Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-10-07

DMV, and shut your yapper

The DMV wasn�t half bad. Actually, one of the most pleasant government office-like visits I�ve ever had (the other was in Downtown LA when the woman let me retake the picture for my Driver�s License - she said, �honey, you look like you�re drunk here, get back against that screen and give us a smile - thank God she did, I later got a glimpse at the zombie nightmare my I.D. picture almost WAS). I walked in, shared some smiles, not too crowded, no one seemed to be in a dour mood just yet. Perfect.

It feels SO good to have all that shit taken care of. I don�t understand how it could have gotten as confused and messed up as it was. No sticker on my car, because that was ripped off the night it got towed (oh happy day), when I got pulled over, confident that my paperwork would prove my good citizenry, and no ticket would be written, I discovered - with the help of Mr. Cocheez himself - the depth of my car/registration drama. It�s like this: the CAR is paid through, but not with the license plates on it. The cop had no record of the license plates I have, and I have no record of the license plates I�m supposed to have. I had paperwork that proved his computer wrong, and he had computer work that proved my memory wrong...

And now, all is cleared up. I�ve got the right paperwork, the right stickers, and I should have no more car drama (seeing that I park in appropriate spots, of course, and I should pay those tickets now, while it�s fresh in my mind). Ah, sweet relief.

Then, to come into the office (I was actually here on time, DMV was so quick), and be welcomed by drama, in the form of stacked files and shrill voices, yapping about which coworkers were how drunk at happy hour on Friday - the reason I don�t hang out with coworkers. Muttering, �shut the fuck up� under my breath, I�ve been tackling deadlines ever since, and it is looking like one of those weeks (you know, the weeks that include a glass of wine every evening just to drain the tension). I�ll get through it just fine, though. Don�t I always? Back at it.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
DMV, and shut your yapper 2002-10-07 10:49 a.m. The DMV wasn�t half bad. Actually, one of the most pleasant government office-like visits I�ve ever had (the other was in Downtown LA when the woman let me retake the picture for my Driver�s License - she said, �honey, you look like you�re drunk here, get back against that screen and give us a smile - thank God she did, I later got a glimpse at the zombie nightmare my I.D. picture almost WAS). I walked in, shared some smiles, not too crowded, no one seemed to be in a dour mood just yet. Perfect.

It feels SO good to have all that shit taken care of. I don�t understand how it could have gotten as confused and messed up as it was. No sticker on my car, because that was ripped off the night it got towed (oh happy day), when I got pulled over, confident that my paperwork would prove my good citizenry, and no ticket would be written, I discovered - with the help of Mr. Cocheez himself - the depth of my car/registration drama. It�s like this: the CAR is paid through, but not with the license plates on it. The cop had no record of the license plates I have, and I have no record of the license plates I�m supposed to have. I had paperwork that proved his computer wrong, and he had computer work that proved my memory wrong...

And now, all is cleared up. I�ve got the right paperwork, the right stickers, and I should have no more car drama (seeing that I park in appropriate spots, of course, and I should pay those tickets now, while it�s fresh in my mind). Ah, sweet relief.

Then, to come into the office (I was actually here on time, DMV was so quick), and be welcomed by drama, in the form of stacked files and shrill voices, yapping about which coworkers were how drunk at happy hour on Friday - the reason I don�t hang out with coworkers. Muttering, �shut the fuck up� under my breath, I�ve been tackling deadlines ever since, and it is looking like one of those weeks (you know, the weeks that include a glass of wine every evening just to drain the tension). I�ll get through it just fine, though. Don�t I always? Back at it.