Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-23

Weekend of a Dorkess

I am such a dork. I was so excited by something this morning, I was actually squirming in my seat and tingling all over. What was it, you ask? This is where the �dork� part comes in� check out the word of the day . But don�t just read the word and definition, that�s nothing. Read below it, read how the word itself is balanced, and then� as if that didn�t already have me reeling, read the little poem ditty. Alphabet dancing! I love it! And to top the whole wonderful, amazing thing off, a fabulous Rushdie quote at the bottom! AAAHHHH! Whew! I need a cigarette.

My weekend sucked. Gotcha! Does my weekend EVER suck? Uh, no. Friday night, I dragged Spider Monkey with me to my family-birthday dinner (yes, my birthday DID last the entire week) at my sister�s house. My mother tried to upstage me by going to the Emergency Room a few hours before dinner was scheduled. She�s fine, and I talked my sisters through the guilt until it was gone, which is the state of mind I strive to constantly live in � guilt free. Dinner was delicious, my nephew was adorable. Want to know how psychotic the eldest of our clan is?

Jane wanted the baby to stay awake until her husband could get there, it�s been months since he�s seen the kid. Little Liam was tired . REALLY tired. Jane did everything in her power to keep that poor kid awake. She even dabbed frosting on his lips, hoping he�d lick the sugar and get a little jolt of alertness. Evil. She got what she wanted, though, and Simon got to see those big, blue eyes.

Saturday, lunch with all my sisters plus Mom & the baby, I�m so happy I got to spend so much time with all of them this weekend. After lunch, it was a shopping spree, and I got new makeup, new clothes, new bras (so important) and so on. Oh, happy day! Saturday night, Artist came into town and we whisked him to a party, as we are apt to do, and oh, how we love to do it. Private party at the Gargoyle, a venue brimming with treasures from all over the world, and how gracious our hostess was. Friends all around, and that always makes me smile. After-gathering at the Stanton Residence, where we hung wit Curious G, and I do believe I ended up falling asleep on the couch.

Ha! But before I got too uncomfortable, I slithered over and into Fizgig & Nina�s bed. Jesus Christ, you two, that�s a comfy bed you got there. I�m sorry I didn�t make it. But oh, I slept so well.

Sunday was tough at first. After sending Artist on his way, I beat him back to dreamland when I crashed in my own bed. But I was interrupted soon after. I�d say that I got in an argument, but it does take two to argue. I guess it�s more accurate to say that I was attacked, brutally beaten with thoughtless words from an irrational person. Someone I love, in desperation and despair, like a cornered and wounded animal, bit, snapped and snarled at me and I was frozen and dumbfounded in my shock. Only later, when the wrongness of it all set it, did I get a bit emotional. Fuck. I�m not one to hold grudges, but I may be trying out that silence treatment thing. I mean, if you allow things to blow over, again and again, that just sends the message that this kind of thing is okay. And it�s not. So, much to everyone in my family�s annoyance and tension levels, I�m going to follow through on this one. That� just not cool.

The day ended well, though, I came neck-in-neck in a game of Scrabble with Faye (though the bitch won� damn those triple word squares!!!) And I relaxed at home. Another full weekend, complete with family and social engagements, smiles, laughter, and even some tears. I feel alive. Now, onto work and my walkman, so I can listen yet again to that amazing CD that Johnny made.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Weekend of a Dorkess 2002-09-23 9:27 a.m. I am such a dork. I was so excited by something this morning, I was actually squirming in my seat and tingling all over. What was it, you ask? This is where the �dork� part comes in� check out the word of the day . But don�t just read the word and definition, that�s nothing. Read below it, read how the word itself is balanced, and then� as if that didn�t already have me reeling, read the little poem ditty. Alphabet dancing! I love it! And to top the whole wonderful, amazing thing off, a fabulous Rushdie quote at the bottom! AAAHHHH! Whew! I need a cigarette.

My weekend sucked. Gotcha! Does my weekend EVER suck? Uh, no. Friday night, I dragged Spider Monkey with me to my family-birthday dinner (yes, my birthday DID last the entire week) at my sister�s house. My mother tried to upstage me by going to the Emergency Room a few hours before dinner was scheduled. She�s fine, and I talked my sisters through the guilt until it was gone, which is the state of mind I strive to constantly live in � guilt free. Dinner was delicious, my nephew was adorable. Want to know how psychotic the eldest of our clan is?

Jane wanted the baby to stay awake until her husband could get there, it�s been months since he�s seen the kid. Little Liam was tired . REALLY tired. Jane did everything in her power to keep that poor kid awake. She even dabbed frosting on his lips, hoping he�d lick the sugar and get a little jolt of alertness. Evil. She got what she wanted, though, and Simon got to see those big, blue eyes.

Saturday, lunch with all my sisters plus Mom & the baby, I�m so happy I got to spend so much time with all of them this weekend. After lunch, it was a shopping spree, and I got new makeup, new clothes, new bras (so important) and so on. Oh, happy day! Saturday night, Artist came into town and we whisked him to a party, as we are apt to do, and oh, how we love to do it. Private party at the Gargoyle, a venue brimming with treasures from all over the world, and how gracious our hostess was. Friends all around, and that always makes me smile. After-gathering at the Stanton Residence, where we hung wit Curious G, and I do believe I ended up falling asleep on the couch.

Ha! But before I got too uncomfortable, I slithered over and into Fizgig & Nina�s bed. Jesus Christ, you two, that�s a comfy bed you got there. I�m sorry I didn�t make it. But oh, I slept so well.

Sunday was tough at first. After sending Artist on his way, I beat him back to dreamland when I crashed in my own bed. But I was interrupted soon after. I�d say that I got in an argument, but it does take two to argue. I guess it�s more accurate to say that I was attacked, brutally beaten with thoughtless words from an irrational person. Someone I love, in desperation and despair, like a cornered and wounded animal, bit, snapped and snarled at me and I was frozen and dumbfounded in my shock. Only later, when the wrongness of it all set it, did I get a bit emotional. Fuck. I�m not one to hold grudges, but I may be trying out that silence treatment thing. I mean, if you allow things to blow over, again and again, that just sends the message that this kind of thing is okay. And it�s not. So, much to everyone in my family�s annoyance and tension levels, I�m going to follow through on this one. That� just not cool.

The day ended well, though, I came neck-in-neck in a game of Scrabble with Faye (though the bitch won� damn those triple word squares!!!) And I relaxed at home. Another full weekend, complete with family and social engagements, smiles, laughter, and even some tears. I feel alive. Now, onto work and my walkman, so I can listen yet again to that amazing CD that Johnny made.