Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-16

Hot-DAMN! Busy Weekend Update

How does she squeeze it all into two simple days and 3 measly nights? No matter how, forget any contemplation of why, the fact is, she did. Here�s the breakdown of my quite eventful, quite interesting weekend. Oh, yes indeedy� pay attention.

Friday night, I met up with some friends at a Poetry Slam . What a great time, what talented poets and speakers, what fun! I will definitely be going back to this at the Urban Grind, I dug the place, I dug the people, hot diggety dog! I�m still trying to deal with the fact that I actually just typed that. Moving right along,

After the Slam, we headed over to Spider Monkey�s place, where many women had been drinking many alcoholic beverages for many hours. Too funny. Bunco girls gone bad, we were swept up in it, listening to the evening�s updates, while I tried to gauge ANY sobriety in the room. Good times, good times. A few of us walked over to Nunu�s, and it was tickety-talk-talk and wickety-walk-walks until I drove my ass home and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow (it was a very long day for me).

Saturday! Okay, there�s a lot to write here. In the mid-morning, I walked over to Mary�s to meet up with O.H. & S.M. I know I�ve mentioned this before, but if you only knew how funny those abbreviations were to me... I�m too easily amused by myself. But I digress. Brunch was lovely and fun, and then I went downtown to meet up with Dad at the exhibit . Slowly walking around the room, looking up at the pictures hanging from string high above, it was like we were there, then. Everyone in the pictures was looking up too. We walked around solemnly, commenting about the pictures, familiar locations, and I ignored the steady stream of tear coming out of my right eye.

From the exhibit, to the library to celebrate the Ethiopian New Year . There was a celebration held at the Malcolm X Library . I love that on that News 8 link they actually say �we don�t know what this means�� Could you admit any more ignorance? Aren�t you the fucking NEWS? Do some research, for Christ�s Sake! Anyway, my father and I went to the festival, and we were the only white people there for a good portion of it. I learned some VERY interesting things� I didn�t know that September 11 was the official mark in the ancient Egyptian calendar for the �beginning of life,� the �start of creation.� The New Year for this culture was referred to as a "holiday for women", and we saw video of the festivities in Africa while someone spoke in English and Ethiopian (I don�t know the official name of the language), describing and elaborating on everything the day had to bring. It was about life, it was about newness. It was great. Better yet, the man who ran the ceremony lives in the apartment directly above my father and I. We didn�t know that ahead of time, but it was nice to know THE family that this particular ceremony was spurred by.

Little girls danced and sang. Little boys banged sticks in a rhythm and chanted. Everyone smiled. That was a great experience, and I plan on researching more about this ancient calendar and what our first scientists and men of thought believed life to be all about. I�m excited to learn more!

The rest of Saturday, I shopped till I dropped. Spider Monkey and I DID the mall in a BIG fucking way. I bought myself a new steering wheel cover. That�s right. Black fur, with gold specks, and in golden glittery embroidery, it says, �Bling Bling!� on the top. On the sides are gold glittery $�s. Classic. New clothes, new things, and freshly showered, I went to meet up with O.H. & S.M. This is the deal - apparently, a friend of O.H.�s has a boat that the people of Martini Ranch chartered for the day. So, as a peripheral part of this crowd, I got to go along with the V.I.P. treatment this awarded them.

This included a booth upstairs (I was so tempted to draw the curtains closed) at Martini Ranch , and the best yet, OPEN BAR. That�s right. A wonderful and pleasant waitress served us FREE drinks all night. Nice. Everything was going great, met some people, got buzzed, laughed and chatted it up, and then� we walked back to the car.

Or the place where the car WAS NOT. MY car. GONE. FUCKING TOWED. I new that damned spot would get me eventually. I think it had more to do with my obnoxious steering wheel cover, in addition to already personalized plates. Buzzkill. I was done for the evening, poopy and pissy, I sulked for the entire cab drive home. Like a baby. A pissy, moany, bitchy baby. Everything worked out, though.

My father and I had an adventure getting the car back the next day, and oh, I can�t tell you the relief I felt when I slipped behind the wheel again and grasped onto that circular fir. Someone ripped of my registration tag, I�m gonna have to go to the DMV today (hopefully, that won�t be too eventful). Last night, relieved and relaxed, I went to dinner with a few close friends, a place where we were right on the water, and could see the sunset. Lovely. Busy weekend. Tonight, I�m going to a movie premiere. I never did get that �rest� thing, but fuck it. I had a blast.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Hot-DAMN! Busy Weekend Update 2002-09-16 9:47 a.m. How does she squeeze it all into two simple days and 3 measly nights? No matter how, forget any contemplation of why, the fact is, she did. Here�s the breakdown of my quite eventful, quite interesting weekend. Oh, yes indeedy� pay attention.

Friday night, I met up with some friends at a Poetry Slam . What a great time, what talented poets and speakers, what fun! I will definitely be going back to this at the Urban Grind, I dug the place, I dug the people, hot diggety dog! I�m still trying to deal with the fact that I actually just typed that. Moving right along,

After the Slam, we headed over to Spider Monkey�s place, where many women had been drinking many alcoholic beverages for many hours. Too funny. Bunco girls gone bad, we were swept up in it, listening to the evening�s updates, while I tried to gauge ANY sobriety in the room. Good times, good times. A few of us walked over to Nunu�s, and it was tickety-talk-talk and wickety-walk-walks until I drove my ass home and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow (it was a very long day for me).

Saturday! Okay, there�s a lot to write here. In the mid-morning, I walked over to Mary�s to meet up with O.H. & S.M. I know I�ve mentioned this before, but if you only knew how funny those abbreviations were to me... I�m too easily amused by myself. But I digress. Brunch was lovely and fun, and then I went downtown to meet up with Dad at the exhibit . Slowly walking around the room, looking up at the pictures hanging from string high above, it was like we were there, then. Everyone in the pictures was looking up too. We walked around solemnly, commenting about the pictures, familiar locations, and I ignored the steady stream of tear coming out of my right eye.

From the exhibit, to the library to celebrate the Ethiopian New Year . There was a celebration held at the Malcolm X Library . I love that on that News 8 link they actually say �we don�t know what this means�� Could you admit any more ignorance? Aren�t you the fucking NEWS? Do some research, for Christ�s Sake! Anyway, my father and I went to the festival, and we were the only white people there for a good portion of it. I learned some VERY interesting things� I didn�t know that September 11 was the official mark in the ancient Egyptian calendar for the �beginning of life,� the �start of creation.� The New Year for this culture was referred to as a "holiday for women", and we saw video of the festivities in Africa while someone spoke in English and Ethiopian (I don�t know the official name of the language), describing and elaborating on everything the day had to bring. It was about life, it was about newness. It was great. Better yet, the man who ran the ceremony lives in the apartment directly above my father and I. We didn�t know that ahead of time, but it was nice to know THE family that this particular ceremony was spurred by.

Little girls danced and sang. Little boys banged sticks in a rhythm and chanted. Everyone smiled. That was a great experience, and I plan on researching more about this ancient calendar and what our first scientists and men of thought believed life to be all about. I�m excited to learn more!

The rest of Saturday, I shopped till I dropped. Spider Monkey and I DID the mall in a BIG fucking way. I bought myself a new steering wheel cover. That�s right. Black fur, with gold specks, and in golden glittery embroidery, it says, �Bling Bling!� on the top. On the sides are gold glittery $�s. Classic. New clothes, new things, and freshly showered, I went to meet up with O.H. & S.M. This is the deal - apparently, a friend of O.H.�s has a boat that the people of Martini Ranch chartered for the day. So, as a peripheral part of this crowd, I got to go along with the V.I.P. treatment this awarded them.

This included a booth upstairs (I was so tempted to draw the curtains closed) at Martini Ranch , and the best yet, OPEN BAR. That�s right. A wonderful and pleasant waitress served us FREE drinks all night. Nice. Everything was going great, met some people, got buzzed, laughed and chatted it up, and then� we walked back to the car.

Or the place where the car WAS NOT. MY car. GONE. FUCKING TOWED. I new that damned spot would get me eventually. I think it had more to do with my obnoxious steering wheel cover, in addition to already personalized plates. Buzzkill. I was done for the evening, poopy and pissy, I sulked for the entire cab drive home. Like a baby. A pissy, moany, bitchy baby. Everything worked out, though.

My father and I had an adventure getting the car back the next day, and oh, I can�t tell you the relief I felt when I slipped behind the wheel again and grasped onto that circular fir. Someone ripped of my registration tag, I�m gonna have to go to the DMV today (hopefully, that won�t be too eventful). Last night, relieved and relaxed, I went to dinner with a few close friends, a place where we were right on the water, and could see the sunset. Lovely. Busy weekend. Tonight, I�m going to a movie premiere. I never did get that �rest� thing, but fuck it. I had a blast.