Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-02

Waking Up

�You want to know what the definition of insanity is? Doing the same thing, over and over, and expecting different results.� � My Dad, philosopher, student, teacher, of life

Whew! My home journal took QUITE the beating last night. I didn�t realize I had more rant & rave in me. More of the �what the fuck?� variety. More of �why can�t these people SEE this? Why don�t they GET it? Why do they wonder why the same thing keeps happening, or why nothing happens at all, and never once consider that the formula to their pattern can be found by simply examining their actions or lack of actions?

That�s all. I have had three wonderful and relaxing evenings in a row. I can�t remember the last time I felt this well-rested, this grounded, this charged. Deep breath in�. slow exhale. I�ve also been having elaborate, detailed dreams. Last night, a dream involving my sister. This morning, I was given the opportunity to apply a tactic I learned in my dream, and it worked. My dreams have been of situations that seem daunting, challenging, being trapped somewhere, needing to rescue someone because I got out first, things like that, very movie-like.

But I listen to my dreams. I ponder them, I pick them apart, and I attribute symbolism and interpret metaphors for my waking life. The metaphor, someone is trapped. In my dream, this is physical and literal. In my waking life, this is all an idea, this person keeps herself, himself trapped by placing limits all around themselves. I have many ways of approaching such a trapped person. I have pounded at the wall, I have crushed it with words, I have illuminated it with insights. Last night, I learned a new way. I ignored the wall altogether. Without the power of attention, it didn�t seem to exist, and we were laughing, everyone laughing.

I applied that lesson this morning. And it worked. The wall was diffused, and laughter ensued. Listen to your dreams. Do something different. Allow yourself to learn. Be open to new methods you never would have tried before. You never know, it just might open your eyes to something new and beautiful. Like waking up.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Waking Up 2002-07-02 11:14 a.m. �You want to know what the definition of insanity is? Doing the same thing, over and over, and expecting different results.� � My Dad, philosopher, student, teacher, of life

Whew! My home journal took QUITE the beating last night. I didn�t realize I had more rant & rave in me. More of the �what the fuck?� variety. More of �why can�t these people SEE this? Why don�t they GET it? Why do they wonder why the same thing keeps happening, or why nothing happens at all, and never once consider that the formula to their pattern can be found by simply examining their actions or lack of actions?

That�s all. I have had three wonderful and relaxing evenings in a row. I can�t remember the last time I felt this well-rested, this grounded, this charged. Deep breath in�. slow exhale. I�ve also been having elaborate, detailed dreams. Last night, a dream involving my sister. This morning, I was given the opportunity to apply a tactic I learned in my dream, and it worked. My dreams have been of situations that seem daunting, challenging, being trapped somewhere, needing to rescue someone because I got out first, things like that, very movie-like.

But I listen to my dreams. I ponder them, I pick them apart, and I attribute symbolism and interpret metaphors for my waking life. The metaphor, someone is trapped. In my dream, this is physical and literal. In my waking life, this is all an idea, this person keeps herself, himself trapped by placing limits all around themselves. I have many ways of approaching such a trapped person. I have pounded at the wall, I have crushed it with words, I have illuminated it with insights. Last night, I learned a new way. I ignored the wall altogether. Without the power of attention, it didn�t seem to exist, and we were laughing, everyone laughing.

I applied that lesson this morning. And it worked. The wall was diffused, and laughter ensued. Listen to your dreams. Do something different. Allow yourself to learn. Be open to new methods you never would have tried before. You never know, it just might open your eyes to something new and beautiful. Like waking up.