Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-12-04

Success, Snowflakes, & Cell phones

�The common idea that success spoils people by making them vain, egotistic and self-complacent is erroneous; on the contrary it makes them, for the most part, humble, tolerant and kind.� -- William Somerset Maugham, writer (1874-1965)

That quote reminds me of a few friends. You know, it�s true for the most part, that is, if the successful person has any value of the heart. I�ve had friends in LA get some breaks and expected them to flitter off into the world with hardly a glance over their shoulders. But that hasn�t been the case. And the more attention is directed even at friends here in San Diego, the more they tend to question their worth and the meaning of their work. It�s an awesome thing, to realize that you have people of value in your life, and this, success, is but yet another test.

One more quote to get you thinking, �Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.� � Carl Sandburg (a favorite of mine) poet (1878-1967)

I think it�s amusing when people have the audacity to get angry with me for choosing what I like to do with my time. As if, when I choose something that doesn�t coincide with their life�s choices, it�s a personal affront. We are snowflakes, people. We may meet in many areas and agree on many things, we may enjoy the tune of a particular cold wind over another, the breezes of a forest or a meadow� but none of us is completely the same. This is hackneyed, you know this shit already. So in those moments when you wonder how a person could change their mind (capricious me) and try out a different way to get from the clouds to the ground, just know that it�s okay if you never come up with a plausible answer. Sometimes, it�s okay not to know. Because sometimes, you may never understand and sometimes, just sometimes, this snowflake is ready to stop explaining, and start floating away.

Alright, enough of the mumbo-jumbo analytical analogy crap. I think I�m going to get a new cell phone today, thanks to a gorgeous little imp whom I�ll be doing lunch with. And then, off to a movie premiere, because I�m just THAT fucking cool. But I would NEVER let it go to MY head. Heh heh. Just kidding. It already has, but somehow, I�m okay with that. See, I need a cell phone, because there�s no way in Hell that I can trust my calls through my father�s antiquated phone-system: no caller ID, no call waiting, rusty answering machine� if I remember correctly, I actually gasped audibly when he showed it to me. So, cell phone on the way, don�t you worry, my lovely communicatee�s, you�ll not only be able to still reach out and touch me (ooh! felt that) but now you can get a hold of me wherever I am.

Should last the few months until I get my very own place again (can�t fucking wait). I had a cell phone for 3 years, got it turned off a year ago, decided then that I couldn�t handle the electronic leash. But now, I find myself yearning for it through these times of change. So we�ll give it another shot, yes? Yes. Ahem, I mean, Fuck Yeah.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Success, Snowflakes, & Cell phones 2001-12-04 9:53 a.m. �The common idea that success spoils people by making them vain, egotistic and self-complacent is erroneous; on the contrary it makes them, for the most part, humble, tolerant and kind.� -- William Somerset Maugham, writer (1874-1965)

That quote reminds me of a few friends. You know, it�s true for the most part, that is, if the successful person has any value of the heart. I�ve had friends in LA get some breaks and expected them to flitter off into the world with hardly a glance over their shoulders. But that hasn�t been the case. And the more attention is directed even at friends here in San Diego, the more they tend to question their worth and the meaning of their work. It�s an awesome thing, to realize that you have people of value in your life, and this, success, is but yet another test.

One more quote to get you thinking, �Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.� � Carl Sandburg (a favorite of mine) poet (1878-1967)

I think it�s amusing when people have the audacity to get angry with me for choosing what I like to do with my time. As if, when I choose something that doesn�t coincide with their life�s choices, it�s a personal affront. We are snowflakes, people. We may meet in many areas and agree on many things, we may enjoy the tune of a particular cold wind over another, the breezes of a forest or a meadow� but none of us is completely the same. This is hackneyed, you know this shit already. So in those moments when you wonder how a person could change their mind (capricious me) and try out a different way to get from the clouds to the ground, just know that it�s okay if you never come up with a plausible answer. Sometimes, it�s okay not to know. Because sometimes, you may never understand and sometimes, just sometimes, this snowflake is ready to stop explaining, and start floating away.

Alright, enough of the mumbo-jumbo analytical analogy crap. I think I�m going to get a new cell phone today, thanks to a gorgeous little imp whom I�ll be doing lunch with. And then, off to a movie premiere, because I�m just THAT fucking cool. But I would NEVER let it go to MY head. Heh heh. Just kidding. It already has, but somehow, I�m okay with that. See, I need a cell phone, because there�s no way in Hell that I can trust my calls through my father�s antiquated phone-system: no caller ID, no call waiting, rusty answering machine� if I remember correctly, I actually gasped audibly when he showed it to me. So, cell phone on the way, don�t you worry, my lovely communicatee�s, you�ll not only be able to still reach out and touch me (ooh! felt that) but now you can get a hold of me wherever I am.

Should last the few months until I get my very own place again (can�t fucking wait). I had a cell phone for 3 years, got it turned off a year ago, decided then that I couldn�t handle the electronic leash. But now, I find myself yearning for it through these times of change. So we�ll give it another shot, yes? Yes. Ahem, I mean, Fuck Yeah.