Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-08-21

Fucked Up Shit & My Own Private Barb-a-ho

I love how they use the word �probably.� Yeah, eating food products from cloned animals is PROBABLY safe. You gonna buy that? My lips are sealed. It�s bad enough that our chickens are fed beef and our cows are fed chicken meat, along with each other�s feces. The last thing I need is a dose of genetically enhanced, scientifically manufactured milk & meat. Though you know what? I�m �probably� already getting it, from one place or another.

The news is all kinds of fucked-up right now. There are two women in Nigeria who have been sentenced to death by stoning. By STONING. The courts in their �country� have overturned all appeals. The sentences stay. Why? Sex out of wedlock. The proof? Babies. How? One of them was raped four times. And SHE is going to be KILLED by ROCKS. Slow, torturous, as if she, abused and with a new baby, did not have enough trauma in her young life. As soon as the children are weaned. I read that in the paper yesterday, and I sat shocked, staring at the pages in horror.

Focusing so hard on the words that they overlapped and seemed to rise from the page. But they never changed. I gathered from the paper that these are Muslims, trying to get back to the �way things were.� It�s not the best selling point for that religion, if you ask me. I feel incensed, outraged, beyond measure, and I think, �would it really be that bad if we killed all the adult men who followed these practices and educated the women and children?� But what do I know.

So, needless to say, but I will anyway, because I�m like that, I�m going to take a break from the news for a day. But only a day. Or maybe just an hour. It�s so hard to not know, even if what I do know is tainted by various sources of the information I finally get. Sigh. Perhaps I will become a politician after all. Shake shit up a bit. Give me a decade or so, we�ll see.

In other news: Got to see Ollie & Ronaldo last night (like a pair of muppets, heh heh), which is always entertaining and fun. Spider Monkey lasagna, The Jerk on the Telly, M&M�s on the floor. Then I headed home to read more of Dante and his adventures through Hell. And it didn�t seem half as bad as the shit going on in the world right now.

By the by, I was listening in on a conversation this morning, a coworker telling a detailed story of the step-by-step process of her grandson�s day care, complete with times, location, every little minute friggin� detail that doesn�t add to the point of the story in any way, and I thought of this quote by Benjamin Disraeli: �Be amusing: never tell unkind stories; above all, never tell long ones.�

These are the goings-on in my mind that keep me amused through every day of my life. And the overwhelming desire to run into the hallway and say, �she doesn�t care! Get to the point!� is restrained and silenced by a stronger power within me � social grace.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Fucked Up Shit & My Own Private Barb-a-ho 2002-08-21 9:07 a.m. I love how they use the word �probably.� Yeah, eating food products from cloned animals is PROBABLY safe. You gonna buy that? My lips are sealed. It�s bad enough that our chickens are fed beef and our cows are fed chicken meat, along with each other�s feces. The last thing I need is a dose of genetically enhanced, scientifically manufactured milk & meat. Though you know what? I�m �probably� already getting it, from one place or another.

The news is all kinds of fucked-up right now. There are two women in Nigeria who have been sentenced to death by stoning. By STONING. The courts in their �country� have overturned all appeals. The sentences stay. Why? Sex out of wedlock. The proof? Babies. How? One of them was raped four times. And SHE is going to be KILLED by ROCKS. Slow, torturous, as if she, abused and with a new baby, did not have enough trauma in her young life. As soon as the children are weaned. I read that in the paper yesterday, and I sat shocked, staring at the pages in horror.

Focusing so hard on the words that they overlapped and seemed to rise from the page. But they never changed. I gathered from the paper that these are Muslims, trying to get back to the �way things were.� It�s not the best selling point for that religion, if you ask me. I feel incensed, outraged, beyond measure, and I think, �would it really be that bad if we killed all the adult men who followed these practices and educated the women and children?� But what do I know.

So, needless to say, but I will anyway, because I�m like that, I�m going to take a break from the news for a day. But only a day. Or maybe just an hour. It�s so hard to not know, even if what I do know is tainted by various sources of the information I finally get. Sigh. Perhaps I will become a politician after all. Shake shit up a bit. Give me a decade or so, we�ll see.

In other news: Got to see Ollie & Ronaldo last night (like a pair of muppets, heh heh), which is always entertaining and fun. Spider Monkey lasagna, The Jerk on the Telly, M&M�s on the floor. Then I headed home to read more of Dante and his adventures through Hell. And it didn�t seem half as bad as the shit going on in the world right now.

By the by, I was listening in on a conversation this morning, a coworker telling a detailed story of the step-by-step process of her grandson�s day care, complete with times, location, every little minute friggin� detail that doesn�t add to the point of the story in any way, and I thought of this quote by Benjamin Disraeli: �Be amusing: never tell unkind stories; above all, never tell long ones.�

These are the goings-on in my mind that keep me amused through every day of my life. And the overwhelming desire to run into the hallway and say, �she doesn�t care! Get to the point!� is restrained and silenced by a stronger power within me � social grace.