Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-22

Concert, Party update & My awesome boss

�It�s not men who limit women, it�s not straights who limit gays, it�s not whites who limit blacks. What limits people is lack of character. What limits people is that they don�t have the fucking nerve or imagination to star in their own movie, let alone direct it.� Tom Robbins, from his novel: Still Life With Woodpecker

Have I mentioned how much I enjoy reading this author? Almost done with this one, I�m going to have to hit up the new Borders downtown and check out the collection. I love a lot of a new good thing. Indigo Girls concert was fun, sent my family off the next morning to New York. That�s right, my mother, all three of my sisters, and my little nephew have taken off for the great right coast. There, they will show off the adorable baby, and get to meet Cindy�s new life, two baby-girl twins born to our wonderful cousin just a week or so ago.

Which means I have a house, complete with 3 TVs, three hundred channels each, a billiards room and a pool, at my disposal. I�m going to have to take a retreat. Love my family to death, but that house is so much more relaxing when I�m in it alone. Ahhh, lazy days. Too bad Pride Parade is this weekend, I really would rather take advantage of the house for a few days. But I am NOT going to miss the parade, not when a good friend of Bunny�s is Miss Gay Pride, oh no.

Hmm, so when, then? Tonight I�m going to kick it, tomorrow I�ve got class. Maybe Wednesday through Friday I�ll just stay down there and hibernate (yeah, right). Saturday night was the Vibrantly Red party at the Real House. Great costumes, wonderful turnout. It was nice to see friends I haven�t seen in awhile, nice to have something to dress up for, nice to have a theme to share. Kitty and I arrived with a handful of good-looking men in BRIGHT RED suits. Classic.

Unfortunately, due to a large number of people who were plastered and foreign to me, I found myself annoyed or imposed upon more than once in the evening. Girls fire-twirling in the streets, beautiful and entertaining, it�s what I was waiting to get a glimpse of before leaving the chaos for the evening and heading home to finish a few more chapters of Woodpecker.

Sunday (you thought I was done, didn�t you), brunch with Bunny, and then a movie (Road to Perdition) with Cabana Boy and Ollie added to our chicky-mix. Good movie. Now, a whole lot of work to do, and my boss is away for awhile (some trial lawyers convention in Atlanta). This morning, I looked at the piles on my desk, work to do, things to take care of, calendars, task lists, deadlines� I pulled my chair out, ready to sit down and get started, but there was something on it. A present (Primal Desire lotion, appropriately named: Tranquility), a gift certificate (and permission to take time during work to make the Nordstrom half-yearly sale), and a funny and appreciative note from my boss. Have I told you how much I love my job? And the people I work for? She just called to check in and we had a good laugh after a faux-spat about which one of us is cooler.

Yes, life is good. Well, mine is... it's rude to speak for everybody.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Concert, Party update & My awesome boss 2002-07-22 10:45 a.m. �It�s not men who limit women, it�s not straights who limit gays, it�s not whites who limit blacks. What limits people is lack of character. What limits people is that they don�t have the fucking nerve or imagination to star in their own movie, let alone direct it.� Tom Robbins, from his novel: Still Life With Woodpecker

Have I mentioned how much I enjoy reading this author? Almost done with this one, I�m going to have to hit up the new Borders downtown and check out the collection. I love a lot of a new good thing. Indigo Girls concert was fun, sent my family off the next morning to New York. That�s right, my mother, all three of my sisters, and my little nephew have taken off for the great right coast. There, they will show off the adorable baby, and get to meet Cindy�s new life, two baby-girl twins born to our wonderful cousin just a week or so ago.

Which means I have a house, complete with 3 TVs, three hundred channels each, a billiards room and a pool, at my disposal. I�m going to have to take a retreat. Love my family to death, but that house is so much more relaxing when I�m in it alone. Ahhh, lazy days. Too bad Pride Parade is this weekend, I really would rather take advantage of the house for a few days. But I am NOT going to miss the parade, not when a good friend of Bunny�s is Miss Gay Pride, oh no.

Hmm, so when, then? Tonight I�m going to kick it, tomorrow I�ve got class. Maybe Wednesday through Friday I�ll just stay down there and hibernate (yeah, right). Saturday night was the Vibrantly Red party at the Real House. Great costumes, wonderful turnout. It was nice to see friends I haven�t seen in awhile, nice to have something to dress up for, nice to have a theme to share. Kitty and I arrived with a handful of good-looking men in BRIGHT RED suits. Classic.

Unfortunately, due to a large number of people who were plastered and foreign to me, I found myself annoyed or imposed upon more than once in the evening. Girls fire-twirling in the streets, beautiful and entertaining, it�s what I was waiting to get a glimpse of before leaving the chaos for the evening and heading home to finish a few more chapters of Woodpecker.

Sunday (you thought I was done, didn�t you), brunch with Bunny, and then a movie (Road to Perdition) with Cabana Boy and Ollie added to our chicky-mix. Good movie. Now, a whole lot of work to do, and my boss is away for awhile (some trial lawyers convention in Atlanta). This morning, I looked at the piles on my desk, work to do, things to take care of, calendars, task lists, deadlines� I pulled my chair out, ready to sit down and get started, but there was something on it. A present (Primal Desire lotion, appropriately named: Tranquility), a gift certificate (and permission to take time during work to make the Nordstrom half-yearly sale), and a funny and appreciative note from my boss. Have I told you how much I love my job? And the people I work for? She just called to check in and we had a good laugh after a faux-spat about which one of us is cooler.

Yes, life is good. Well, mine is... it's rude to speak for everybody.

Quintana - 2005-11-29 10:10:47
Dear Webmaster, I have some good websites, whose resource pages are with good page rank by Google. I am looking to exchanging links. We have many categories, so your site will be place on an appropriate page. If you are interested in swaping links please send me your website details. I am sorry if I wasting your time and have a nice day! Best Regards, Quintana Nellis
-------------------------------