Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-12-21

Worshipping Dad

I know, it's been FOREVER! I feel like there is so much contained within me, so much that hasn't been released because my computer is not set up. Thank God for all of my technically advanced friends, for I have easy access to computers at all times. I've just been busy moving and shit, couldn't make the time to get to one and update you!

I'm bordering on worshipping my father at this point. The man is just so good and generous and giving, and the process over the last few days, his support and encouragement (even when I was snapping at him in my stress and frustration, even when I wouldn't talk and wouldn't sleep there the first night because my bed wasn't set up) has amazed me as a demonstration of his patience. But today topped it all off, today he demostrated and revealed just how selfless and caring he truly is. Let me tell you about it:

I got home late last night, visiting Pixie and catching up. When I got "home", I held my breath, not wanting to wake my sleeping father, he had to get up in a matter of hours (for his daily 5am walk to the park and back). I crashed out and when I awoke, he was gone. But he had left a note. It was more a list of requests than a note. First, he asked that I eat the apple on the counter, because he'd be coming home with more fruit and didn't want it to go bad. Next, he mentioned that he used the change he had found in a box I meant to throw away to buy me a bagel for breakfast on his way home from his walk. But what really killed me were the last two requests.

Two dollars were sitting on the counter. In the note, he specified that he really needed me to put those two dollars in a box located inside a building on 3rd & Spruce. The last request was that I go to the Mission Hills Library and open an account so that I could renew a book for him that he wasn't able to renew again and wanted to finish. Okay, now let me explain all of that. My father's been trying to get me to go to this museum for the last few months. He told me that I'd love the art displayed there, that I should really see it. I hadn't made the time. The museum is located on 3rd & Spruce. By turning his recommendation into a request, he was assuring that I would go, for ME. Because he knew that *I* would really enjoy it. Which I did, immensely.

I went to the museum today, walked through and looked at some amazing art that I truly did appreciate seeing and learning about. On my way out, I dropped the two dollars in the donation box. Why hadn't I done that sooner? And the library, he loves this quaint little local library. He's been telling me of their collection and the lovely people there, the community feeling of it and how he reads much more when there's a time limit on the books he gets. So, today I got myself an account there. Something I never would have done of my own accord, and he knew this. I wasn't able to get that book he wanted, and I have a feeling he knew that as well.

After a lovely lunch with Halcyon, I did those things and I went home feeling fulfilled and happy, I had done something good with my day that I enjoyed immensely, and it all started with a red granny apple.

The cats have adjusted and with a little thinking, we'll get the furniture into its appropriate place. I already feel at home and I've only slept there for two nights. Before my father came home from work today, as I was waiting for a friend to come over and help with some maintenance, I sat at the dining room table, covered with Dad's papers and pictures. His Make-a-Wish Foundation badge, some pictures of children with cancer that he's helped. A picture of my cousin Jeffrey, his nephew, lost to us on September 11. A photo album we made for him, pictures of all four of his daughters as children, seen with him smiling at us and hugging us in various poses, with an enscription on the front: "Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a Daddy."

And I cried. Overwhelmed with gratefulness, appreciation, love, joy. And so much more. God, I'm lucky.

So, I'll get to a computer soon and tell you about all the other fun stuff going on. But this, well, I had to take a moment to point out to the world the fact that I do not take my father for granted. He never ceases to amaze me, and continues to teach me and help me grow. Wow. I have such love in my life.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Worshipping Dad 2001-12-21 11:38 p.m. I know, it's been FOREVER! I feel like there is so much contained within me, so much that hasn't been released because my computer is not set up. Thank God for all of my technically advanced friends, for I have easy access to computers at all times. I've just been busy moving and shit, couldn't make the time to get to one and update you!

I'm bordering on worshipping my father at this point. The man is just so good and generous and giving, and the process over the last few days, his support and encouragement (even when I was snapping at him in my stress and frustration, even when I wouldn't talk and wouldn't sleep there the first night because my bed wasn't set up) has amazed me as a demonstration of his patience. But today topped it all off, today he demostrated and revealed just how selfless and caring he truly is. Let me tell you about it:

I got home late last night, visiting Pixie and catching up. When I got "home", I held my breath, not wanting to wake my sleeping father, he had to get up in a matter of hours (for his daily 5am walk to the park and back). I crashed out and when I awoke, he was gone. But he had left a note. It was more a list of requests than a note. First, he asked that I eat the apple on the counter, because he'd be coming home with more fruit and didn't want it to go bad. Next, he mentioned that he used the change he had found in a box I meant to throw away to buy me a bagel for breakfast on his way home from his walk. But what really killed me were the last two requests.

Two dollars were sitting on the counter. In the note, he specified that he really needed me to put those two dollars in a box located inside a building on 3rd & Spruce. The last request was that I go to the Mission Hills Library and open an account so that I could renew a book for him that he wasn't able to renew again and wanted to finish. Okay, now let me explain all of that. My father's been trying to get me to go to this museum for the last few months. He told me that I'd love the art displayed there, that I should really see it. I hadn't made the time. The museum is located on 3rd & Spruce. By turning his recommendation into a request, he was assuring that I would go, for ME. Because he knew that *I* would really enjoy it. Which I did, immensely.

I went to the museum today, walked through and looked at some amazing art that I truly did appreciate seeing and learning about. On my way out, I dropped the two dollars in the donation box. Why hadn't I done that sooner? And the library, he loves this quaint little local library. He's been telling me of their collection and the lovely people there, the community feeling of it and how he reads much more when there's a time limit on the books he gets. So, today I got myself an account there. Something I never would have done of my own accord, and he knew this. I wasn't able to get that book he wanted, and I have a feeling he knew that as well.

After a lovely lunch with Halcyon, I did those things and I went home feeling fulfilled and happy, I had done something good with my day that I enjoyed immensely, and it all started with a red granny apple.

The cats have adjusted and with a little thinking, we'll get the furniture into its appropriate place. I already feel at home and I've only slept there for two nights. Before my father came home from work today, as I was waiting for a friend to come over and help with some maintenance, I sat at the dining room table, covered with Dad's papers and pictures. His Make-a-Wish Foundation badge, some pictures of children with cancer that he's helped. A picture of my cousin Jeffrey, his nephew, lost to us on September 11. A photo album we made for him, pictures of all four of his daughters as children, seen with him smiling at us and hugging us in various poses, with an enscription on the front: "Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a Daddy."

And I cried. Overwhelmed with gratefulness, appreciation, love, joy. And so much more. God, I'm lucky.

So, I'll get to a computer soon and tell you about all the other fun stuff going on. But this, well, I had to take a moment to point out to the world the fact that I do not take my father for granted. He never ceases to amaze me, and continues to teach me and help me grow. Wow. I have such love in my life.