Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-04-22

A WONDERFUL Weekend

I opened my eyes to see sunlight cracking through the blinds in my room, birds chirping in the bushes outside. More out of routine than conscious thought, I got up, slowly walked to the bathroom, my cats tripping me up with their hungry meows under my feet. I pushed the shower doors aside, turned on the water so that it could heat, and did my usual turn to the sink to brush my teeth as the water heated. But something was different this morning. Against the white porcelain, my eyes opened wider and brighter to find dozens of perfect green leaves, connected by dark, reddish-brown stems, and topped off with delicate miniature pink roses. My father rocks.

Now, with a smile on my face and a bounce in my steps, I finished the rest of my morning routine thinking happy, beautiful, nature-filled thoughts. On my way to work, I listened to a tape my Dad brought home from Sunday�s seminar, the amazing Rev Kev speaking about Krishna and life. By the time I got to the office, I was beaming. I picked up my father from the airport on Friday night, and opting to miss out on my usual social endeavors, a gallery opening and a party, went with Dad to grab some food and then go home and update each other on the last two weeks. It was wonderful and relaxing.

Saturday, I went with Kitty, her man and his roommate to a wonderful gathering in Ramona. Two older gentlemen, who have been together for over 20 years, moving from their home in Ramona to downtown San Diego, decided to have a garage sale/finger food party. Fun! Cheap, beautiful stuff, drinks, and decadent, deliciously delectable finger foods! What a great way to spend the day. I got to hang with Kitty�s amazing mother for the first time in forever and ran into a neighbor. I�d say it was a complete day.

That evening, I went to hang at Bunny�s for awhile. Blove gave me a sweet-smelling strawberry candle that he made, and Halcyon gave me a CD that he made for Earth Day. Wow! And I was just going for the shrimp! A nice, relaxing evening with friends.

Yesterday, Earth Day, I spent the day in the park with family. Little Liam, in his soccer shirt and sweats (so fucking cute at 3 months you just can�t look away) was being walked around by my mother while the rest of us improved our moves with the hackey sack. As it is with every year, we just get better and better as summer approaches. Kitty came by, as did Missy, to sit with us in the park and stare at the baby. Huge, blue eyes with venus-flytrap lashes and a mischievous little smile. C�mon, now. There is NOTHING cuter than my nephew.

Good times, good times. Aren�t they always? And this weekend... drum roll, please... COACHELLA! It�s on, people. Expect everything, be prepared for anything.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
A WONDERFUL Weekend 2002-04-22 10:35 a.m. I opened my eyes to see sunlight cracking through the blinds in my room, birds chirping in the bushes outside. More out of routine than conscious thought, I got up, slowly walked to the bathroom, my cats tripping me up with their hungry meows under my feet. I pushed the shower doors aside, turned on the water so that it could heat, and did my usual turn to the sink to brush my teeth as the water heated. But something was different this morning. Against the white porcelain, my eyes opened wider and brighter to find dozens of perfect green leaves, connected by dark, reddish-brown stems, and topped off with delicate miniature pink roses. My father rocks.

Now, with a smile on my face and a bounce in my steps, I finished the rest of my morning routine thinking happy, beautiful, nature-filled thoughts. On my way to work, I listened to a tape my Dad brought home from Sunday�s seminar, the amazing Rev Kev speaking about Krishna and life. By the time I got to the office, I was beaming. I picked up my father from the airport on Friday night, and opting to miss out on my usual social endeavors, a gallery opening and a party, went with Dad to grab some food and then go home and update each other on the last two weeks. It was wonderful and relaxing.

Saturday, I went with Kitty, her man and his roommate to a wonderful gathering in Ramona. Two older gentlemen, who have been together for over 20 years, moving from their home in Ramona to downtown San Diego, decided to have a garage sale/finger food party. Fun! Cheap, beautiful stuff, drinks, and decadent, deliciously delectable finger foods! What a great way to spend the day. I got to hang with Kitty�s amazing mother for the first time in forever and ran into a neighbor. I�d say it was a complete day.

That evening, I went to hang at Bunny�s for awhile. Blove gave me a sweet-smelling strawberry candle that he made, and Halcyon gave me a CD that he made for Earth Day. Wow! And I was just going for the shrimp! A nice, relaxing evening with friends.

Yesterday, Earth Day, I spent the day in the park with family. Little Liam, in his soccer shirt and sweats (so fucking cute at 3 months you just can�t look away) was being walked around by my mother while the rest of us improved our moves with the hackey sack. As it is with every year, we just get better and better as summer approaches. Kitty came by, as did Missy, to sit with us in the park and stare at the baby. Huge, blue eyes with venus-flytrap lashes and a mischievous little smile. C�mon, now. There is NOTHING cuter than my nephew.

Good times, good times. Aren�t they always? And this weekend... drum roll, please... COACHELLA! It�s on, people. Expect everything, be prepared for anything.