Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-12-19

A Much Needed Day Off

I really DID have a stomach ache, you know. Some crampy thing going on for a few days now, so it�s quite legitimate that I didn�t come to work yesterday. That being said, let me tell you about the last few nights and day, and all the wonderful things I did while I was illin� .

First, a quote for you: �We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.� � Kahlil Gibran I like to think I�ve been choosing joy for quite some time now. And for all of you out there, who find yourselves in perpetual pain and sorrow, I wonder, if on some level, you do not secretly wish for such torment and are simply somehow manifesting your deep-rooted desire to suffer. We are strange creatures, this I know. Psychology interests me greatly. Alright! Onto my update!

Tuesday night, Bunny�s going-away gathering at Nunu�s, and a ton of friends and faces I haven�t seen in awhile graced my favorite little bar. Bunny will obviously be missed, and it was wonderful for her to see all of the people who cared enough to make it a point to be there, however briefly. Lizard was even down from LA! It was a fabulous affair. I had pretty much decided before the evening was out that I was not going to make it into work the next day. Ever just NEED a break ? Then you get me.

After the bar, after bidding Bunny �adieu� until next time, I headed back to Ms�s, and slept. Well, eventually. Hee hee. Then yesterday, after battling the demons in my head � represented by voices of coworkers and people in authority � I decided to call it in and actually have a productive day outside of the office. And, you know, my stomach and all � ouch! See? I spent the morning trying to gather motivation, which is NOT easy with Ms around, looking all tasty and shit. But I did, and off to the mall I went. That�s right, the MALL. I went to the mall . I won�t go near this place during the weekends right now, so it was nice to hit it up and make a dent in my shopping.

I should have gone with a list instead of wandering aimlessly, picking up things I thought people would like as I saw them. I ended up with a LOT of stuff for Spider Monkey. Everywhere I looked, I saw something I thought she�d like or get a kick out of, because I liked it or got a kick out of it, and in my basket it went! Discipline is needed, I�m an impulse buyer. Got a few things for myself, too. BUT, I also managed to get some key gifts for family members, knocking a few more off my list, bringing me that much closer to complete Holiday Accomplishment. I bought a ton of cards, as I do every year, and decided later that I didn�t want to write in them, as I do every year. Some patterns are tougher to break than others.

Anyway, I returned to Ms�s, where the boy was tied up with all kinds of work, and spent the afternoon lollygagging around. Did I mention it was his birthday? Yes, I think I may have. We went to dinner at Parallel 33 , it was my first time eating there, also Ms�s favorite restaurant. Ms brought fresh, live oysters that he received in the morning from Martha's Vineyard for Robert (the owner), and we had a delectable meal and most tasty dessert! Mmmm! After dinner, we went to meet up with friends at Nunu�s (yet again, I�m telling you, it�s the spot) for a mellow birthday celebration. A great crowd, a wonderful time! Spider Monkey has a gift for gifting, which was apparent in the beautifully-made blanket-throw-cloth-thingy that she gave to the birthday boy.

I was exhausted at the end of the night and slept peacefully, content and warm in my slave�s bed. Now, back at work, I should probably get some shit done. Tomorrow�s a half-day! AND my grandfather gets into town! AND� I�m sure something else will pop up that I forgot about. Onto your day!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
A Much Needed Day Off 2002-12-19 9:25 a.m. I really DID have a stomach ache, you know. Some crampy thing going on for a few days now, so it�s quite legitimate that I didn�t come to work yesterday. That being said, let me tell you about the last few nights and day, and all the wonderful things I did while I was illin� .

First, a quote for you: �We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.� � Kahlil Gibran I like to think I�ve been choosing joy for quite some time now. And for all of you out there, who find yourselves in perpetual pain and sorrow, I wonder, if on some level, you do not secretly wish for such torment and are simply somehow manifesting your deep-rooted desire to suffer. We are strange creatures, this I know. Psychology interests me greatly. Alright! Onto my update!

Tuesday night, Bunny�s going-away gathering at Nunu�s, and a ton of friends and faces I haven�t seen in awhile graced my favorite little bar. Bunny will obviously be missed, and it was wonderful for her to see all of the people who cared enough to make it a point to be there, however briefly. Lizard was even down from LA! It was a fabulous affair. I had pretty much decided before the evening was out that I was not going to make it into work the next day. Ever just NEED a break ? Then you get me.

After the bar, after bidding Bunny �adieu� until next time, I headed back to Ms�s, and slept. Well, eventually. Hee hee. Then yesterday, after battling the demons in my head � represented by voices of coworkers and people in authority � I decided to call it in and actually have a productive day outside of the office. And, you know, my stomach and all � ouch! See? I spent the morning trying to gather motivation, which is NOT easy with Ms around, looking all tasty and shit. But I did, and off to the mall I went. That�s right, the MALL. I went to the mall . I won�t go near this place during the weekends right now, so it was nice to hit it up and make a dent in my shopping.

I should have gone with a list instead of wandering aimlessly, picking up things I thought people would like as I saw them. I ended up with a LOT of stuff for Spider Monkey. Everywhere I looked, I saw something I thought she�d like or get a kick out of, because I liked it or got a kick out of it, and in my basket it went! Discipline is needed, I�m an impulse buyer. Got a few things for myself, too. BUT, I also managed to get some key gifts for family members, knocking a few more off my list, bringing me that much closer to complete Holiday Accomplishment. I bought a ton of cards, as I do every year, and decided later that I didn�t want to write in them, as I do every year. Some patterns are tougher to break than others.

Anyway, I returned to Ms�s, where the boy was tied up with all kinds of work, and spent the afternoon lollygagging around. Did I mention it was his birthday? Yes, I think I may have. We went to dinner at Parallel 33 , it was my first time eating there, also Ms�s favorite restaurant. Ms brought fresh, live oysters that he received in the morning from Martha's Vineyard for Robert (the owner), and we had a delectable meal and most tasty dessert! Mmmm! After dinner, we went to meet up with friends at Nunu�s (yet again, I�m telling you, it�s the spot) for a mellow birthday celebration. A great crowd, a wonderful time! Spider Monkey has a gift for gifting, which was apparent in the beautifully-made blanket-throw-cloth-thingy that she gave to the birthday boy.

I was exhausted at the end of the night and slept peacefully, content and warm in my slave�s bed. Now, back at work, I should probably get some shit done. Tomorrow�s a half-day! AND my grandfather gets into town! AND� I�m sure something else will pop up that I forgot about. Onto your day!