Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-10-03

Chilly, and somehow... still warm.

�Sometimes I think we�re alone in the universe, and sometimes I think we�re not. In either case, the idea is quite staggering.� � Arthur C. Clarke, science fiction writer. Must be a Brit. No, I�m not planning on jumping into any heavy subjects here � the only reason I wanted to share the quote is that I love the way the Brits talk (e.g. �quite staggering�). Who uses the word, �staggering?� Lovely.

Last night, I saw Baraka . Amazing imagery, touching musical score. Aside from a few difficult views of the dark side of humanity, I thought it to be beautiful and relaxing, just what I needed after a day of bullshit and office drama. Mmm, relaxing.

Man, is it cold in my office this morning! My fingers feel almost numb! Could be the wet hair, tacked back and up in a tight bun; could be faux-fall, with a bit of a nip in the air, and a little less circulation in my fingers when they aren�t lotioned up; could be that all I want to be doing is laying in a comfy bed, wrapped in a thick comforter, maybe reading, definitely relaxing, most assuredly warmer than I am right now.

I swear, it�s borderline sick, just how much I can LOVE Diet Coke in the morning. Every gulp emits from me a deeply satisfied sigh. Mother�s milk, I�m telling ya. Consider yourself told.

I heard from someone yesterday, someone I love and haven�t heard from in quite awhile. Someone whom I�ve purposefully avoided communication with, for the last time we communicated, her words, like little poison-tipped daggers, left me feeling numb, tranquilized and apathetic. I got an email this morning, a bit of a follow up to the call, intention, apology, sincerity. It was then, when love for my sister came flowing in like a busted dam to fill the ravine her absence had left, that I realized how much I missed her. When you are as close to your siblings as I am to mine, separation and distance keeps you as far away from yourself as it does from those you love.

I�m very relieved, and I�m very happy. Now, I�ve got some work to do.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Chilly, and somehow... still warm. 2002-10-03 9:19 a.m. �Sometimes I think we�re alone in the universe, and sometimes I think we�re not. In either case, the idea is quite staggering.� � Arthur C. Clarke, science fiction writer. Must be a Brit. No, I�m not planning on jumping into any heavy subjects here � the only reason I wanted to share the quote is that I love the way the Brits talk (e.g. �quite staggering�). Who uses the word, �staggering?� Lovely.

Last night, I saw Baraka . Amazing imagery, touching musical score. Aside from a few difficult views of the dark side of humanity, I thought it to be beautiful and relaxing, just what I needed after a day of bullshit and office drama. Mmm, relaxing.

Man, is it cold in my office this morning! My fingers feel almost numb! Could be the wet hair, tacked back and up in a tight bun; could be faux-fall, with a bit of a nip in the air, and a little less circulation in my fingers when they aren�t lotioned up; could be that all I want to be doing is laying in a comfy bed, wrapped in a thick comforter, maybe reading, definitely relaxing, most assuredly warmer than I am right now.

I swear, it�s borderline sick, just how much I can LOVE Diet Coke in the morning. Every gulp emits from me a deeply satisfied sigh. Mother�s milk, I�m telling ya. Consider yourself told.

I heard from someone yesterday, someone I love and haven�t heard from in quite awhile. Someone whom I�ve purposefully avoided communication with, for the last time we communicated, her words, like little poison-tipped daggers, left me feeling numb, tranquilized and apathetic. I got an email this morning, a bit of a follow up to the call, intention, apology, sincerity. It was then, when love for my sister came flowing in like a busted dam to fill the ravine her absence had left, that I realized how much I missed her. When you are as close to your siblings as I am to mine, separation and distance keeps you as far away from yourself as it does from those you love.

I�m very relieved, and I�m very happy. Now, I�ve got some work to do.