Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-04-08

Birthdays, drag queens, and artists

The happiness of life is made up of minute fractions--the little, soon-forgotten charities of a kiss or smile, a kind look or heartfelt compliment. -Samuel Taylor Coleridge, poet (1772-1834)

Yes, yes, I know, we get another hour of daylight, whoopee! Doesn�t change the fact that I feel cheated somehow out of an hour of sleep. Gets me every time. But I was able to get up and motivate, because I intentionally didn�t feed my cats last night. Annoying as it is, there is no way to oversleep with those two panthers meowing in my face, appalled that I had the audacity to fall asleep without filling that bowl. But alas, Mondays are for reflecting upon a usually wonderful and eventful weekend, so let�s get right to it, shall we?

Friday night is nothing you would find exciting, so let�s skip on over to Saturday. Ah, a day of sleep. I wasted my Saturday, though my body doesn�t see it that way. My beautiful sister�s 30th birthday! You know, the one with the beautiful baby (a.k.a. MY nephew). The family met for dinner, and as is custom, we laughed and joked the entire time. Simply magical. Now, here�s where my Saturday night took a turn for the interesting and eventful. I got a call from Cabana Boy, something about him and the boys dressed in drag and running rampant through the town! I HAD to see it. But in a moment of phone tag and wanting to gather a little crew and transition to the next phase in my evening, I made some calls and got a hold of J.D.

At Nunu�s, you say? That�s perfect! I met up with hottie and his roommate, a very cool and kickback kind of guy, at my local hole in the wall. Cabana Boy to Barbarella, contact made, and the coordinates of the party relayed. Move out. What a fantabulous party! Loft downtown, 2 stories, a new band playing new sound dubbed �Afro Pop� by their manager, a DJ upstairs, breaking it up old school with vinyl, and the boys� oh my goodness, the boys. Those outfits were hysterical! Thank God I had my camera with me. I was greeted in the final, back, upstairs room by Cabana Boy and crew in half-assed drag. It was beautiful. The wigs were ratty, the lipstick was smeared, I swear to God, minus the unshaven hair on their chests, they could have been me after a few rough days of partying. Hee hee.

As the drag queens headed off to show off their costumes elsewhere, we stuck around to enjoy a great party. Friendly people and good music is hard to leave. I�m pretty sure everyone had a good time. I know I did.

Yesterday, I made up for a Saturday wasted by cramming my Sunday with events and people. I took my father to the airport and then met up with Kitty and Princess for breakfast. We laughed, we ate, we ogled the waiter. Then, onto Balboa Park so I could check out the Orozco exhibit at the San Diego Museum of Art. I�d been looking to go to it for a while, now. I collected a crew consisting of Des , Bunny and Blove, and we had a lovely, sunny afternoon at the park, and a walk through the museum. I wasn�t overly excited by the actual exhibit, yes, put together well and interesting as always, but the art is not of my liking. I was very happy to see another exhibit that I didn�t know about ahead of time, though. Original sketches from as early as the 16th century. Amazing.

A full day, complete with a late lunch with the girls, and visiting Pixie later in the evening. Too much fun. Really, I�m surprised it�s so easy to have. Not unappreciative, just pleasantly surprised, over and over again by life.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Birthdays, drag queens, and artists 2002-04-08 9:16 a.m. The happiness of life is made up of minute fractions--the little, soon-forgotten charities of a kiss or smile, a kind look or heartfelt compliment. -Samuel Taylor Coleridge, poet (1772-1834)

Yes, yes, I know, we get another hour of daylight, whoopee! Doesn�t change the fact that I feel cheated somehow out of an hour of sleep. Gets me every time. But I was able to get up and motivate, because I intentionally didn�t feed my cats last night. Annoying as it is, there is no way to oversleep with those two panthers meowing in my face, appalled that I had the audacity to fall asleep without filling that bowl. But alas, Mondays are for reflecting upon a usually wonderful and eventful weekend, so let�s get right to it, shall we?

Friday night is nothing you would find exciting, so let�s skip on over to Saturday. Ah, a day of sleep. I wasted my Saturday, though my body doesn�t see it that way. My beautiful sister�s 30th birthday! You know, the one with the beautiful baby (a.k.a. MY nephew). The family met for dinner, and as is custom, we laughed and joked the entire time. Simply magical. Now, here�s where my Saturday night took a turn for the interesting and eventful. I got a call from Cabana Boy, something about him and the boys dressed in drag and running rampant through the town! I HAD to see it. But in a moment of phone tag and wanting to gather a little crew and transition to the next phase in my evening, I made some calls and got a hold of J.D.

At Nunu�s, you say? That�s perfect! I met up with hottie and his roommate, a very cool and kickback kind of guy, at my local hole in the wall. Cabana Boy to Barbarella, contact made, and the coordinates of the party relayed. Move out. What a fantabulous party! Loft downtown, 2 stories, a new band playing new sound dubbed �Afro Pop� by their manager, a DJ upstairs, breaking it up old school with vinyl, and the boys� oh my goodness, the boys. Those outfits were hysterical! Thank God I had my camera with me. I was greeted in the final, back, upstairs room by Cabana Boy and crew in half-assed drag. It was beautiful. The wigs were ratty, the lipstick was smeared, I swear to God, minus the unshaven hair on their chests, they could have been me after a few rough days of partying. Hee hee.

As the drag queens headed off to show off their costumes elsewhere, we stuck around to enjoy a great party. Friendly people and good music is hard to leave. I�m pretty sure everyone had a good time. I know I did.

Yesterday, I made up for a Saturday wasted by cramming my Sunday with events and people. I took my father to the airport and then met up with Kitty and Princess for breakfast. We laughed, we ate, we ogled the waiter. Then, onto Balboa Park so I could check out the Orozco exhibit at the San Diego Museum of Art. I�d been looking to go to it for a while, now. I collected a crew consisting of Des , Bunny and Blove, and we had a lovely, sunny afternoon at the park, and a walk through the museum. I wasn�t overly excited by the actual exhibit, yes, put together well and interesting as always, but the art is not of my liking. I was very happy to see another exhibit that I didn�t know about ahead of time, though. Original sketches from as early as the 16th century. Amazing.

A full day, complete with a late lunch with the girls, and visiting Pixie later in the evening. Too much fun. Really, I�m surprised it�s so easy to have. Not unappreciative, just pleasantly surprised, over and over again by life.