Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-01-24

Back and Cranky over naught

"In the absence of touching and being touched, people of all ages can sicken and grow touch-starved." -- Diane Ackerman

I'm a firm believer of the power of touch, but it's like saying you believe the sky is blue. People need to be touched. Hugs are healing, and all that jazz.

So, we're back from L.A., and we had a great time! How wonderful it is to have an opportunity to see people you love who no longer live a short drive away (even 2.5 hours isn't too long a drive, but it certainly puts a slow on visits).

Photo l.a. was fun. I saw a few interesting photos, but the real fun was in the people watching. A few famous cats were by on Friday -- Robert Downey Jr. and Brandon Fraser -- but they weren't the most entertaining. It was the woman with the cheek implants, the pair of older ladies that must have been the inspiration for Patsy and Edina, and the old man who had the SAME EXACT face as the cartoon of Mr. Burns. I swear, an animator must have done a portrait of this guy and decided to use him for the character of the Simpson's villain. To make sure it wasn't just me, I pointed him out to several people, and all agreed on the uncanny resemblance.

Now we're home, to work work work, and there is much of it I have to do. This morning I'm cranky, maybe I'm tired. Last night I went to the movies with Jen, we had a great time laughing at inappropriate moments during the film. Like we were children again, sitting next to each other in church, unable to contain ourselves as, even at our young age, we picked up on irony, hypocrisy, and the silly ridiculousness of the congregation. So many things are so funny. It's nice when you notice them.

So, to work with me then. I think I need some caffeine and something solid in my belly first. Maybe some Tylenol. Anything to lift my spirits, because sometimes, even when everything is going okay, even when life is good, you still feel like sulking. This is the luxury we have as the upper middle class -- to get pissy over things that don't even matter. Trail mix will help me remember the good in the world and the motivation I have to get my work done today. Good ol' trail mix.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Back and Cranky over naught 2005-01-24 9:48 a.m. "In the absence of touching and being touched, people of all ages can sicken and grow touch-starved." -- Diane Ackerman

I'm a firm believer of the power of touch, but it's like saying you believe the sky is blue. People need to be touched. Hugs are healing, and all that jazz.

So, we're back from L.A., and we had a great time! How wonderful it is to have an opportunity to see people you love who no longer live a short drive away (even 2.5 hours isn't too long a drive, but it certainly puts a slow on visits).

Photo l.a. was fun. I saw a few interesting photos, but the real fun was in the people watching. A few famous cats were by on Friday -- Robert Downey Jr. and Brandon Fraser -- but they weren't the most entertaining. It was the woman with the cheek implants, the pair of older ladies that must have been the inspiration for Patsy and Edina, and the old man who had the SAME EXACT face as the cartoon of Mr. Burns. I swear, an animator must have done a portrait of this guy and decided to use him for the character of the Simpson's villain. To make sure it wasn't just me, I pointed him out to several people, and all agreed on the uncanny resemblance.

Now we're home, to work work work, and there is much of it I have to do. This morning I'm cranky, maybe I'm tired. Last night I went to the movies with Jen, we had a great time laughing at inappropriate moments during the film. Like we were children again, sitting next to each other in church, unable to contain ourselves as, even at our young age, we picked up on irony, hypocrisy, and the silly ridiculousness of the congregation. So many things are so funny. It's nice when you notice them.

So, to work with me then. I think I need some caffeine and something solid in my belly first. Maybe some Tylenol. Anything to lift my spirits, because sometimes, even when everything is going okay, even when life is good, you still feel like sulking. This is the luxury we have as the upper middle class -- to get pissy over things that don't even matter. Trail mix will help me remember the good in the world and the motivation I have to get my work done today. Good ol' trail mix.

The Truth - 2005-01-24 20:16:52
Upper middle class ---- are you kidding? You work at a free newspaper.
-------------------------------
Barbarella - 2005-01-24 21:19:12
Ah, you're back, The Truth! Thanks for reading! Regarding your astute observation as to my main source of income, just because you don't pay, doesn't mean I don't get paid. As a matter of fact, my income is substantially larger than it was when I was working as a paralegal. And as for your previous comment, dear, I pay for as many of our fabulous trips as my "wealthy boy toy." Keep up the tabs! I'm enjoying your adorable comments immensely.
-------------------------------