Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-01-27

Disturbing politics and Delightful weekend!

My political views are changing, and as I slowly accept that everything I�ve believed was unfounded and generally accepted as truth by me without the proper research, I�m filled with a mixture of humility and awe. Why DO I believe the things I do? How can I be so absolute about my opinions regarding world politics when I am not INVOLVED in any of it, when I don�t read all views and research independently from the media? It seemed so simple to think something should be one way because it seems �right� or sounds �better.� Every plus has a negative. For every persecuted person in a third-world country saved, there are hundreds and thousands more, elsewhere in the world, that we don�t give a moment�s notice. Is there ANY way to win? I have Michael Moore�s calendar on my desk. Every day my respect for our government and the people who make decisions on behalf of the �majority� of my country is diminished, with each little factoid, quote, or comparison quoted on my calendar. I could sit for days in contemplation of it all, and I would only come out the other side as a frustrated, ruined individual. Socrates dissatisfied.

Anyway, enough of my political nit-picking (I�m still ignorant of MUCH, and will have to set aside some serious research-study time, but for now, I�m pleading disinterest for the sake of my mental energy), I had a WONDERFUL weekend!

Friday night, M.s. and I attended a gallery thingamajig for a few minutes, followed up with a very nice and tasty dinner in Little Italy. Mm! My hot slave, out and about on the town with his even HOTTER Mistress, we had a lot of fun, even if there were superbowl whore-chicks and their jocky-rich boyfriends all around, creeping through the city like roaches garbed in Versace, Armani and silicone.

Saturday night, the fireworks were spectacular! Dinner on Park Ave. and then, from my roof, a handful of people with me, I saw five synchronized shows up the coast, huge, colorful, beautiful! �Ooh�s� and �Aah�s� were drawn from each of us. Sunday, the big day... how lovely it was, warm Santa Ana breezes, a clear-blue day... I went to see a movie, Talk to Her . A touching film, strange and beautiful for many reasons. After the movie, M.s. and I had a picnic! On the top of a hill in Presidio Park, where we laid out the wine, fruit, cheese, peppers, olives, tomatoes, basil, bread, and more, we watched the sunset while we delighted our taste buds and each other. So very nice.

Last night, we viewed the commercials we had taped, and you know, there weren�t any great ones this year. I miss the big dot-com days, when the commercials were funded and created by an edgier, hipper advertising crew. These were just as hokey as the superbowl itself. Though it WAS cool to stick a head out the window and hear the noise of the stadium outside M.s.�s window as it was occurring on TV. Surreal that it was all happening down the hill from us.

This week is going to be INTENSE for me. INTENSE. I have my FIRST class on Wednesday. Deadlines at work on Thursday. And Friday, surgery. AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! Deep breaths. Plug away. I�m off to work on the deadlines right now, and I�ll keep you updated on my stress level, for those few of you who actually give a shit. Happy Monday!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Disturbing politics and Delightful weekend! 2003-01-27 9:28 a.m. My political views are changing, and as I slowly accept that everything I�ve believed was unfounded and generally accepted as truth by me without the proper research, I�m filled with a mixture of humility and awe. Why DO I believe the things I do? How can I be so absolute about my opinions regarding world politics when I am not INVOLVED in any of it, when I don�t read all views and research independently from the media? It seemed so simple to think something should be one way because it seems �right� or sounds �better.� Every plus has a negative. For every persecuted person in a third-world country saved, there are hundreds and thousands more, elsewhere in the world, that we don�t give a moment�s notice. Is there ANY way to win? I have Michael Moore�s calendar on my desk. Every day my respect for our government and the people who make decisions on behalf of the �majority� of my country is diminished, with each little factoid, quote, or comparison quoted on my calendar. I could sit for days in contemplation of it all, and I would only come out the other side as a frustrated, ruined individual. Socrates dissatisfied.

Anyway, enough of my political nit-picking (I�m still ignorant of MUCH, and will have to set aside some serious research-study time, but for now, I�m pleading disinterest for the sake of my mental energy), I had a WONDERFUL weekend!

Friday night, M.s. and I attended a gallery thingamajig for a few minutes, followed up with a very nice and tasty dinner in Little Italy. Mm! My hot slave, out and about on the town with his even HOTTER Mistress, we had a lot of fun, even if there were superbowl whore-chicks and their jocky-rich boyfriends all around, creeping through the city like roaches garbed in Versace, Armani and silicone.

Saturday night, the fireworks were spectacular! Dinner on Park Ave. and then, from my roof, a handful of people with me, I saw five synchronized shows up the coast, huge, colorful, beautiful! �Ooh�s� and �Aah�s� were drawn from each of us. Sunday, the big day... how lovely it was, warm Santa Ana breezes, a clear-blue day... I went to see a movie, Talk to Her . A touching film, strange and beautiful for many reasons. After the movie, M.s. and I had a picnic! On the top of a hill in Presidio Park, where we laid out the wine, fruit, cheese, peppers, olives, tomatoes, basil, bread, and more, we watched the sunset while we delighted our taste buds and each other. So very nice.

Last night, we viewed the commercials we had taped, and you know, there weren�t any great ones this year. I miss the big dot-com days, when the commercials were funded and created by an edgier, hipper advertising crew. These were just as hokey as the superbowl itself. Though it WAS cool to stick a head out the window and hear the noise of the stadium outside M.s.�s window as it was occurring on TV. Surreal that it was all happening down the hill from us.

This week is going to be INTENSE for me. INTENSE. I have my FIRST class on Wednesday. Deadlines at work on Thursday. And Friday, surgery. AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! Deep breaths. Plug away. I�m off to work on the deadlines right now, and I�ll keep you updated on my stress level, for those few of you who actually give a shit. Happy Monday!