Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-08-27

Indulge Me, if you will... Personal Rambling

It shouldn�t bother me, but it does. CNN just should not be using the word, �groovy� in their headlines. Nope, not cool. However, I dig the look of the new minibus, as it�s being presented here. You know, as a child, my family traveled across country in an old, camper-like, orange VW. Four little girls in the back, sleeping on hammocks (like bunkbeds, two on each side, one above the other). From Alaska to New York, from Rhode Island to Southern California. Traveling family in a little orange van. God, I loved that thing.

I remember playing Travel Trouble and Uno , listening and singing along to John Denver and hour-long chants as the whole lot of us chanted along with Gurumayi Chidvilasananda. Good times, good times.

Well, well, hasn�t this been a little flashback through Barbarella�s nostalgia-center? Sigh, so good. Few things going on right now, as I�m so inclined to share (God knows what happens to events in my life when not documented, left to be lost in the fabric of space and time, without recognition or reflection, what a nightmare!) As I was, yes, call from Uncle Gerry last night. Two days ago, popped some guy in the face who was talking loudly on those little mouthpiece cell-phone thingy�s. Said the guy was talking too loud in a public place. Watch yourselves, people. There are big men out there, and they have manners, and if you don�t, you WILL be hit� hard.

Oh, Uncle Gerry. Busted your knuckle back into your fist? I didn�t even think that was possible. I love him to death, though. He called to thank me for something I did. He sounded emotional, he sounded sincere, and he showered me with thanks and compliments for the simplest thing. God, that made me feel good. To know that something so small can mean so much to someone. It just felt so good.

Dad gets back this weekend, and I have a rematch with Faye on the Scrabble Board. I knew that �vinery� was a word. But I psyched her out, and she ended up losing by 2 points, only to find out later, that the word she was afraid to use, the word that would have brought her a whopping 36 points, was a real word. Half the battle with Scrabble is the psyche-out. Especially when I�m playing with Faye, English Teacher, and she who thinks exactly like me, older sister extraordinaire. I better practice, game�s on Sunday. Oh, it�s on.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Indulge Me, if you will... Personal Rambling 2002-08-27 9:52 a.m. It shouldn�t bother me, but it does. CNN just should not be using the word, �groovy� in their headlines. Nope, not cool. However, I dig the look of the new minibus, as it�s being presented here. You know, as a child, my family traveled across country in an old, camper-like, orange VW. Four little girls in the back, sleeping on hammocks (like bunkbeds, two on each side, one above the other). From Alaska to New York, from Rhode Island to Southern California. Traveling family in a little orange van. God, I loved that thing.

I remember playing Travel Trouble and Uno , listening and singing along to John Denver and hour-long chants as the whole lot of us chanted along with Gurumayi Chidvilasananda. Good times, good times.

Well, well, hasn�t this been a little flashback through Barbarella�s nostalgia-center? Sigh, so good. Few things going on right now, as I�m so inclined to share (God knows what happens to events in my life when not documented, left to be lost in the fabric of space and time, without recognition or reflection, what a nightmare!) As I was, yes, call from Uncle Gerry last night. Two days ago, popped some guy in the face who was talking loudly on those little mouthpiece cell-phone thingy�s. Said the guy was talking too loud in a public place. Watch yourselves, people. There are big men out there, and they have manners, and if you don�t, you WILL be hit� hard.

Oh, Uncle Gerry. Busted your knuckle back into your fist? I didn�t even think that was possible. I love him to death, though. He called to thank me for something I did. He sounded emotional, he sounded sincere, and he showered me with thanks and compliments for the simplest thing. God, that made me feel good. To know that something so small can mean so much to someone. It just felt so good.

Dad gets back this weekend, and I have a rematch with Faye on the Scrabble Board. I knew that �vinery� was a word. But I psyched her out, and she ended up losing by 2 points, only to find out later, that the word she was afraid to use, the word that would have brought her a whopping 36 points, was a real word. Half the battle with Scrabble is the psyche-out. Especially when I�m playing with Faye, English Teacher, and she who thinks exactly like me, older sister extraordinaire. I better practice, game�s on Sunday. Oh, it�s on.