Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-05-14

What you really, really want

�Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.� � Oscar Wilde, that crazy/beautiful man. I used to be that. It took me up and moving to a new city, not knowing a person there, having never been there before but to find an apartment, to figure out what I wanted. I never bothered to think on it before. I went where my friends went, I did what my friends did, I liked what my friends liked, and I despised what my friends despised. So I moved away, and I didn�t come back until I figured out what kinds of decisions I�d make if my friends were no longer a factor. As if the outcome was completely dependent upon me and only me.

It worked. Now I know my tastes. And though they are open to new information and impressions, they begin as mine. I didn�t always have that. I didn�t always know that. But I have to tell you, knowledge is power. And I still remember the first time I left a place because I wasn�t having fun and it fucking hit me like bitch-slap � I always had the power to go home. I didn�t need no stinkin� ruby slippers. I can do what I want, when I want, how I want. So I had fun abusing that for a bit, became overly selfish, trying it on for size. Then I settled into what I feel is a happy medium. Little compromises, big considerations, a whole lotta care and a little less tolerance for shit. And it�s working.

Yesterday was beautiful! The weather was great, and Bunny came and picked me up for lunch in her convertible, so we could feel the air as we drove through Hillcrest looking for a spot to eat. Once we found the spot, Dlove walked in and chatted with us for a bit. Leaving the joint, we ran into Emily, the adorable drummer/vocalist for Bunky (playing at the Casbah this Wednesday, by the way). I felt like we were in some opening song for a new sitcom. Walking around our neighborhood on a sunny afternoon, running into friends along the way. Hopping in the convertible and driving off� I�ve seen too many movies.

Today, I�m having lunch with Halcyon! Always a joy. And I can hardly contain my excitement for tomorrow night. Bunny and I will be taking that convertible up to LA, to visit Lizard and Africa, go see a show at the Mint, and then party at Liz & her man�s new house. And Thursday, day off of work, we�ll slowly make our way back into town, with the top down. And that�s just what I want to do.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
What you really, really want 2002-05-14 10:15 a.m. �Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.� � Oscar Wilde, that crazy/beautiful man. I used to be that. It took me up and moving to a new city, not knowing a person there, having never been there before but to find an apartment, to figure out what I wanted. I never bothered to think on it before. I went where my friends went, I did what my friends did, I liked what my friends liked, and I despised what my friends despised. So I moved away, and I didn�t come back until I figured out what kinds of decisions I�d make if my friends were no longer a factor. As if the outcome was completely dependent upon me and only me.

It worked. Now I know my tastes. And though they are open to new information and impressions, they begin as mine. I didn�t always have that. I didn�t always know that. But I have to tell you, knowledge is power. And I still remember the first time I left a place because I wasn�t having fun and it fucking hit me like bitch-slap � I always had the power to go home. I didn�t need no stinkin� ruby slippers. I can do what I want, when I want, how I want. So I had fun abusing that for a bit, became overly selfish, trying it on for size. Then I settled into what I feel is a happy medium. Little compromises, big considerations, a whole lotta care and a little less tolerance for shit. And it�s working.

Yesterday was beautiful! The weather was great, and Bunny came and picked me up for lunch in her convertible, so we could feel the air as we drove through Hillcrest looking for a spot to eat. Once we found the spot, Dlove walked in and chatted with us for a bit. Leaving the joint, we ran into Emily, the adorable drummer/vocalist for Bunky (playing at the Casbah this Wednesday, by the way). I felt like we were in some opening song for a new sitcom. Walking around our neighborhood on a sunny afternoon, running into friends along the way. Hopping in the convertible and driving off� I�ve seen too many movies.

Today, I�m having lunch with Halcyon! Always a joy. And I can hardly contain my excitement for tomorrow night. Bunny and I will be taking that convertible up to LA, to visit Lizard and Africa, go see a show at the Mint, and then party at Liz & her man�s new house. And Thursday, day off of work, we�ll slowly make our way back into town, with the top down. And that�s just what I want to do.