Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-03-23

Teachings of Buddha

I didn�t realize we were having a fucking contest. It�s appalling to me that any minority group would try to claim the award for �most suffering� over any other minority group. Isn�t the whole point of minority rights (any minority) to be treated equally? How counterproductive is it for us to waste time bitching about who is treated worse, when we should be focusing on treating everyone with the same respect and dignity afforded to everyone else? It boggles my mind that people can get so freaking offended over something that has little or nothing to do with them. If someone is looking for a comparison to great injustices, the quickest one to find would be civil rights for blacks or for women. I�m a woman. I don�t get offended when someone who is being actively discriminated against draws a comparison against the trials and tribulations of my female predecessors. How dare we be jealous with our trials and tribulations! If anything, you would think those who have suffered the most would jump to the aid of anyone else faced with the same fate. Tsk, tsk, people. Tsk, tsk.

This morning I was tailing behind a vehicle in which resided a little culture collision. On the back of the beige Thunderbird (circa 1980-something) was a faded black bumper sticker with �Thrasher� printed in white. Ah, metal-head. But wait, what�s this? A little shrine to Buddha could be seen through the glass, his belly facing the seats in front of him. I smiled to myself. I could just see the Asian man (and he was Asian, I�d guess in his 40s) taking a break from his head-banging to rub that lucky, jutting belly.

Let�s see, tonight I have class, so I need to cut this short and knock out a few things that are work related before I revise and finalize the paper I will be turning in. Ever the multi-tasker! I have excited my father enough about Varekai that he contacted me from Korea and asked that I secure him some tickets so he can see the show himself. This makes me very happy, as I know he will get as much out of it as I did! Life is good, and I am filled with blueberries. It doesn�t get any better than this. I will quietly thank that enlightened dear, the reformer formerly known as Siddhartha. For his message of �equality, unity, and cosmic love everywhere.� Let�s not forget we are all in this life together.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Teachings of Buddha 2004-03-23 8:50 a.m. I didn�t realize we were having a fucking contest. It�s appalling to me that any minority group would try to claim the award for �most suffering� over any other minority group. Isn�t the whole point of minority rights (any minority) to be treated equally? How counterproductive is it for us to waste time bitching about who is treated worse, when we should be focusing on treating everyone with the same respect and dignity afforded to everyone else? It boggles my mind that people can get so freaking offended over something that has little or nothing to do with them. If someone is looking for a comparison to great injustices, the quickest one to find would be civil rights for blacks or for women. I�m a woman. I don�t get offended when someone who is being actively discriminated against draws a comparison against the trials and tribulations of my female predecessors. How dare we be jealous with our trials and tribulations! If anything, you would think those who have suffered the most would jump to the aid of anyone else faced with the same fate. Tsk, tsk, people. Tsk, tsk.

This morning I was tailing behind a vehicle in which resided a little culture collision. On the back of the beige Thunderbird (circa 1980-something) was a faded black bumper sticker with �Thrasher� printed in white. Ah, metal-head. But wait, what�s this? A little shrine to Buddha could be seen through the glass, his belly facing the seats in front of him. I smiled to myself. I could just see the Asian man (and he was Asian, I�d guess in his 40s) taking a break from his head-banging to rub that lucky, jutting belly.

Let�s see, tonight I have class, so I need to cut this short and knock out a few things that are work related before I revise and finalize the paper I will be turning in. Ever the multi-tasker! I have excited my father enough about Varekai that he contacted me from Korea and asked that I secure him some tickets so he can see the show himself. This makes me very happy, as I know he will get as much out of it as I did! Life is good, and I am filled with blueberries. It doesn�t get any better than this. I will quietly thank that enlightened dear, the reformer formerly known as Siddhartha. For his message of �equality, unity, and cosmic love everywhere.� Let�s not forget we are all in this life together.