Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-07-01

A Quick Blurt

Get thee to a Reader stand, for my weekly column, �Diary of a Diva,� has launched! I will continue to write in the music section (I can�t help myself), and I have a few more features I�m working on. But now you�ll get at least one weekly dose of Barbarella in print! I�m assuming you consider this a good thing. I mean, I consider it a great thing, but that�s to be expected here.

Enough shameless self-promotion. Yesterday I biffed it on my way up the stairs. Halfway up, my toe caught and I went down, arms full of clothes and heavy purse. One wood plank step caught me right beneath the kneecap with its edge. Ouch. I had a tennis-ball size lump beneath my knee. This morning, it has smoothed out into an overall swelling, and the deep, dark purple design is something to brag about. I�ll whine, I�ll complain, I�ll milk any sympathetic attention, but I will get over it.

Tonight I�m going to help my mother pick out some new glasses (now each of my parents have been fooled into thinking I have some sort of fashion taste), and then I�m meeting up with Spider Monkey for a drink at Nunu�s to hang with the cute new bartender I haven�t yet met. I�ve heard wonderful things about her, though, so we�re in for a treat! Last night we joined Dr. Zayaz (Fizgig�s new name in the music world) and Nina for dinner at Thee Bungalow. Spanish wine-tasting dinner. I�ll have to tell you about it sometime. Nina and I are now SURE that we don�t like mussels or scallops. Otherwise, the food was tasty enough and a few of the wines were delicious.

Our trip was so much fun, but now we have a lot of work to do. M.s. is preparing for his big show next month in the Vineyard, trying to get some new images done. I have a few projects I want to knock out before we leave, and the July on my Palm is already looking ridiculously crowded. We have guests coming into town for Comicon, shows to see, things to do, writing, writing, writing. I�m not complaining, just trying to prioritize. This weekend there�s just so much to choose from, what with the holiday and all. Friday night fashion shows, Saturday night Truffle Records CD release party at Air Conditioned (a must, because too many old friends are visiting that I would love to see). I have a wedding to attend during the day. I haven�t heard of anything happening on Sunday. Maybe I�m just not invited to any of the bar-b-cues this year.

There�s so much more to share, about my time away, about things to come, but I�m way too scatterbrained to make sense of it right now, so I�m going to finish some "work" and get back to you. In the meantime, happy Thursday!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
A Quick Blurt 2004-07-01 9:29 a.m. Get thee to a Reader stand, for my weekly column, �Diary of a Diva,� has launched! I will continue to write in the music section (I can�t help myself), and I have a few more features I�m working on. But now you�ll get at least one weekly dose of Barbarella in print! I�m assuming you consider this a good thing. I mean, I consider it a great thing, but that�s to be expected here.

Enough shameless self-promotion. Yesterday I biffed it on my way up the stairs. Halfway up, my toe caught and I went down, arms full of clothes and heavy purse. One wood plank step caught me right beneath the kneecap with its edge. Ouch. I had a tennis-ball size lump beneath my knee. This morning, it has smoothed out into an overall swelling, and the deep, dark purple design is something to brag about. I�ll whine, I�ll complain, I�ll milk any sympathetic attention, but I will get over it.

Tonight I�m going to help my mother pick out some new glasses (now each of my parents have been fooled into thinking I have some sort of fashion taste), and then I�m meeting up with Spider Monkey for a drink at Nunu�s to hang with the cute new bartender I haven�t yet met. I�ve heard wonderful things about her, though, so we�re in for a treat! Last night we joined Dr. Zayaz (Fizgig�s new name in the music world) and Nina for dinner at Thee Bungalow. Spanish wine-tasting dinner. I�ll have to tell you about it sometime. Nina and I are now SURE that we don�t like mussels or scallops. Otherwise, the food was tasty enough and a few of the wines were delicious.

Our trip was so much fun, but now we have a lot of work to do. M.s. is preparing for his big show next month in the Vineyard, trying to get some new images done. I have a few projects I want to knock out before we leave, and the July on my Palm is already looking ridiculously crowded. We have guests coming into town for Comicon, shows to see, things to do, writing, writing, writing. I�m not complaining, just trying to prioritize. This weekend there�s just so much to choose from, what with the holiday and all. Friday night fashion shows, Saturday night Truffle Records CD release party at Air Conditioned (a must, because too many old friends are visiting that I would love to see). I have a wedding to attend during the day. I haven�t heard of anything happening on Sunday. Maybe I�m just not invited to any of the bar-b-cues this year.

There�s so much more to share, about my time away, about things to come, but I�m way too scatterbrained to make sense of it right now, so I�m going to finish some "work" and get back to you. In the meantime, happy Thursday!