Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-04-29

Coachella, 2002

�Don�t cry because it�s over; smile because it happened.�

I don�t remember where I got that quote from, something I memorized a long time ago and hold in the side of my mind wherever I go. With a lot of things going on with a lot of my friends, transitions, new beginnings, it just seemed very appropriate.

Now, on to ME and MY update! There is one word that comes to mind when I reflect on my experience this weekend at Coachella, and that is: perfect . Absofuckinlutely perfect. Jacob was right when he told us to just go with the flow in everyday life. Things really do work out the way they�re supposed to, even if you don�t overstress about a plan. We headed out at a decent hour, early in the morning on a chilly wet Saturday in San Diego. And we arrived just two hours later to the sunny, gorgeous polo field where the festival is held. Woo hoo!

The crew? Well, me and Halcyon in the back, and in the front, navigating, driving and keeping us entertained and laughing overall, were Sailor and Sunshine. Yup, that�s right, I DID choose those names for this adorable couple, and well, they�re just going to have to live with that. I was worried about the fact that my tickets were at will call, we waited in line for hours. But none of us were frustrated or upset about this. We made friends in line, laughed and shared stories, it was to the point that by the time we DID finally get in, we almost didn�t know what to do with ourselves.

But we figured it out right quickly, and everything worked out perfectly. We ran into all of our friends, and even more friends that we didn�t know were going until we saw them on the field. We walked around all day, watching the performing art, the colorfully costumed people, the awesome line-up of bands. The main attractions, the ones that had me and Sunshine nearly peeing our pants with excitement and overwhelming giddiness, were Siouxsie and the Banshees, Bjork, and The Chemical Brothers. The boys went off wandering when Bjork came on, and Sunshine and I had the most lovely experience of hugging, sighing, and relishing in that ethereal voice, giggling at the adorable little dance Bjork does for every song.

The Chemical Brothers went OFF. There is no way to describe this in words. Think high energy, extreme bass, lights, video, like I said, there�s no way. Go see them live. After a perfect day of partying, a perfect night of concert-going, we headed over to meet up with friends who were visiting from LA and ended up with a place to crash after all, despite other plans that fell through. Perfect.

Breakfast the next morning and Sailor got us home in one piece, groggy and satisfied. I showered forever, made myself dinner, watched the Simpsons, and fell asleep sighing and moaning over how freakin� comfortable my bed was, how clean and soft I felt in it, just feeling good. Feeling really good. What a great weekend.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Coachella, 2002 2002-04-29 9:24 a.m. �Don�t cry because it�s over; smile because it happened.�

I don�t remember where I got that quote from, something I memorized a long time ago and hold in the side of my mind wherever I go. With a lot of things going on with a lot of my friends, transitions, new beginnings, it just seemed very appropriate.

Now, on to ME and MY update! There is one word that comes to mind when I reflect on my experience this weekend at Coachella, and that is: perfect . Absofuckinlutely perfect. Jacob was right when he told us to just go with the flow in everyday life. Things really do work out the way they�re supposed to, even if you don�t overstress about a plan. We headed out at a decent hour, early in the morning on a chilly wet Saturday in San Diego. And we arrived just two hours later to the sunny, gorgeous polo field where the festival is held. Woo hoo!

The crew? Well, me and Halcyon in the back, and in the front, navigating, driving and keeping us entertained and laughing overall, were Sailor and Sunshine. Yup, that�s right, I DID choose those names for this adorable couple, and well, they�re just going to have to live with that. I was worried about the fact that my tickets were at will call, we waited in line for hours. But none of us were frustrated or upset about this. We made friends in line, laughed and shared stories, it was to the point that by the time we DID finally get in, we almost didn�t know what to do with ourselves.

But we figured it out right quickly, and everything worked out perfectly. We ran into all of our friends, and even more friends that we didn�t know were going until we saw them on the field. We walked around all day, watching the performing art, the colorfully costumed people, the awesome line-up of bands. The main attractions, the ones that had me and Sunshine nearly peeing our pants with excitement and overwhelming giddiness, were Siouxsie and the Banshees, Bjork, and The Chemical Brothers. The boys went off wandering when Bjork came on, and Sunshine and I had the most lovely experience of hugging, sighing, and relishing in that ethereal voice, giggling at the adorable little dance Bjork does for every song.

The Chemical Brothers went OFF. There is no way to describe this in words. Think high energy, extreme bass, lights, video, like I said, there�s no way. Go see them live. After a perfect day of partying, a perfect night of concert-going, we headed over to meet up with friends who were visiting from LA and ended up with a place to crash after all, despite other plans that fell through. Perfect.

Breakfast the next morning and Sailor got us home in one piece, groggy and satisfied. I showered forever, made myself dinner, watched the Simpsons, and fell asleep sighing and moaning over how freakin� comfortable my bed was, how clean and soft I felt in it, just feeling good. Feeling really good. What a great weekend.