Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-12-27

Caska: Part Two

note: if you haven't read part one, go to my previous entry and do so. You must read that one in order to understand this one, if you haven't already gathered that from the whole "part 2" thing.

So, I get home to my Dad's place, glowing and happy, feeling as if I must be on the right track to fall into something I so expected to happen. I wasn't back for 45 minutes when my cell phone rang. "I just still cannot believe that I ran into you! It's just crazy, I can't wait to catch up with you!" Okay, she's excited, understandable, I'm a pretty awesome person to know. So I told her I'd have to call her back, as I was busy, but that I was excited as well, and that I felt that this was just the next step in our lives, that we obviously have something to offer one another again. Okay, WRONGO.

Another 30 minutes passed, and she called again. This time, I had a few minutes. She proceeded to tell me that she had had a few drinks and didn't want to drive to work, because she had just recently gotten a DUI, and she KNEW that if she drove, even though she's not "drunk", that she'd get pulled over and caught SOMEHOW. Okay, what?! I didn't know why she was telling me this. Did she want a ride? What was it? A DUI? She knew she had to go into work this evening, yet she'd been drinking? What she wanted, was my advice. I thought to myself, you should have asked for my advice before you drank this afternoon, doll.

She wanted to hear that it was okay if she blew off this job, this shift, because it wasn't worth the "risk" of getting another DUI. I wasn't about to tell her that I thought her decisions were responsible or rational, but at the same time, I really didn't want to get into it with her. So I said, "It sounds like you've already made up your mind by having a few drinks, and knowing that you wouldn't be able to make it to work. You don't want to work there, you don't want to go, you're ensuring that you can't make it there, so my guess is that you're going to call in, right?" Dude, I was a temporary employer and headhunter for 3 years. I've heard ALL of the excuses, I can see right through the bullshit talk and reasoning, the rationalizing. I loathe bullshit. Tell it like it is, and make up your fucking mind. So I told her to call in, she obviously wasn't going, and what was this? a honk outside? Gee, I gotta run, I think that's my ride, and I got off the phone.

She called two more times that same evening. The first time, inviting me over to "her" place (I'll get to that one in a sec), then inviting a friend of hers out with me, and also managed to mention that she was surprised at the curt response her manager gave when she called in to the restaurant (on a busy Friday evening before the holidays) and said she wouldn't be making it in an hour before her shift was to begin. I told her that I completely understood why the woman had been curt, she's obviously busy and thinking of who to call to fill the spot, why should she stay on the phone and pacify Caska for flaking? Again, in many situations regarding work ethic, I tend to think like the employer and lean towards the responsible outcome.

One more continuation, folks, bear with me... perhaps I'll work on turning this whole story into a Poe-style poem. Wouldn't you like that?

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Caska: Part Two 2001-12-27 3:45 p.m. note: if you haven't read part one, go to my previous entry and do so. You must read that one in order to understand this one, if you haven't already gathered that from the whole "part 2" thing.

So, I get home to my Dad's place, glowing and happy, feeling as if I must be on the right track to fall into something I so expected to happen. I wasn't back for 45 minutes when my cell phone rang. "I just still cannot believe that I ran into you! It's just crazy, I can't wait to catch up with you!" Okay, she's excited, understandable, I'm a pretty awesome person to know. So I told her I'd have to call her back, as I was busy, but that I was excited as well, and that I felt that this was just the next step in our lives, that we obviously have something to offer one another again. Okay, WRONGO.

Another 30 minutes passed, and she called again. This time, I had a few minutes. She proceeded to tell me that she had had a few drinks and didn't want to drive to work, because she had just recently gotten a DUI, and she KNEW that if she drove, even though she's not "drunk", that she'd get pulled over and caught SOMEHOW. Okay, what?! I didn't know why she was telling me this. Did she want a ride? What was it? A DUI? She knew she had to go into work this evening, yet she'd been drinking? What she wanted, was my advice. I thought to myself, you should have asked for my advice before you drank this afternoon, doll.

She wanted to hear that it was okay if she blew off this job, this shift, because it wasn't worth the "risk" of getting another DUI. I wasn't about to tell her that I thought her decisions were responsible or rational, but at the same time, I really didn't want to get into it with her. So I said, "It sounds like you've already made up your mind by having a few drinks, and knowing that you wouldn't be able to make it to work. You don't want to work there, you don't want to go, you're ensuring that you can't make it there, so my guess is that you're going to call in, right?" Dude, I was a temporary employer and headhunter for 3 years. I've heard ALL of the excuses, I can see right through the bullshit talk and reasoning, the rationalizing. I loathe bullshit. Tell it like it is, and make up your fucking mind. So I told her to call in, she obviously wasn't going, and what was this? a honk outside? Gee, I gotta run, I think that's my ride, and I got off the phone.

She called two more times that same evening. The first time, inviting me over to "her" place (I'll get to that one in a sec), then inviting a friend of hers out with me, and also managed to mention that she was surprised at the curt response her manager gave when she called in to the restaurant (on a busy Friday evening before the holidays) and said she wouldn't be making it in an hour before her shift was to begin. I told her that I completely understood why the woman had been curt, she's obviously busy and thinking of who to call to fill the spot, why should she stay on the phone and pacify Caska for flaking? Again, in many situations regarding work ethic, I tend to think like the employer and lean towards the responsible outcome.

One more continuation, folks, bear with me... perhaps I'll work on turning this whole story into a Poe-style poem. Wouldn't you like that?