Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-04-14

Rekindling a Love Affair with Myself

�The important thing is to be able at any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could be.� � Charles DuBois

In the Church of What�s Happening Now in Florida yesterday, a female reverend said to an audience that included my father that �journaling is a wonderful way to promote insight.� Dad said that he thought of me, and the fact that I�ve been journaling �religiously� for about 9 years. I like to think that I am an introspective woman, I question everything about myself when I write. I question everything I think and feel when I write. It�s the only way that I can know myself, the only way that I can hear my true voice. I haven�t been writing enough lately.

I�m not talking about this journal, this little update, this little exercise for my fingers and my brain. My JOURNAL, which runs through the pages of three separate books, is everything I am, good and bad, haughty and raw, and at times, effervescent and tragic all at once.

Yesterday, M.s. reminded me of a strand of thought that I intermittently grasp and twirl with the fingers of my mind. My automatic writing journal (another journal that spans the length of two more books) was nowhere to be found. I couldn�t grasp onto the strand, I couldn�t even focus on one word. I couldn�t see it, I couldn�t feel it, and this left me pensive with nothing to mull over. Like a thirsty baby with no breast to latch onto. I didn�t know what I thought about commitment and love and excitement and jealousy, insecurity and confidence. I hadn�t written about it in months, I need a pen to hold onto ideas like that.

I wrote for a bit later in the afternoon. I could have written for days. There�s so much going on in there, so much that I want to get out, that I want to make sense of� I�m going to have to break out my automatic writing journal, because my friend, myself, the me that knows me better than I know myself, the me that has watched me grow and change for the last nine years, shouldn�t have to be burdened with my random philosophical conclusions about the mechanics of love and the morality of life. My journal gets to hear my opinions and judgments. My journal gets to hear the final decision made after all of that automatic-writing banter. My journal knows everything that is ugly and pathetic about me� and still, its pages open for my pen. Now that�s love.

As for that strand, I�ll get back to you. After I write it out (which will take longer that I am allotted for a morning update), I may share some conclusions. Oh, but my update! Here I am, after a morning deposition, tea, clouds, meetings, incompetent lawyers and phone calls with clients, and I didn�t even think to tell you about my weekend.

Suffice it to say, M.s. looked hot with a thick chain locked around his waist, matching the lovely chain collar around his neck. My sister had a good time with us downtown, talks with Dad, fabulous meals, dim sum, new restaurant, M.s.�s cooking, movies, new friends, parties, old friends, and an orgasm here and there, a smile, a laugh, a slap, a scratch, and overall, I�m pretty fucking happy. That should do it for now. I�ve got to get back to work.

"A person desperately searching for love is like a fish desperately searching for water." - Deepak Chopra

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Rekindling a Love Affair with Myself 2003-04-14 10:52 a.m. �The important thing is to be able at any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could be.� � Charles DuBois

In the Church of What�s Happening Now in Florida yesterday, a female reverend said to an audience that included my father that �journaling is a wonderful way to promote insight.� Dad said that he thought of me, and the fact that I�ve been journaling �religiously� for about 9 years. I like to think that I am an introspective woman, I question everything about myself when I write. I question everything I think and feel when I write. It�s the only way that I can know myself, the only way that I can hear my true voice. I haven�t been writing enough lately.

I�m not talking about this journal, this little update, this little exercise for my fingers and my brain. My JOURNAL, which runs through the pages of three separate books, is everything I am, good and bad, haughty and raw, and at times, effervescent and tragic all at once.

Yesterday, M.s. reminded me of a strand of thought that I intermittently grasp and twirl with the fingers of my mind. My automatic writing journal (another journal that spans the length of two more books) was nowhere to be found. I couldn�t grasp onto the strand, I couldn�t even focus on one word. I couldn�t see it, I couldn�t feel it, and this left me pensive with nothing to mull over. Like a thirsty baby with no breast to latch onto. I didn�t know what I thought about commitment and love and excitement and jealousy, insecurity and confidence. I hadn�t written about it in months, I need a pen to hold onto ideas like that.

I wrote for a bit later in the afternoon. I could have written for days. There�s so much going on in there, so much that I want to get out, that I want to make sense of� I�m going to have to break out my automatic writing journal, because my friend, myself, the me that knows me better than I know myself, the me that has watched me grow and change for the last nine years, shouldn�t have to be burdened with my random philosophical conclusions about the mechanics of love and the morality of life. My journal gets to hear my opinions and judgments. My journal gets to hear the final decision made after all of that automatic-writing banter. My journal knows everything that is ugly and pathetic about me� and still, its pages open for my pen. Now that�s love.

As for that strand, I�ll get back to you. After I write it out (which will take longer that I am allotted for a morning update), I may share some conclusions. Oh, but my update! Here I am, after a morning deposition, tea, clouds, meetings, incompetent lawyers and phone calls with clients, and I didn�t even think to tell you about my weekend.

Suffice it to say, M.s. looked hot with a thick chain locked around his waist, matching the lovely chain collar around his neck. My sister had a good time with us downtown, talks with Dad, fabulous meals, dim sum, new restaurant, M.s.�s cooking, movies, new friends, parties, old friends, and an orgasm here and there, a smile, a laugh, a slap, a scratch, and overall, I�m pretty fucking happy. That should do it for now. I�ve got to get back to work.

"A person desperately searching for love is like a fish desperately searching for water." - Deepak Chopra