Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-04-23

Busy Being Me

A quote attached to an email recently from the Beautiful Queen Kelly sent me into a whirlwind of thought. Oh, don�t think that, not the type of whirlwind we get caught up in ourselves. More like a twirl of wind at the park that you never would have seen had it not been for the colorful leaves and loose blades of grass that it sweeps into a swirl above the ground, that it stirs invisibly when it rests back on the earth before you. A passing breeze, something you can�t help but smile at, silly tricks of the wind. But I digress. The quote, of course:

�We don�t see things as they are. We see them as WE are.� Anais Nin. No matter the situation, your perception of it is skewed by the way you think, what you would be doing in someone else�s situation. If you�ve been thinking bad thoughts about someone, you will automatically assume that someone else is thinking bad thoughts about you. Though that could be furthest from the truth. It�s just interesting, how our presumptions and outlooks say more about us than we may ever know.

I can say I�m quite free of negative thought right now. My father told me last night, as we were making a lovely gourmet dinner for ourselves, that �whatever your focus your energy on will increase.� So, he said, if you focus on the love in your life, on the laws of abundance, on the good nature of people in general, that will increase for you. And if you focus on being wronged, on being hurt, on placing blame, on your lack of finances, whatever negative thing it may be, then the same principle applies, and THAT will increase for you.

I�ve chosen this last week to focus my energy on nature, friends, and family in only the most loving and positive of ways. And every morning, as I laugh at the sheer joy that life can be when you�re so busy focusing on joy to think of anything else, I notice the sign my father posted on our refrigerator that states boldly, �It�s okay to wake up laughing.�

I want to see things as I am. And the more I see nothing but beauty and love around me, the better I feel about� well, to quote Jack Nickelson in As Good As it Gets, it makes me feel better about me. That can�t be all bad, now, can it? Nope.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Busy Being Me 2002-04-23 9:28 a.m. A quote attached to an email recently from the Beautiful Queen Kelly sent me into a whirlwind of thought. Oh, don�t think that, not the type of whirlwind we get caught up in ourselves. More like a twirl of wind at the park that you never would have seen had it not been for the colorful leaves and loose blades of grass that it sweeps into a swirl above the ground, that it stirs invisibly when it rests back on the earth before you. A passing breeze, something you can�t help but smile at, silly tricks of the wind. But I digress. The quote, of course:

�We don�t see things as they are. We see them as WE are.� Anais Nin. No matter the situation, your perception of it is skewed by the way you think, what you would be doing in someone else�s situation. If you�ve been thinking bad thoughts about someone, you will automatically assume that someone else is thinking bad thoughts about you. Though that could be furthest from the truth. It�s just interesting, how our presumptions and outlooks say more about us than we may ever know.

I can say I�m quite free of negative thought right now. My father told me last night, as we were making a lovely gourmet dinner for ourselves, that �whatever your focus your energy on will increase.� So, he said, if you focus on the love in your life, on the laws of abundance, on the good nature of people in general, that will increase for you. And if you focus on being wronged, on being hurt, on placing blame, on your lack of finances, whatever negative thing it may be, then the same principle applies, and THAT will increase for you.

I�ve chosen this last week to focus my energy on nature, friends, and family in only the most loving and positive of ways. And every morning, as I laugh at the sheer joy that life can be when you�re so busy focusing on joy to think of anything else, I notice the sign my father posted on our refrigerator that states boldly, �It�s okay to wake up laughing.�

I want to see things as I am. And the more I see nothing but beauty and love around me, the better I feel about� well, to quote Jack Nickelson in As Good As it Gets, it makes me feel better about me. That can�t be all bad, now, can it? Nope.