Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-06-02

Another Standoff and Giddy Girl

I can�t find it in the news, but last night I witnessed a Cops episode out the front window. 6 or 7 cop cars followed a little red car until it stopped across the street from our place in Kensington (by the Kensington park next to the Kensington library). Police officers exited their cars and approached the red car with guns drawn, two with rifles. I know the end of a long chase when I�ve seen one. This is not the first time I have been around during a standoff. After a few minutes, a young woman got out of the car and backed up, slowly, with her arms raised, until she was taken by an officer and let to the car closest to me to be searched.

After the woman, a young man came out, same deal, backwards, hands in the air. Then a third, another man, backwards, you know the drill. K-9s were brought up to the car, and as they approached, they barked energetically and pulled on their leashes to get at the goods. Muy interesante.

We tried out a new Mediterranean place on University Avenue last night. Who knew Lebanese food was also Mediterranean? Perhaps in an old Geography class I knew, but until last night, the majority of restaurants I�d been to that claim this area have been Greek, with the exception of a few Persian places. We live and we learn. Dinner was delicious.

But I have BETTER news! I feel like I�m not supposed to say anything for some weird reason, but the truth is, I will have a column in the San Diego Reader. An article I wrote about a new club will be out mid-June, and a feature written by me will hopefully be out mid-July. The weekly column will probably be out as soon as I get my ass in gear and begin writing it. No problemo, Mister Man.

Last night I was so excited about the turns my life has taken that I paced for hours. Yesterday I purchased a chair at the Healthy Back store, because until now, I�ve been doing all my typing hunched over my little iBook. No more. Now, I am so ergonomically correct I�ll never need a chiropractor. Excellent.

But I must run, I�m going to be late, and I have a little baby to watch today. More on that (and family and babies and shit) in my column, my lovelies. Oh yes, MORE!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Another Standoff and Giddy Girl 2004-06-02 9:30 a.m. I can�t find it in the news, but last night I witnessed a Cops episode out the front window. 6 or 7 cop cars followed a little red car until it stopped across the street from our place in Kensington (by the Kensington park next to the Kensington library). Police officers exited their cars and approached the red car with guns drawn, two with rifles. I know the end of a long chase when I�ve seen one. This is not the first time I have been around during a standoff. After a few minutes, a young woman got out of the car and backed up, slowly, with her arms raised, until she was taken by an officer and let to the car closest to me to be searched.

After the woman, a young man came out, same deal, backwards, hands in the air. Then a third, another man, backwards, you know the drill. K-9s were brought up to the car, and as they approached, they barked energetically and pulled on their leashes to get at the goods. Muy interesante.

We tried out a new Mediterranean place on University Avenue last night. Who knew Lebanese food was also Mediterranean? Perhaps in an old Geography class I knew, but until last night, the majority of restaurants I�d been to that claim this area have been Greek, with the exception of a few Persian places. We live and we learn. Dinner was delicious.

But I have BETTER news! I feel like I�m not supposed to say anything for some weird reason, but the truth is, I will have a column in the San Diego Reader. An article I wrote about a new club will be out mid-June, and a feature written by me will hopefully be out mid-July. The weekly column will probably be out as soon as I get my ass in gear and begin writing it. No problemo, Mister Man.

Last night I was so excited about the turns my life has taken that I paced for hours. Yesterday I purchased a chair at the Healthy Back store, because until now, I�ve been doing all my typing hunched over my little iBook. No more. Now, I am so ergonomically correct I�ll never need a chiropractor. Excellent.

But I must run, I�m going to be late, and I have a little baby to watch today. More on that (and family and babies and shit) in my column, my lovelies. Oh yes, MORE!