Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-20

Morning, Meandering, and ME! Yeah, I said "me"

This just feels odd, the second day in a row that I am up, alert, feeling GREAT, and at the office early. I just brewed the first cup of coffee for the morning, and no one is around. The doors were locked, the alarm was on, and once I disarmed it successfully (after pacing in front of the door and imagining the horror of tripping the alarm � thank god for all the mirrors in the lobby, at least I had someone to talk it over with), I cracked open the window in my office, and I�m still smiling at the cool breeze, filled with morning moisture, that dances on my cheek. Nice.

Friday! I was supposed to go to Jane�s last night for dinner, but some kind of malaise attacked the family, and we all chose to stay in and veg. So be it. I�ll see them tonight, minus Dad who�s on his way to a NYFD memorial service in Colorado, so I�m content enough. Tomorrow night, a party at the Gargoyle, with myriad reasons to party. Friends leaving, friends visiting, belated birthday wishes (not just for me, I�m not THAT selfish� okay, maybe I am), and who knows what else! It stands to be a wonderful time, though, as it�ll be the same crowd I saw the other night, with even more wonderful people.

I�ve got to go to a client�s house in a bit here. I�m a little concerned, because these people don�t speak and/or understand English that well. Hmm. Should prove interesting, to say the least. Yesterday I went to a lovely old couple�s home, and though the meeting started off a little rocky (with a complaint for the way a case was handled by a lawyer), it ended with a thorough tour of their home, complete with pictures of family and then I was loaded with homemade strudel and reluctantly sent on my way. You know, it�s one thing to joke around and say that I�m a people-person, that everyone loves me, that I can put a smile on the dourest of faces� but when something like yesterday happens, I can only be reassured that my statements, however they may sound � are mostly true.

Do I believe otherwise? That I can be strongly disliked, that I can put a frown on someone�s face, that I can be misanthropic and even� evil at times? Sure. Just not as much. And we all like to focus on the positive, don�t we? Great. I love you too.

Note to readers: if you don�t actually love me, then replace �I love you too� with �I am apathetic to your life and its happenings, your feelings and thoughts, your opinions and everything else about you also.� Then sit back and realize that you�re still reading. Which means, c�mon, you gotta like me just a little.

I�m not actually going to get away with feeling this great about myself. Someone�s bound to try and stop me. Such is life! I�m gonna fight, though. I�m not going down without bruises. Mmmmm, bruises...

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Morning, Meandering, and ME! Yeah, I said "me" 2002-09-20 8:14 a.m. This just feels odd, the second day in a row that I am up, alert, feeling GREAT, and at the office early. I just brewed the first cup of coffee for the morning, and no one is around. The doors were locked, the alarm was on, and once I disarmed it successfully (after pacing in front of the door and imagining the horror of tripping the alarm � thank god for all the mirrors in the lobby, at least I had someone to talk it over with), I cracked open the window in my office, and I�m still smiling at the cool breeze, filled with morning moisture, that dances on my cheek. Nice.

Friday! I was supposed to go to Jane�s last night for dinner, but some kind of malaise attacked the family, and we all chose to stay in and veg. So be it. I�ll see them tonight, minus Dad who�s on his way to a NYFD memorial service in Colorado, so I�m content enough. Tomorrow night, a party at the Gargoyle, with myriad reasons to party. Friends leaving, friends visiting, belated birthday wishes (not just for me, I�m not THAT selfish� okay, maybe I am), and who knows what else! It stands to be a wonderful time, though, as it�ll be the same crowd I saw the other night, with even more wonderful people.

I�ve got to go to a client�s house in a bit here. I�m a little concerned, because these people don�t speak and/or understand English that well. Hmm. Should prove interesting, to say the least. Yesterday I went to a lovely old couple�s home, and though the meeting started off a little rocky (with a complaint for the way a case was handled by a lawyer), it ended with a thorough tour of their home, complete with pictures of family and then I was loaded with homemade strudel and reluctantly sent on my way. You know, it�s one thing to joke around and say that I�m a people-person, that everyone loves me, that I can put a smile on the dourest of faces� but when something like yesterday happens, I can only be reassured that my statements, however they may sound � are mostly true.

Do I believe otherwise? That I can be strongly disliked, that I can put a frown on someone�s face, that I can be misanthropic and even� evil at times? Sure. Just not as much. And we all like to focus on the positive, don�t we? Great. I love you too.

Note to readers: if you don�t actually love me, then replace �I love you too� with �I am apathetic to your life and its happenings, your feelings and thoughts, your opinions and everything else about you also.� Then sit back and realize that you�re still reading. Which means, c�mon, you gotta like me just a little.

I�m not actually going to get away with feeling this great about myself. Someone�s bound to try and stop me. Such is life! I�m gonna fight, though. I�m not going down without bruises. Mmmmm, bruises...