Then again, it WAS an 18 + club, I�m sure some happy pills could have increased the young crowd�s �vibe�, but I know my crowd was sober and we felt it just the same. Dancing, laughing, having a blast, and then the birthday boy, Africa, showed up with a small crew of friends. It was great to see a few of them that I haven�t seen in awhile, catch up a bit, you know the routine. We closed the place down, and a good lot of us (not me, of course) headed back to San Diego that very evening (or would that be morning? I believe the club closed after 3am).

So two of the Stanton Residents and I headed back to birthday boy�s place, the boys� house in LA, to unwind, hang out, crash out. Fun, fun, fun! We stayed up there, hanging out while the majority partied on throughout Friday, and drove back last night. Hmm. Very satisfying. I got my fill. It was nice to just sit and relax on a Friday night. Especially after such an event-packed, fun-filled, and active evening. Woo hoo! It was good for me.

Can you believe my mother is going to turn 50 in a matter of days? How the hell did that one creep up on us? The distraction of Heather and her upcoming baby. They video-taped him this morning, sonogram style. His cheeks are huge (as Heather�s were as a child) and his nose is prominent (just like his father), features are clear already. Long and lean, and everything�s in order and checked out health-wise. He�s even getting into position, head down, feet up. This kid knows what�s up. Heather was here earlier this morning, glowing from the whole experience, her first real look at her child. So I can see how we could all have overlooked the big 5-0. We�ll work it out, we always do.

I�m excited, heading over to Pony�s this afternoon, it�s been forever since I�ve seen that beautiful mare. I can�t wait to do some catching up as we watch her college alma mater play in the football finals (or whatever they call the college championships). I�m not big on football, but anything can be exciting and fun when people around you are as enthusiastic about something as she is about this. Alright, heading into my weekend, so I�ll catch you on the flip-side, yo. C�mon, I just had to. I�m having a gangsta-bitch moment.

I just have to say (the moment is over, if you haven�t caught on just yet) that I�m in a very good space right now. Feeling good. No particular reason, things are pretty much up in the air in every aspect of my life, but I think I just stopped looking down. I�m not afraid of falling anymore as much as I�m excited and thrilled by the ride. And though I may wonder, I�m not stressing and worrying about where exactly the wind will take me. I just know that wherever it is, I�m gonna get there, and I might as well enjoy the ride and pay attention, because there are bound to be landmarks. And landmarks, my friends, they are what we remember so that if needs be, we can give someone directions. Get it? Doesn�t matter. I do.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
LA Evening and other Rubbish 2001-12-01 12:09 p.m. Holy Eggbeaters, Batman! Back from LA, and as always, the event, the trip, the concert, the club, the after-party� I am pleased. Let me break it down a bit for you. First, a great ride up, absolutely no traffic, and we ended up at UCLA with plenty of time to meet up with the rest of our party and shoot the shit in the parking lot before heading into Royce Hall Auditorium. I don�t know how to describe Diamanda Galas. Intense is a word that comes to mind. Spellbinding, emotional, humorous, powerful, just another few. You�re gonna have to look her up online to get a better idea of the kind of show, the kind of �shared experience�, if you will, that this woman has to offer; that she offered on Friday night. I think there were about 4 encores, that sounds about right. She�d sing, slowly slide off the piano bench and saunter off stage. Applause. She�d come back, do the same. Standing ovation. The last time, she sauntered off and the lights just came on. As one of us pointed out, �she�s over us.� It was awesome.

Then, to the club of course! Valerie and the Vibe Tribe put on an amazing show. The beautiful Vibers and their fire tricks and dances had me captivated. Intermittently interrupted with the distraction of some great music that had me out there dancing. They truly had �vibed� the place. Everywhere you looked, people were smiling and just feeling good. Then again, it WAS an 18 + club, I�m sure some happy pills could have increased the young crowd�s �vibe�, but I know my crowd was sober and we felt it just the same. Dancing, laughing, having a blast, and then the birthday boy, Africa, showed up with a small crew of friends. It was great to see a few of them that I haven�t seen in awhile, catch up a bit, you know the routine. We closed the place down, and a good lot of us (not me, of course) headed back to San Diego that very evening (or would that be morning? I believe the club closed after 3am).

So two of the Stanton Residents and I headed back to birthday boy�s place, the boys� house in LA, to unwind, hang out, crash out. Fun, fun, fun! We stayed up there, hanging out while the majority partied on throughout Friday, and drove back last night. Hmm. Very satisfying. I got my fill. It was nice to just sit and relax on a Friday night. Especially after such an event-packed, fun-filled, and active evening. Woo hoo! It was good for me.

Can you believe my mother is going to turn 50 in a matter of days? How the hell did that one creep up on us? The distraction of Heather and her upcoming baby. They video-taped him this morning, sonogram style. His cheeks are huge (as Heather�s were as a child) and his nose is prominent (just like his father), features are clear already. Long and lean, and everything�s in order and checked out health-wise. He�s even getting into position, head down, feet up. This kid knows what�s up. Heather was here earlier this morning, glowing from the whole experience, her first real look at her child. So I can see how we could all have overlooked the big 5-0. We�ll work it out, we always do.

I�m excited, heading over to Pony�s this afternoon, it�s been forever since I�ve seen that beautiful mare. I can�t wait to do some catching up as we watch her college alma mater play in the football finals (or whatever they call the college championships). I�m not big on football, but anything can be exciting and fun when people around you are as enthusiastic about something as she is about this. Alright, heading into my weekend, so I�ll catch you on the flip-side, yo. C�mon, I just had to. I�m having a gangsta-bitch moment.

I just have to say (the moment is over, if you haven�t caught on just yet) that I�m in a very good space right now. Feeling good. No particular reason, things are pretty much up in the air in every aspect of my life, but I think I just stopped looking down. I�m not afraid of falling anymore as much as I�m excited and thrilled by the ride. And though I may wonder, I�m not stressing and worrying about where exactly the wind will take me. I just know that wherever it is, I�m gonna get there, and I might as well enjoy the ride and pay attention, because there are bound to be landmarks. And landmarks, my friends, they are what we remember so that if needs be, we can give someone directions. Get it? Doesn�t matter. I do.