Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-11-21

Too busy to think!

I�ve got a bajillion, zillion things to do today, so I�m just going to belt out a quick one here (and I don�t mean a belch, though I must say, my DC this morning is perfectly effervescent). So, apparently, according to CNN, U.S. District Judge Harold Baer Jr.�s latest ruling will allow KKK members to demonstrate with their hoods on in New York. After making his decision known, he said, "The decision says all speech, including repugnant, bigoted and wrong-minded expression, is protected under the First Amendment.� It�s unfortunate that we can�t pick and choose when we reach these extremes, but I am grateful for the law, and would uphold it, even if it means these cowardly pigs can prance around and spread their ignorant hatred without showing their pasty faces to the world.

I think it was Voltaire who said, �I do not agree with what he says, but I will defend to the death his right to say it.� Correct me if I�m wrong, I don�t have time to research that one. But as much as I hate the ACLU, for my own little reasons, I applaud their drive to make respect a universal trait, defending the rights of everyone equally, even if I don�t personally agree that certain people deserve it (i.e., in my opinion, you give up some of your rights when you make certain bad choices, you know, like killing someone or taking something that doesn�t belong to you, etc.).

Anyway. Tension is high in the office this morning. I�ve had three different people express to me their frustration with someone else. I wonder if it�s the full moon last night. I�m actually feeling quite content. A good thing, that, because with all that I need to do today, and with all of these other people so worked up, I figure it�s important for me to have my cool and keep it. We�ll see how long that lasts.

Yesterday afternoon, I got a nice surprise. My mother called me and asked me to join her for lunch! I was delighted that she thought of me, that she wanted to see me, that neither of us needed anything, neither of us had any bad news, it was just daughter meeting mother for lunch on a Wednesday, and it was lovely. I�m looking forward to this weekend and next week � Jane�s back from Costa Rica, Dad will be back from Florida, the whole family will be here!

Last night, I dined with DZ, stopped by Spider Monkey�s, and played with some new toys. This morning, though distracted and pouty, I managed to pull myself from the idea of a day of lounging bliss and get to the office, where I�m just SO READY (read the sarcasm) to deal with EVERYONE�S WONDERFUL bullshit. Ah, I�m just bitching. It�s all good. There�s a sick part of me that welcomes conflict and challenge, just so that I have another opportunity to learn how to handle it better. I�m getting there.

Communication Queen, about to take over the office again, and eventually� the world. One authoritative fidyott at a time.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Too busy to think! 2002-11-21 9:10 a.m. I�ve got a bajillion, zillion things to do today, so I�m just going to belt out a quick one here (and I don�t mean a belch, though I must say, my DC this morning is perfectly effervescent). So, apparently, according to CNN, U.S. District Judge Harold Baer Jr.�s latest ruling will allow KKK members to demonstrate with their hoods on in New York. After making his decision known, he said, "The decision says all speech, including repugnant, bigoted and wrong-minded expression, is protected under the First Amendment.� It�s unfortunate that we can�t pick and choose when we reach these extremes, but I am grateful for the law, and would uphold it, even if it means these cowardly pigs can prance around and spread their ignorant hatred without showing their pasty faces to the world.

I think it was Voltaire who said, �I do not agree with what he says, but I will defend to the death his right to say it.� Correct me if I�m wrong, I don�t have time to research that one. But as much as I hate the ACLU, for my own little reasons, I applaud their drive to make respect a universal trait, defending the rights of everyone equally, even if I don�t personally agree that certain people deserve it (i.e., in my opinion, you give up some of your rights when you make certain bad choices, you know, like killing someone or taking something that doesn�t belong to you, etc.).

Anyway. Tension is high in the office this morning. I�ve had three different people express to me their frustration with someone else. I wonder if it�s the full moon last night. I�m actually feeling quite content. A good thing, that, because with all that I need to do today, and with all of these other people so worked up, I figure it�s important for me to have my cool and keep it. We�ll see how long that lasts.

Yesterday afternoon, I got a nice surprise. My mother called me and asked me to join her for lunch! I was delighted that she thought of me, that she wanted to see me, that neither of us needed anything, neither of us had any bad news, it was just daughter meeting mother for lunch on a Wednesday, and it was lovely. I�m looking forward to this weekend and next week � Jane�s back from Costa Rica, Dad will be back from Florida, the whole family will be here!

Last night, I dined with DZ, stopped by Spider Monkey�s, and played with some new toys. This morning, though distracted and pouty, I managed to pull myself from the idea of a day of lounging bliss and get to the office, where I�m just SO READY (read the sarcasm) to deal with EVERYONE�S WONDERFUL bullshit. Ah, I�m just bitching. It�s all good. There�s a sick part of me that welcomes conflict and challenge, just so that I have another opportunity to learn how to handle it better. I�m getting there.

Communication Queen, about to take over the office again, and eventually� the world. One authoritative fidyott at a time.