Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-05-23

Prepare for the Dork to Peek

The Kids in the Hall were as funny as I thought they�d be live. And yes, it is just coincidence that this fan page I�ve linked to bears my name. Seriously! Though I�ve laughed at their antics years before Comedy Central was a channel. I brought my sister, who turned me onto them over a decade ago. Aside from a few, stupid, drunk chics , the show went off without a hitch.

You know, I don�t get it, this drunk-chic-crazy-in-public-phenomena. Even when Mark McKinney took out a camera, aimed it at them, and we could see his fingers crushing their heads on the huge screen behind them, they continued to be obnoxious. After rushing Kevin McDonald during a sketch, they were asked to move far from the stage and the crowd booed and cheered them, and Mark made cracks about their sloppy state. What pissed me off the most, is that these cracks were wasted on these hags. In their obvious states of oblivion, there was no way for them to realize they were the butt of the joke, and the bane of the event.

Sigh, but back to the show� See? How much that took of my time and energy? Word to the wise, girls: hold your liquor or don�t drink it. When your cups runneth over, you look like a fucking idiot. Okay, I�m done with that now.

Those 5 crazy boys opened with Dr. Seuss�s version of the Bible, complete with Scott Thompson as Jesus and a �crucifixion machine�. Right on. The best thing about every sketch is that you could just tell they were all having a blast up there. They were doing this for themselves as much, if not more, than for their rowdy San Diego fans. And I love to watch people genuinely having a good time. Especially THOSE 5 people. A very satisfying experience, and we giggled like school girls every time they played the theme music.

I think I need to have some kind of emotional outburst. I haven�t decided yet which emotion it will be, but I�m quick to anger, quick to upset, and quick to laugh like a fucking hyena. Hmm. This morning, when that goddamned �I Hope You Dance� song came on, emotions pooled together and overwhelmed me in a moment of dorkiness. I love that song. But it ALWAYS makes me cry, and laugh, and breathe deep, and that�s just like, too much for a 5-minute morning drive to work. She just cares SO much! And it seems like all of her emotions come together for effect when she belts out that word, DANCE. See? Dork over here. It�s all good. I leave you with a quote, and I don�t remember it�s source:

Work like you don�t need the money,

Love like you�ve never been hurt,

And DANCE like there�s nobody watching.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Prepare for the Dork to Peek 2002-05-23 9:06 a.m. The Kids in the Hall were as funny as I thought they�d be live. And yes, it is just coincidence that this fan page I�ve linked to bears my name. Seriously! Though I�ve laughed at their antics years before Comedy Central was a channel. I brought my sister, who turned me onto them over a decade ago. Aside from a few, stupid, drunk chics , the show went off without a hitch.

You know, I don�t get it, this drunk-chic-crazy-in-public-phenomena. Even when Mark McKinney took out a camera, aimed it at them, and we could see his fingers crushing their heads on the huge screen behind them, they continued to be obnoxious. After rushing Kevin McDonald during a sketch, they were asked to move far from the stage and the crowd booed and cheered them, and Mark made cracks about their sloppy state. What pissed me off the most, is that these cracks were wasted on these hags. In their obvious states of oblivion, there was no way for them to realize they were the butt of the joke, and the bane of the event.

Sigh, but back to the show� See? How much that took of my time and energy? Word to the wise, girls: hold your liquor or don�t drink it. When your cups runneth over, you look like a fucking idiot. Okay, I�m done with that now.

Those 5 crazy boys opened with Dr. Seuss�s version of the Bible, complete with Scott Thompson as Jesus and a �crucifixion machine�. Right on. The best thing about every sketch is that you could just tell they were all having a blast up there. They were doing this for themselves as much, if not more, than for their rowdy San Diego fans. And I love to watch people genuinely having a good time. Especially THOSE 5 people. A very satisfying experience, and we giggled like school girls every time they played the theme music.

I think I need to have some kind of emotional outburst. I haven�t decided yet which emotion it will be, but I�m quick to anger, quick to upset, and quick to laugh like a fucking hyena. Hmm. This morning, when that goddamned �I Hope You Dance� song came on, emotions pooled together and overwhelmed me in a moment of dorkiness. I love that song. But it ALWAYS makes me cry, and laugh, and breathe deep, and that�s just like, too much for a 5-minute morning drive to work. She just cares SO much! And it seems like all of her emotions come together for effect when she belts out that word, DANCE. See? Dork over here. It�s all good. I leave you with a quote, and I don�t remember it�s source:

Work like you don�t need the money,

Love like you�ve never been hurt,

And DANCE like there�s nobody watching.