Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-01-26

Friday and Back again

Alright, busy day, let�s see if I can bang out an update here.

My weekend began intensely and mellowed out by Sunday night. Friday night was extremely emotional for me. I went down to my mother�s place for dinner. Everything was fine. Everybody was fine. There was no drama. My grandfather was HAPPY that I made it. Immediately upon seeing him, I regretted those thoughts I had voiced that I didn�t care. I realized that I DID care, I DO care, and for whatever reason, it was easier to think I didn�t care at the time, especially as I was trying to rationalize why I didn�t have to see my family.

Dinner was wonderful, there was laughter and joy, and then I got up to leave. I hugged Pop Pop. I looked him in the eyes and told him I loved him, perhaps for the last time. I smiled at him and told him to have a great flight back. I broke down when I got in my car. I cried all the way back to M.s.�s. By the time he came in to find me, my face and chest were soaked with tears. I just wanted to take it all back, I just suddenly wanted to convince myself that I was not a bad person because I was willing to write off this old man to save myself any potential bullshit created by my mother or sister. I�m happy I went. After a hot shower and some loving attention from my man, all was okay, and I slept like a baby.

Saturday morning Lizzie, my surrogate sister, came by to see the gallery! It was great to see her, though I regret we did not have more time to catch up. Oh, how busy life is when we work full-time and persist in continuing our education through learning institutions, so restricting of our time! I studied for a bit with my new friend, Heidi. Saturday night, I got all dressed up and hit the town for the first time in a WHILE. Obviously a long time, because I was ready to turn into a pumpkin at 11p.m. I stuck it out for another hour or so, because my adorable man was drunk and enjoying himself immensely. How can you pull the plug on that? It was great to see so many of my friends in one place! We had gone to a gallery opening just a few blocks away, and I�m happy we decided to stop by the Gargoyle and join in the festivities (and the eating of all of the olives).

Anyway. Sunday morning we brunched with our client (hey, you gotta start somewhere) and her friend, Baron. We tooled all around town looking for a place to eat where there wasn�t a 45-minute wait, and eventually ended up at a dim sum restaurant. The wait was exciting for me, though exhausting for our guests. However, we did get to see the big performance, bright, colorful dragons dancing up the stairs and into the restaurant, followed by acrobats and others in costume in celebration of the Chinese New Year. Brunch was yummy, and conversation was spirited. Just the way I like it. We took them back to the gallery , to show Baron around. And after they left, two more sales! What can you say, we represent some pretty great artists.

Last night we dined with Spider Monkey and O.H. Tacos and Finding Nemo, a perfect way to end a weekend that started out with hysterics. Today is busy, but I think I�ve got it covered. Tonight, oh-ho, I�ll tell you about it tomorrow.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Friday and Back again 2004-01-26 2:15 p.m. Alright, busy day, let�s see if I can bang out an update here.

My weekend began intensely and mellowed out by Sunday night. Friday night was extremely emotional for me. I went down to my mother�s place for dinner. Everything was fine. Everybody was fine. There was no drama. My grandfather was HAPPY that I made it. Immediately upon seeing him, I regretted those thoughts I had voiced that I didn�t care. I realized that I DID care, I DO care, and for whatever reason, it was easier to think I didn�t care at the time, especially as I was trying to rationalize why I didn�t have to see my family.

Dinner was wonderful, there was laughter and joy, and then I got up to leave. I hugged Pop Pop. I looked him in the eyes and told him I loved him, perhaps for the last time. I smiled at him and told him to have a great flight back. I broke down when I got in my car. I cried all the way back to M.s.�s. By the time he came in to find me, my face and chest were soaked with tears. I just wanted to take it all back, I just suddenly wanted to convince myself that I was not a bad person because I was willing to write off this old man to save myself any potential bullshit created by my mother or sister. I�m happy I went. After a hot shower and some loving attention from my man, all was okay, and I slept like a baby.

Saturday morning Lizzie, my surrogate sister, came by to see the gallery! It was great to see her, though I regret we did not have more time to catch up. Oh, how busy life is when we work full-time and persist in continuing our education through learning institutions, so restricting of our time! I studied for a bit with my new friend, Heidi. Saturday night, I got all dressed up and hit the town for the first time in a WHILE. Obviously a long time, because I was ready to turn into a pumpkin at 11p.m. I stuck it out for another hour or so, because my adorable man was drunk and enjoying himself immensely. How can you pull the plug on that? It was great to see so many of my friends in one place! We had gone to a gallery opening just a few blocks away, and I�m happy we decided to stop by the Gargoyle and join in the festivities (and the eating of all of the olives).

Anyway. Sunday morning we brunched with our client (hey, you gotta start somewhere) and her friend, Baron. We tooled all around town looking for a place to eat where there wasn�t a 45-minute wait, and eventually ended up at a dim sum restaurant. The wait was exciting for me, though exhausting for our guests. However, we did get to see the big performance, bright, colorful dragons dancing up the stairs and into the restaurant, followed by acrobats and others in costume in celebration of the Chinese New Year. Brunch was yummy, and conversation was spirited. Just the way I like it. We took them back to the gallery , to show Baron around. And after they left, two more sales! What can you say, we represent some pretty great artists.

Last night we dined with Spider Monkey and O.H. Tacos and Finding Nemo, a perfect way to end a weekend that started out with hysterics. Today is busy, but I think I�ve got it covered. Tonight, oh-ho, I�ll tell you about it tomorrow.