Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-03-20

Good Tuesday

Alright, who�s the snitch? Who�s been reporting my sins to a higher power? Because you�ve got the wrong religion, you dolt! I left my place last night, nearly floated down the steps outside in my excitement to see the crowd I was on my way to see, and what do I find at the bottom of my cement stairs? The starch-white, short sleeves, the pressed black pants, the rectangular dark name tags, I didn�t even need to read them to know that underneath these names read �Jesus Christ Church of Latter Day Saints�. Uh uh. Not having it, no freakin� Mormons on my block, no. And they were looking right at me.

I tried to skirt around them, look busy, beeline to my car only a few feet from their souls of salvation. No go. One headed me off at the pass, hand extended for an introductory shake. Fuck. Alright, I�ll play along for a bit. Hi, I�m Barbara, yeah, I know, you�re Mormons, I can tell by looking at you. I know all about your religion, so no thanks if you�re offering information. Oh, on a Mission, you say? Yeah, I had a friend go on one of those. What group was she with? Fuck if I know, hon, I stopped hanging out with her when she converted to Mormonism (and I so wanted to use the word, �cult� with them. Pity kept me from doing so).

Couldn�t they tell by looking at me that I was beyond their reach? I can�t imagine that they were that ambitious, to think that I could be talked into much, and religion of all things! I bid them farewell with a giggle, and drove away quickly, so as not to be followed by these messengers of the friggin� salamander. And on to the party!

What a great place for a party, the Abbey on University. They even spelled out the birthday girl�s name in candles placed on little wooden sconces on the wall outside. Gorgeous, great local artists work displayed inside, and slowly, the crowd trickled in. Master Love, Lizard (the power behind badgirlproductions.com), big V, LovelyL, there were so many faces I haven�t seen in so long, I felt like I walked back stage of the This is Your Life show. Very cool.

The birthday girl received everything from a new whip and vibrating accouterments for her nether regions to gardening gear and a friendship mirror. Sweet eccentricity, I love my versatile friends. After a tasty dinner and a pleasant bout of snide sarcastic comments (I was on a role, but really, sometimes I do need to learn to shut up), I was ready to head home and hit the sack and my current read. Fizgig and Nina, done with the Sound of Music singalong, were heading to a local pit, but I�ll see them soon enough. I gave my personal journal (you thought THIS was �personal�? Hee hee) some attention for a page or so, then placed it by my bed, picked up my book, and read until my lids grew heavy. Sigh, good Tuesday.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Good Tuesday 2002-03-20 9:11 a.m. Alright, who�s the snitch? Who�s been reporting my sins to a higher power? Because you�ve got the wrong religion, you dolt! I left my place last night, nearly floated down the steps outside in my excitement to see the crowd I was on my way to see, and what do I find at the bottom of my cement stairs? The starch-white, short sleeves, the pressed black pants, the rectangular dark name tags, I didn�t even need to read them to know that underneath these names read �Jesus Christ Church of Latter Day Saints�. Uh uh. Not having it, no freakin� Mormons on my block, no. And they were looking right at me.

I tried to skirt around them, look busy, beeline to my car only a few feet from their souls of salvation. No go. One headed me off at the pass, hand extended for an introductory shake. Fuck. Alright, I�ll play along for a bit. Hi, I�m Barbara, yeah, I know, you�re Mormons, I can tell by looking at you. I know all about your religion, so no thanks if you�re offering information. Oh, on a Mission, you say? Yeah, I had a friend go on one of those. What group was she with? Fuck if I know, hon, I stopped hanging out with her when she converted to Mormonism (and I so wanted to use the word, �cult� with them. Pity kept me from doing so).

Couldn�t they tell by looking at me that I was beyond their reach? I can�t imagine that they were that ambitious, to think that I could be talked into much, and religion of all things! I bid them farewell with a giggle, and drove away quickly, so as not to be followed by these messengers of the friggin� salamander. And on to the party!

What a great place for a party, the Abbey on University. They even spelled out the birthday girl�s name in candles placed on little wooden sconces on the wall outside. Gorgeous, great local artists work displayed inside, and slowly, the crowd trickled in. Master Love, Lizard (the power behind badgirlproductions.com), big V, LovelyL, there were so many faces I haven�t seen in so long, I felt like I walked back stage of the This is Your Life show. Very cool.

The birthday girl received everything from a new whip and vibrating accouterments for her nether regions to gardening gear and a friendship mirror. Sweet eccentricity, I love my versatile friends. After a tasty dinner and a pleasant bout of snide sarcastic comments (I was on a role, but really, sometimes I do need to learn to shut up), I was ready to head home and hit the sack and my current read. Fizgig and Nina, done with the Sound of Music singalong, were heading to a local pit, but I�ll see them soon enough. I gave my personal journal (you thought THIS was �personal�? Hee hee) some attention for a page or so, then placed it by my bed, picked up my book, and read until my lids grew heavy. Sigh, good Tuesday.