Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-09

Laughs, Love, and Laughs

�We come to the park on a daily basis to walk the dog, and the squirrels expect to be fed.� That�s got to be the funniest thing I�ve read in awhile. We don�t just feed them because they�re there, you know� they EXPECT to be fed. Beware the squirrel that is wrought with expectation. And something about the ides of March.

Want to share some morning dialogue with you:

�Have I told you that I�m proud of you?�

�Thank you, Dad.�

�I mean, just a matter of months ago, you didn�t know what you were going to do, where you were going to work, how you were going to get by. And look at you today � on your way to work, a paralegal for a good firm, going to your first class tonight. I�m very proud of you.�

�You know, it�s funny� I�ve been in between jobs before, in between homes, and it�s a very scary thing, not knowing what your next step is. But each time I finally took that next step, it was something bigger and better for me. This time, though I had no idea what I�d be doing or where I�d be going, I trusted that whatever it was, it would present itself to me and it would be good. So I didn�t stress, and I was open for the opportunities when they came, and yeah, it feels real good.�

�That�s great, honey. Have fun tonight!�

"Have a great day, Daddy. I'll see you later."

What I didn�t say, was that each time I�ve been in a bind, each time I�ve been stuck in that space, that fear of the next, that not knowing what was coming and not knowing what I wanted to come enough to direct myself, my driving force and motivation was wanting to make my dad proud. To be successful and independent, regardless of my methods, actually, the farther they were from his, the more my point was proven. To be respected as an individual while loved as a daughter.

I don�t think he realizes just how MUCH that word means to me, coming from him. Proud. Of ME. The ultimate reward for any accomplishment is to make someone who loves me proud. Feels good, feels really, really good.

In other news, Kitty and I did pilates and then went to town at the Soup & Salad restaurant. The chili was delicious. And, because women don�t know the definition, let alone the properties of flatulence, I am unable to update you on the ride home. Let�s just say we laughed our asses off. Life is beautiful.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Laughs, Love, and Laughs 2002-07-09 9:38 a.m. �We come to the park on a daily basis to walk the dog, and the squirrels expect to be fed.� That�s got to be the funniest thing I�ve read in awhile. We don�t just feed them because they�re there, you know� they EXPECT to be fed. Beware the squirrel that is wrought with expectation. And something about the ides of March.

Want to share some morning dialogue with you:

�Have I told you that I�m proud of you?�

�Thank you, Dad.�

�I mean, just a matter of months ago, you didn�t know what you were going to do, where you were going to work, how you were going to get by. And look at you today � on your way to work, a paralegal for a good firm, going to your first class tonight. I�m very proud of you.�

�You know, it�s funny� I�ve been in between jobs before, in between homes, and it�s a very scary thing, not knowing what your next step is. But each time I finally took that next step, it was something bigger and better for me. This time, though I had no idea what I�d be doing or where I�d be going, I trusted that whatever it was, it would present itself to me and it would be good. So I didn�t stress, and I was open for the opportunities when they came, and yeah, it feels real good.�

�That�s great, honey. Have fun tonight!�

"Have a great day, Daddy. I'll see you later."

What I didn�t say, was that each time I�ve been in a bind, each time I�ve been stuck in that space, that fear of the next, that not knowing what was coming and not knowing what I wanted to come enough to direct myself, my driving force and motivation was wanting to make my dad proud. To be successful and independent, regardless of my methods, actually, the farther they were from his, the more my point was proven. To be respected as an individual while loved as a daughter.

I don�t think he realizes just how MUCH that word means to me, coming from him. Proud. Of ME. The ultimate reward for any accomplishment is to make someone who loves me proud. Feels good, feels really, really good.

In other news, Kitty and I did pilates and then went to town at the Soup & Salad restaurant. The chili was delicious. And, because women don�t know the definition, let alone the properties of flatulence, I am unable to update you on the ride home. Let�s just say we laughed our asses off. Life is beautiful.