Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-12-27

People frustrations and random update

"Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success." -- Albert Schweitzer

Could it be a coincidence that within days of the moment I decided to follow my dream, realizing that if I didn't obtain it, I was happy anyway, that I was discovered by the god and goddess of the Reader? Probably, but if I wasn't so positive and sure, could I have taken that step? Probably not.

I respect and admire those who take life by the horns, those who become aware that their situation is what is making them miserable, and then muster the strength to change that situation. We should not be victims of circumstance.

There are a few cases in my life where I have seen this put into effect. My sister, choosing to escape her assigned roll and work her ass off to succeed, to learn, to grow. My mother, choosing to stop waiting around for my dad to come back and work her ass off to be happy, to learn, to grow. My father, taking the difficult step to leave a dead relationship, he's always been working to learn, to grow, but now he's getting to know himself as well.

Of these people, I am proud. Maybe someday I'll write about those who frustrate the hell out of me. Those in constant peril and misery, who despite my encouraging words, always go back to the source of their peril, misery, and glimpses of perceived happiness. Of these people, I am hopeful. It's just a bummer there are so many of them.

I should mention that Christmas was great, but I'm working on an update for the paper, so I'll say no more than it was wonderful.

We leave on Thursday for Vermont. I've got a lot to do between now and then. Bee & Gee are coming over tonight to hang out and narrow down a choice of which of M.s.'s photos they want to acquire. There's so much more going on this week, but I'd have to check my calendar to remember what it is.

Last night was a LOT of fun. Jenny hung out with us all day, getting software for her laptop, learning how to navigate around her new iBook G4, a sweet xmas present, but like I said, I'm writing about it elsewhere. After we had a wonderful day, her boyfriend, Brad, joined us for dinner and marathon Sequence, a new game I'm in love with.

I've got the first two seasons of Kids in the Hall, can't WAIT to see them. Again. I love that show, M.s. found the DVDs for me.

Mr. Davis Freeman has posted the selection of pictures he took of us for his project. We're going to select a few to have in our new home, to go with the portrait that Ben will eventually take of us. I'll show you those pics as soon as I can! We need to speak with the good man Freeman first.

Alright, that's a handful. I need to get to work and run a bunch of errands. It's a good thing I'm up and showered early.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
People frustrations and random update 2004-12-27 8:23 a.m. "Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success." -- Albert Schweitzer

Could it be a coincidence that within days of the moment I decided to follow my dream, realizing that if I didn't obtain it, I was happy anyway, that I was discovered by the god and goddess of the Reader? Probably, but if I wasn't so positive and sure, could I have taken that step? Probably not.

I respect and admire those who take life by the horns, those who become aware that their situation is what is making them miserable, and then muster the strength to change that situation. We should not be victims of circumstance.

There are a few cases in my life where I have seen this put into effect. My sister, choosing to escape her assigned roll and work her ass off to succeed, to learn, to grow. My mother, choosing to stop waiting around for my dad to come back and work her ass off to be happy, to learn, to grow. My father, taking the difficult step to leave a dead relationship, he's always been working to learn, to grow, but now he's getting to know himself as well.

Of these people, I am proud. Maybe someday I'll write about those who frustrate the hell out of me. Those in constant peril and misery, who despite my encouraging words, always go back to the source of their peril, misery, and glimpses of perceived happiness. Of these people, I am hopeful. It's just a bummer there are so many of them.

I should mention that Christmas was great, but I'm working on an update for the paper, so I'll say no more than it was wonderful.

We leave on Thursday for Vermont. I've got a lot to do between now and then. Bee & Gee are coming over tonight to hang out and narrow down a choice of which of M.s.'s photos they want to acquire. There's so much more going on this week, but I'd have to check my calendar to remember what it is.

Last night was a LOT of fun. Jenny hung out with us all day, getting software for her laptop, learning how to navigate around her new iBook G4, a sweet xmas present, but like I said, I'm writing about it elsewhere. After we had a wonderful day, her boyfriend, Brad, joined us for dinner and marathon Sequence, a new game I'm in love with.

I've got the first two seasons of Kids in the Hall, can't WAIT to see them. Again. I love that show, M.s. found the DVDs for me.

Mr. Davis Freeman has posted the selection of pictures he took of us for his project. We're going to select a few to have in our new home, to go with the portrait that Ben will eventually take of us. I'll show you those pics as soon as I can! We need to speak with the good man Freeman first.

Alright, that's a handful. I need to get to work and run a bunch of errands. It's a good thing I'm up and showered early. Miss Poola - 2004-12-27 22:35:26
I absolutely LOVE the new look! And....once again....you inspire me to continue tapping out diary entries every day - to grow and change and save the world! GAAAAAAA! Illusions of grandeur - first sign of something going awry. Your dad is such a sweetie. He has put me in touch with a theatre company that might be interested in my show. How jammin' is that? See you at Vons when you get back from Vermont.
-------------------------------