Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-31

Things I Tell Myself

You can�t keep everyone happy. So pick and choose, act accordingly, and just watch how much energy you�ll save. Make decisions for yourself, not for the reaction of others. Weigh and consider what your rewards are for your actions � or lack thereof � and whether or not it�s worth it to you to keep doing what you�re doing.

It�s okay not to care about something. It�s YOUR time. Don�t waste it. You�ll only resent the person or thing you wasted it on. I envy my brother for the simple fact that he is completely comfortable saying to a friend, �I really don�t care about that,� and not fearing the sensitive repercussions that may ensue. Another thing I envy, is that for him, there usually are no repercussions� because he hangs out with a bunch of guys who receive that comment without taking it personally.

I don�t care about that. I don�t want to hear about this. And your point is?� Are these comments rude, honest, or both? Should you always pretend to give a shit about every little situation and story, every bit of trivia and snippets of past? Even when you don�t, should you pretend, should you fake that enthusiasm in order to make someone feel good about what they have to share? It depends. Sometimes you should. If something is important to someone you love, it automatically becomes important to you. It's possible to have absolutely no interest in something and be aware of it, without criticism. Oh, the fine lines.

You know what I love? That I have a few friends I can say sarcastically to, �Great story,� and rather than getting offended, they laugh. If everyone lightened up a bit, didn�t take things so personally, as some kind of attack, maybe others wouldn�t be too afraid to be honest� we�d save a whole lot of time.

People need to toughen up a bit and lighten up a LOT. We�d all have a lot more fun if we could laugh at ourselves and our flaws, rather than stress and worry over them. I choose humor.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Things I Tell Myself 2002-07-31 9:40 a.m. You can�t keep everyone happy. So pick and choose, act accordingly, and just watch how much energy you�ll save. Make decisions for yourself, not for the reaction of others. Weigh and consider what your rewards are for your actions � or lack thereof � and whether or not it�s worth it to you to keep doing what you�re doing.

It�s okay not to care about something. It�s YOUR time. Don�t waste it. You�ll only resent the person or thing you wasted it on. I envy my brother for the simple fact that he is completely comfortable saying to a friend, �I really don�t care about that,� and not fearing the sensitive repercussions that may ensue. Another thing I envy, is that for him, there usually are no repercussions� because he hangs out with a bunch of guys who receive that comment without taking it personally.

I don�t care about that. I don�t want to hear about this. And your point is?� Are these comments rude, honest, or both? Should you always pretend to give a shit about every little situation and story, every bit of trivia and snippets of past? Even when you don�t, should you pretend, should you fake that enthusiasm in order to make someone feel good about what they have to share? It depends. Sometimes you should. If something is important to someone you love, it automatically becomes important to you. It's possible to have absolutely no interest in something and be aware of it, without criticism. Oh, the fine lines.

You know what I love? That I have a few friends I can say sarcastically to, �Great story,� and rather than getting offended, they laugh. If everyone lightened up a bit, didn�t take things so personally, as some kind of attack, maybe others wouldn�t be too afraid to be honest� we�d save a whole lot of time.

People need to toughen up a bit and lighten up a LOT. We�d all have a lot more fun if we could laugh at ourselves and our flaws, rather than stress and worry over them. I choose humor.