Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-03-08

Good Day

"I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time." -- Friedrich Nietzsche

I had a good day. This morning I fine-tuned some work, and then I skipped out for the rest of the day, returning just now, after 9 p.m. I got my car from Smitty's , and damn those guys are good. I had a GREAT experience with them.

After that, which was after lunch with my love at Karen's expanding joint, Spill the Beans, I drove off to fetch Ollie. And, just to piss him off, I'm going to tell you that we spent a good portion of the day at the mall, shopping like sisters. Like a gentleman, he waited outside when I ventured into the undergarment section, but otherwise, he offered opinions (if you can call rolling your eyes or hooting in approval opinions), and we picked him out some sweet shirts. Oh, the dapper fellow, you'll look just swell at Mr. A's!

Afterwards, a coffee, a stomach ache, and some good conversation until I left to meet up with Dad. I hardly get to see him anymore. I took him to Kiki Sushi, and as I expected, he was nervous about my shopping bags in the back seat of my car. "Someone will break your window to take those," he said. "I mean, the stuff may not be worth that much money, but you'd have to pay to fix the window." For the few things I don't worry about, I have my father take on the burden of concern. It was funny, because earlier in the day I told Ollie the same thing, and he shrugged and told me no one wants to break into my car for plus-size women's clothing. I would like to see Ollie and Dad verbally duke that one out. I know who would win, and his name does not rhyme with Folly.

After dinner, Dad and I hung out for a bit, discussing people and politics. Then, on the way home, I talked to my old boss. It was great to hear from her, she's been following up with my life through my writing (it must be so convenient for you people, and here I have to call everyone separately to get the scoop on your lives), and we're going to get together for a little work reunion lunch, minus the bitches. I'm looking forward to seeing my old coworkers. You get to know people when you see them every day for two years, you know. You get to know them and you come to care about them. Minus the bitches.

I told Dad during dinner how wonderful it is for me to blog nowadays. How, compared to the organization of putting together an article, it is loose, free, random, and cathartic. Just thinking about it made me want to write here, to share unedited thoughts with you. The perfect end to a good day.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Good Day 2005-03-08 9:31 p.m. "I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time." -- Friedrich Nietzsche

I had a good day. This morning I fine-tuned some work, and then I skipped out for the rest of the day, returning just now, after 9 p.m. I got my car from Smitty's , and damn those guys are good. I had a GREAT experience with them.

After that, which was after lunch with my love at Karen's expanding joint, Spill the Beans, I drove off to fetch Ollie. And, just to piss him off, I'm going to tell you that we spent a good portion of the day at the mall, shopping like sisters. Like a gentleman, he waited outside when I ventured into the undergarment section, but otherwise, he offered opinions (if you can call rolling your eyes or hooting in approval opinions), and we picked him out some sweet shirts. Oh, the dapper fellow, you'll look just swell at Mr. A's!

Afterwards, a coffee, a stomach ache, and some good conversation until I left to meet up with Dad. I hardly get to see him anymore. I took him to Kiki Sushi, and as I expected, he was nervous about my shopping bags in the back seat of my car. "Someone will break your window to take those," he said. "I mean, the stuff may not be worth that much money, but you'd have to pay to fix the window." For the few things I don't worry about, I have my father take on the burden of concern. It was funny, because earlier in the day I told Ollie the same thing, and he shrugged and told me no one wants to break into my car for plus-size women's clothing. I would like to see Ollie and Dad verbally duke that one out. I know who would win, and his name does not rhyme with Folly.

After dinner, Dad and I hung out for a bit, discussing people and politics. Then, on the way home, I talked to my old boss. It was great to hear from her, she's been following up with my life through my writing (it must be so convenient for you people, and here I have to call everyone separately to get the scoop on your lives), and we're going to get together for a little work reunion lunch, minus the bitches. I'm looking forward to seeing my old coworkers. You get to know people when you see them every day for two years, you know. You get to know them and you come to care about them. Minus the bitches.

I told Dad during dinner how wonderful it is for me to blog nowadays. How, compared to the organization of putting together an article, it is loose, free, random, and cathartic. Just thinking about it made me want to write here, to share unedited thoughts with you. The perfect end to a good day.

ollie - 2005-03-09 12:19:55
"I would like to see Ollie and Dad verbally duke that one out." Challenge accepted. In a locked car, in broad daylight, on the main street of Ocean Beach bags in the back of your car are FINE. There are no roving groups of homeless maniacs slinking through the alleyways just waiting for bags to be LOCKED in a car so that they smash the window in and take them. If it had been nighttime and on El Cajon Blvd, then I would've suggested putting them in the trunk. Your dad fills your head with statistics from the frightened media that has you worried that everyone is out to mug, rape, and murder you. When really, people are just going to the beach, or getting a sandwich, or walking their dogs. Show M.s. this. He'll argue my side while I'm in drunk school this morning. I'll call when class lets out.
-------------------------------