Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-19

Birthday Hangovers

Holy shit. I was SO hungover yesterday! I learned something, though. You do NOT have to drink every drink that is handed to you on your birthday. Actually, as a general rule, it's better if you make it a point NOT to. But oh, the fun I had. Oh, how horrible I felt yesterday.

First of all, I had a fabulous birthday. The entire day was grand, with smiles and phone calls and all kinds of attention and love thrown my way. Nice. After work, I hung out with Pixie for awhile, and then the two of us walked over to Nunu's to meet up with people for my little gathering.

Little? What a wonderful turnout! 25 to 30 of my closest friends filled an otherwise empty bar for the evening. There was cake and laughter and faces I haven't seen in quite awhile (that would be Kaya's . I got a painting from my favorite artist and more than one card that said "fabulous" on it. Just about everyone that I'd hoped to see on my special day was there. So what if I had a few too many. I lived the evening up.

But yesterday... shit. I came to work, you know. I sat in my office, hovered over paperwork, and people walked by and peeked in, as you do in the reptile display at the zoo. Don't go too close, it may come to the glass and startle you. My boss (God love her) came in and stared at me, wincing in some kind of memory/pain of her "days". She said, "You don't wear it well, do you. hee hee. Go home, you look like shit. Take it as a sick day."

In my guilt, I said, "but it's self-induced sickness! That's just not fair, I know that I did this to myself, so I feel bad being given the day." She said that she considers a birthday hangover to be a sick day, self-induced or not, and to go ahead and go, and to not feel bad. Awesome.

I went home, I wretched birthday bile, I passed the fuck out. I woke up in the evening and felt... fabulous. Today, I feel ridiculously strong and replenished. Woo hoo! Now, all the work I need to do...

Thank you to all of my wonderful, beautiful, loving, and fabulous friends. You made my day so much more than what it would have been without you. And for that, I am not just grateful... I'm giddy.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Birthday Hangovers 2002-09-19 8:02 a.m. Holy shit. I was SO hungover yesterday! I learned something, though. You do NOT have to drink every drink that is handed to you on your birthday. Actually, as a general rule, it's better if you make it a point NOT to. But oh, the fun I had. Oh, how horrible I felt yesterday.

First of all, I had a fabulous birthday. The entire day was grand, with smiles and phone calls and all kinds of attention and love thrown my way. Nice. After work, I hung out with Pixie for awhile, and then the two of us walked over to Nunu's to meet up with people for my little gathering.

Little? What a wonderful turnout! 25 to 30 of my closest friends filled an otherwise empty bar for the evening. There was cake and laughter and faces I haven't seen in quite awhile (that would be Kaya's . I got a painting from my favorite artist and more than one card that said "fabulous" on it. Just about everyone that I'd hoped to see on my special day was there. So what if I had a few too many. I lived the evening up.

But yesterday... shit. I came to work, you know. I sat in my office, hovered over paperwork, and people walked by and peeked in, as you do in the reptile display at the zoo. Don't go too close, it may come to the glass and startle you. My boss (God love her) came in and stared at me, wincing in some kind of memory/pain of her "days". She said, "You don't wear it well, do you. hee hee. Go home, you look like shit. Take it as a sick day."

In my guilt, I said, "but it's self-induced sickness! That's just not fair, I know that I did this to myself, so I feel bad being given the day." She said that she considers a birthday hangover to be a sick day, self-induced or not, and to go ahead and go, and to not feel bad. Awesome.

I went home, I wretched birthday bile, I passed the fuck out. I woke up in the evening and felt... fabulous. Today, I feel ridiculously strong and replenished. Woo hoo! Now, all the work I need to do...

Thank you to all of my wonderful, beautiful, loving, and fabulous friends. You made my day so much more than what it would have been without you. And for that, I am not just grateful... I'm giddy.