Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-02-24

Running on Fumes

�In science it often happens that scientists say, �You know that�s a really good argument; my position is mistaken,� and then they would actually change their minds and you never hear that old view from them again. They really do it. It doesn�t happen as often as it should, because scientists are human and change is sometimes painful. But it happens every day. I cannot recall the last time something like that happened in politics or religion.� - Carl Sagan

There is much to do at the office, as there always is, but I decided to steal a few precious moments to myself and type a little update. I truly believe that the mark of a wise woman (or man) is her ability to change her mind when new information is presented. The ability to embrace new information and let go of old beliefs when they are revealed to be unfounded. Sometimes, we hold on so tightly to what we think we know, that we never get to see the many things there are to learn. The many things that can brighten our lives and broaden our minds.

This last weekend was relaxing for me, I love the rain. It rained all weekend, and I successfully procrastinated on my homework while tooling around excitedly with M.s. and visiting briefly with friends. Nina and Fizgig stopped by on Saturday, what fun! I don�t tread my paths of friendship as often as I�d like, due to my limited time, but slowly, I�m working little jaunts down various paths back into my busy schedule. I diligently stomp down the weeds and flowers that tend to grow in my absence.

Sometimes, I feel as though I�m running hard and fast and not getting anywhere. At the office, at school, with my family and personal life. It�s hard to see how much land you�ve covered when the scenery all looks the same. Despite this dreary landscape, I am confident in the glorious view that awaits me if I just keep running. Just keep working towards something better, something more. My degree represents an easy-to-see goal. I just need to focus on that so that I don�t feel so overwhelmed. I can do so much more than this, but I will not get the chance to do so much more until I accept doing this, and doing this well.

There are many lessons left for me here, in this space I am in. So I need to let go of what I think I know, and pay attention to the words and advice that exist in my every encounter. I need to listen. I need to apply, and I need to act. Then... then I may catch a glimpse of what I�m running toward. We are not measured by our accomplishments. We are not measured by who we know or where we have been. We are measured by where we are, and what we are doing NOW with what we have. How much are you willing to change? We grow so attached to who we think we are, we forget that we can be whomever we want.

On the other side of this hill, it is the �me� I want to be waiting for this me to catch up. I think I can run just a little bit faster...

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Running on Fumes 2004-02-24 10:06 a.m. �In science it often happens that scientists say, �You know that�s a really good argument; my position is mistaken,� and then they would actually change their minds and you never hear that old view from them again. They really do it. It doesn�t happen as often as it should, because scientists are human and change is sometimes painful. But it happens every day. I cannot recall the last time something like that happened in politics or religion.� - Carl Sagan

There is much to do at the office, as there always is, but I decided to steal a few precious moments to myself and type a little update. I truly believe that the mark of a wise woman (or man) is her ability to change her mind when new information is presented. The ability to embrace new information and let go of old beliefs when they are revealed to be unfounded. Sometimes, we hold on so tightly to what we think we know, that we never get to see the many things there are to learn. The many things that can brighten our lives and broaden our minds.

This last weekend was relaxing for me, I love the rain. It rained all weekend, and I successfully procrastinated on my homework while tooling around excitedly with M.s. and visiting briefly with friends. Nina and Fizgig stopped by on Saturday, what fun! I don�t tread my paths of friendship as often as I�d like, due to my limited time, but slowly, I�m working little jaunts down various paths back into my busy schedule. I diligently stomp down the weeds and flowers that tend to grow in my absence.

Sometimes, I feel as though I�m running hard and fast and not getting anywhere. At the office, at school, with my family and personal life. It�s hard to see how much land you�ve covered when the scenery all looks the same. Despite this dreary landscape, I am confident in the glorious view that awaits me if I just keep running. Just keep working towards something better, something more. My degree represents an easy-to-see goal. I just need to focus on that so that I don�t feel so overwhelmed. I can do so much more than this, but I will not get the chance to do so much more until I accept doing this, and doing this well.

There are many lessons left for me here, in this space I am in. So I need to let go of what I think I know, and pay attention to the words and advice that exist in my every encounter. I need to listen. I need to apply, and I need to act. Then... then I may catch a glimpse of what I�m running toward. We are not measured by our accomplishments. We are not measured by who we know or where we have been. We are measured by where we are, and what we are doing NOW with what we have. How much are you willing to change? We grow so attached to who we think we are, we forget that we can be whomever we want.

On the other side of this hill, it is the �me� I want to be waiting for this me to catch up. I think I can run just a little bit faster...