Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-11

My Advice, Me, and My Update

Advice for webloggers: be careful what you write. The point of this is to share your story, not others� stories through your perspective. Try to speak generally, hypothetically, and honestly. It�s one thing to share your feelings. It�s quite another to give accounts of events involving someone else and their life when including details and names. Just a word of advice, if you believe access to informing the public comes with any kind of responsibility or liability of slander. Or would that be libel? No matter. The point is, if your weblog turns into an update on what someone else is up to, you might as well hand over the domain and let that person type it herself.

I have a diary at home that captures all of my thoughts on people, situations, etc. with details, names, and my step-by-step accounts of how I believe things unravel. It would be unfair, rude and presumptuous to post that in a public arena. It would be vindicative of gossiping (�vindicative� is a new Barbarism). Because you�re not just sharing your thoughts. Your bashing someone�s image with the full knowledge of just who your audience is. And that�s dirty fighting.

I know this, because I�ve done it myself. But I can also say for myself, I usually keep it pretty general, and my point still gets across quite clearly. And I only write negatively about people or situations that I believe are truly oblivious and evil. Not people I care about. If you claim to care about someone and then bash them in the next sentence� well, just re-read that and think about it, I trust your intelligence enough to not spell it out for you.

Alright, have we had enough preaching for one morning? I�m still reeling over the delicious dinner I ingested last night. Mmm, yummy. A dinner party for Blove, who is going away for a little while. Seafood pasta, vegetable calzones, and wonderful company. Unfortunately, it was right after another pilates sesh with Kitty, so it hurt my stomach to laugh, but I made do. Halycon, Kaya , Fizgig, Ollie, the lovely couple that hosted, and more! Ingredients for hilarity. Add good food and drink, mix lightly, sit back, and laugh.

Tonight, birthdays galore! Zim, a wonderful and dear friend, Georgie, one of the Stanton Residents, and a hot-red-headed vixen who will hopefully show up downtown for hers as well. What is it with July and birthdays? Man, I�m so happy to be in September. Because I am SUCH a Virgo.

Okay, what the hell is going on? I just bit into my graham cracker, and it tastes like perfume. I�m not wearing any. After a trek around the building, I have confirmed that I am not crazy, 3 out 4 who take a bite agree, this indeed tastes like perfume. I was so looking forward to my crackers, dammit. But I�m not going to eat perfume. So I�m going to get lost in work and the music from my cd-walkman. Make it a great day! How? Think good thoughts.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
My Advice, Me, and My Update 2002-07-11 9:04 a.m. Advice for webloggers: be careful what you write. The point of this is to share your story, not others� stories through your perspective. Try to speak generally, hypothetically, and honestly. It�s one thing to share your feelings. It�s quite another to give accounts of events involving someone else and their life when including details and names. Just a word of advice, if you believe access to informing the public comes with any kind of responsibility or liability of slander. Or would that be libel? No matter. The point is, if your weblog turns into an update on what someone else is up to, you might as well hand over the domain and let that person type it herself.

I have a diary at home that captures all of my thoughts on people, situations, etc. with details, names, and my step-by-step accounts of how I believe things unravel. It would be unfair, rude and presumptuous to post that in a public arena. It would be vindicative of gossiping (�vindicative� is a new Barbarism). Because you�re not just sharing your thoughts. Your bashing someone�s image with the full knowledge of just who your audience is. And that�s dirty fighting.

I know this, because I�ve done it myself. But I can also say for myself, I usually keep it pretty general, and my point still gets across quite clearly. And I only write negatively about people or situations that I believe are truly oblivious and evil. Not people I care about. If you claim to care about someone and then bash them in the next sentence� well, just re-read that and think about it, I trust your intelligence enough to not spell it out for you.

Alright, have we had enough preaching for one morning? I�m still reeling over the delicious dinner I ingested last night. Mmm, yummy. A dinner party for Blove, who is going away for a little while. Seafood pasta, vegetable calzones, and wonderful company. Unfortunately, it was right after another pilates sesh with Kitty, so it hurt my stomach to laugh, but I made do. Halycon, Kaya , Fizgig, Ollie, the lovely couple that hosted, and more! Ingredients for hilarity. Add good food and drink, mix lightly, sit back, and laugh.

Tonight, birthdays galore! Zim, a wonderful and dear friend, Georgie, one of the Stanton Residents, and a hot-red-headed vixen who will hopefully show up downtown for hers as well. What is it with July and birthdays? Man, I�m so happy to be in September. Because I am SUCH a Virgo.

Okay, what the hell is going on? I just bit into my graham cracker, and it tastes like perfume. I�m not wearing any. After a trek around the building, I have confirmed that I am not crazy, 3 out 4 who take a bite agree, this indeed tastes like perfume. I was so looking forward to my crackers, dammit. But I�m not going to eat perfume. So I�m going to get lost in work and the music from my cd-walkman. Make it a great day! How? Think good thoughts.