Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-11-12

Catching up on a Tuesday - Check

Fancy that, my dears, I AM in my office, after all! You�d think I�d be trying to get some work done here, but alas, I am not� at least, not yet. After a three-day weekend, there is just too much catching up to do, and I�m quite the office butterfly. I mean, I just HAD to tell everyone how I fell AGAIN, after tripping on the SAME damn date palm seeds, only in a different location (I swear, they're trying to kill me). I had to show off my new bracelet from the Farmer's Market, brag about the deal I got on a handful of books at the Used Book Store that's going out of business, talk about my nephew�s first few steps, my friend�s caf�, where I attended a party and celebration for the newly-received liquor license, the movies I saw, the exhibit I saw, just to name a handful of things.

It was a nice, relaxing, long weekend. Yesterday, I got to spend the day with family. The first half, with Jen, laughing and waiting and lunching and talking. I got to meet some new people and do my favorite thing in the whole-wide-world � talk to them AND make them smile. I forgot how good that feels. Then I drove up to East Jesus, to visit with the family that harbors my nephew. I helped Faye grade a bunch of honors English essay questions, played with my nephew, saw him take his first few steps (still wobbly), watched Spiderman on the HUGE TV (we will always be giddy dorks, my sisters and I, when we see any film that includes a dork who is blessed with super powers), and ate a tasty dinner before heading home for the evening to read and write (not necessarily in that order).

I�m wearing new pants today, found �em hanging in my closet, tags still on them. Interesting. I wonder if I got them a while ago, and they were too tight so I stuck them away for future use� anyhow, they fit fine today, and the black of them is fresh and dark, untouched by lint or cat hair. Nice. I�m only here today and tomorrow, folks. I�ll be in L.A. the rest of the week, for some paralegal training thing. I need to make the most out of this trip, or else I�ll feel as if I�m wasting an opportunity of some kind. Like visiting with friends, or shopping, or just being OUT and ABOUT, you know, the usual. Between now and then, I will figure something out. I�m like Batman when it comes to pulling through at the last minute, or at least I like to think so.

Alright, socializing � check. Furiously-typed update � check. Attitude � check. Lipstick � check. Quote for the day? Ah, yes - �I hang onto my prejudices, they are the testicles of my mind.� � Eric Hoffer - check. I will most likely be getting a raise that will be effective today and reflecting in a CHECK tomorrow. Cross your fingers for Miss Fantastic over here, always finagling the next step to her utter success � check.

Tonight, dinner with friends, prepared by� ah yes, new more realistic name for my toy, as L.B. was more of an inside joke between me and one of my many personalities� simple, accurate, D.Z. it is (and not just because I was in the sorority, Delta Zeta, GOD what a waste of time but a quick way to learn the true definition of �pathetic women� THAT was) � check.

Okay, I�m ready to start the day� I mean, I AM still in my office. And according to Woody Allen, �Eighty percent of success is showing up.�

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Catching up on a Tuesday - Check 2002-11-12 10:41 a.m. Fancy that, my dears, I AM in my office, after all! You�d think I�d be trying to get some work done here, but alas, I am not� at least, not yet. After a three-day weekend, there is just too much catching up to do, and I�m quite the office butterfly. I mean, I just HAD to tell everyone how I fell AGAIN, after tripping on the SAME damn date palm seeds, only in a different location (I swear, they're trying to kill me). I had to show off my new bracelet from the Farmer's Market, brag about the deal I got on a handful of books at the Used Book Store that's going out of business, talk about my nephew�s first few steps, my friend�s caf�, where I attended a party and celebration for the newly-received liquor license, the movies I saw, the exhibit I saw, just to name a handful of things.

It was a nice, relaxing, long weekend. Yesterday, I got to spend the day with family. The first half, with Jen, laughing and waiting and lunching and talking. I got to meet some new people and do my favorite thing in the whole-wide-world � talk to them AND make them smile. I forgot how good that feels. Then I drove up to East Jesus, to visit with the family that harbors my nephew. I helped Faye grade a bunch of honors English essay questions, played with my nephew, saw him take his first few steps (still wobbly), watched Spiderman on the HUGE TV (we will always be giddy dorks, my sisters and I, when we see any film that includes a dork who is blessed with super powers), and ate a tasty dinner before heading home for the evening to read and write (not necessarily in that order).

I�m wearing new pants today, found �em hanging in my closet, tags still on them. Interesting. I wonder if I got them a while ago, and they were too tight so I stuck them away for future use� anyhow, they fit fine today, and the black of them is fresh and dark, untouched by lint or cat hair. Nice. I�m only here today and tomorrow, folks. I�ll be in L.A. the rest of the week, for some paralegal training thing. I need to make the most out of this trip, or else I�ll feel as if I�m wasting an opportunity of some kind. Like visiting with friends, or shopping, or just being OUT and ABOUT, you know, the usual. Between now and then, I will figure something out. I�m like Batman when it comes to pulling through at the last minute, or at least I like to think so.

Alright, socializing � check. Furiously-typed update � check. Attitude � check. Lipstick � check. Quote for the day? Ah, yes - �I hang onto my prejudices, they are the testicles of my mind.� � Eric Hoffer - check. I will most likely be getting a raise that will be effective today and reflecting in a CHECK tomorrow. Cross your fingers for Miss Fantastic over here, always finagling the next step to her utter success � check.

Tonight, dinner with friends, prepared by� ah yes, new more realistic name for my toy, as L.B. was more of an inside joke between me and one of my many personalities� simple, accurate, D.Z. it is (and not just because I was in the sorority, Delta Zeta, GOD what a waste of time but a quick way to learn the true definition of �pathetic women� THAT was) � check.

Okay, I�m ready to start the day� I mean, I AM still in my office. And according to Woody Allen, �Eighty percent of success is showing up.�