Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-24

Anti-Christian Propaganda and a little update

�If the secret sorrows of everyone could be read on their forehead, how many who now cause envy would suddenly become the objects of pity.� � Italian proverb . I�m in a constant conscious battle to make sure that my choices are based on what I want, and not what I think will be approved or disapproved on a general level. Separate, as church from state, your mind from society. It CAN be done, it�s just� really, really hard.

Philosophy and coffee in the morning (don�t forget my moist and delicious scone), but I couldn�t help but pause on this headline, long enough to read the entire article. I�ve never liked Jesse Jackson, and I�m not exactly sure why that is, as I don�t follow his exploits. One thing that is consistent, though, is that anytime he�s been in the spotlight, I�ve groaned and sighed and become agitated, as I usually strongly disagree with most of the things that come out of any hypocritical, over-religious zealot�s unctuous mouth. He�s quoted as admonishing these artists for �trying to turn a tragedy into a comedy.� What are we if we can�t find SOME angle to laugh at ANYTHING? Uptight little prick, perhaps he could find a more worthy cause in this fucked-up world than more fucking censorship.

I really need to be more accepting of other people�s religions. It was so hard for me to keep my mouth closed when in casual conversation, I discovered a coworker to be Mormon. But you know what? If it�s not pushed in my face, why should my ideas and beliefs be pushed in theirs? As strong as a bible-thumper�s conviction that he is right, is as sure as I am that he is wrong. So, it�s good for me not to get in those little discussions. Ah! Coffee on the new outfit! I�m sure on some universal level, that bitch of a �god� just cracked a joke, with me as the punch line. Ooh, wiping off without a trace. Good one, Lordette. You almost had me there.

Enough of my babble. I saw the premiere for the movie, Tuxedo, last night. It would have been perfect without the Jennifer or Jessica Love Hewitt character (whatever her little name is). It�s not just that she bothers the hell out of me, but the character itself in the film was really superfluous, and just took away from Jackie Chan, who could have pulled the entire thing off alone, and it would have been that much funnier. I had a great time, though, laughing at a stupid flick, then walking over to Seau�s for a late dinner with friends. Thank god we got there at the END of the game. I had no idea it was football season already.

I laughed harder and longer at dinner than I have in a long time. The giggles took control of Spider Monkey and me (that IS grammatically correct, and if you think otherwise, you are wrong). She laughed so hard, Oodong noodles flew from her mouth and across the table. I wish I could recapture the humor for you in the dozens of zingers we were coming up with, but too much would be lost in the translation. Let�s suffice it to say, we were fucking funny, and better yet, we were cracking ourselves up to the point of teary eyes and belly aches. Good times, good times. Tonight, I see more friends. Now, onto the rest of my coffee and the work day. I shall get through another!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Anti-Christian Propaganda and a little update 2002-09-24 9:17 a.m. �If the secret sorrows of everyone could be read on their forehead, how many who now cause envy would suddenly become the objects of pity.� � Italian proverb . I�m in a constant conscious battle to make sure that my choices are based on what I want, and not what I think will be approved or disapproved on a general level. Separate, as church from state, your mind from society. It CAN be done, it�s just� really, really hard.

Philosophy and coffee in the morning (don�t forget my moist and delicious scone), but I couldn�t help but pause on this headline, long enough to read the entire article. I�ve never liked Jesse Jackson, and I�m not exactly sure why that is, as I don�t follow his exploits. One thing that is consistent, though, is that anytime he�s been in the spotlight, I�ve groaned and sighed and become agitated, as I usually strongly disagree with most of the things that come out of any hypocritical, over-religious zealot�s unctuous mouth. He�s quoted as admonishing these artists for �trying to turn a tragedy into a comedy.� What are we if we can�t find SOME angle to laugh at ANYTHING? Uptight little prick, perhaps he could find a more worthy cause in this fucked-up world than more fucking censorship.

I really need to be more accepting of other people�s religions. It was so hard for me to keep my mouth closed when in casual conversation, I discovered a coworker to be Mormon. But you know what? If it�s not pushed in my face, why should my ideas and beliefs be pushed in theirs? As strong as a bible-thumper�s conviction that he is right, is as sure as I am that he is wrong. So, it�s good for me not to get in those little discussions. Ah! Coffee on the new outfit! I�m sure on some universal level, that bitch of a �god� just cracked a joke, with me as the punch line. Ooh, wiping off without a trace. Good one, Lordette. You almost had me there.

Enough of my babble. I saw the premiere for the movie, Tuxedo, last night. It would have been perfect without the Jennifer or Jessica Love Hewitt character (whatever her little name is). It�s not just that she bothers the hell out of me, but the character itself in the film was really superfluous, and just took away from Jackie Chan, who could have pulled the entire thing off alone, and it would have been that much funnier. I had a great time, though, laughing at a stupid flick, then walking over to Seau�s for a late dinner with friends. Thank god we got there at the END of the game. I had no idea it was football season already.

I laughed harder and longer at dinner than I have in a long time. The giggles took control of Spider Monkey and me (that IS grammatically correct, and if you think otherwise, you are wrong). She laughed so hard, Oodong noodles flew from her mouth and across the table. I wish I could recapture the humor for you in the dozens of zingers we were coming up with, but too much would be lost in the translation. Let�s suffice it to say, we were fucking funny, and better yet, we were cracking ourselves up to the point of teary eyes and belly aches. Good times, good times. Tonight, I see more friends. Now, onto the rest of my coffee and the work day. I shall get through another!