Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-04-12

Chopin

M.s. bought me a few classical music CDs the other day, I may have mentioned it already. I had only listened to the songs I am learning to play before today. (If you have some free time and know how to find MP3s easily, the song I'm halfway through learning is Chopin's Nocturne in E minor.) Now I have the Chopin CD on, nocturnes and ballads performed by Vladimir Ashkenazy.

And I am realizing that it's not just the song I chose to learn that I love -- I love Chopin's music. Each of these tunes has caused me to close my eyes and savor the melody. Passionate, dark, yearning, redeeming, glorious.

I'll have to learn how to play all of them. If I get half as much pleasure from playing these compositions as I do from listening to them, it will be time well spent. These songs are bittersweet, as satisfying as a well-written novel (of which I've read many lately).

Tonight, Dad is coming over to hear me play the piano, and then have dinner, probably somewhere local. The sooner I finish my work for today, the sooner I can practice the songs I will play.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Chopin 2005-04-12 11:53 a.m. M.s. bought me a few classical music CDs the other day, I may have mentioned it already. I had only listened to the songs I am learning to play before today. (If you have some free time and know how to find MP3s easily, the song I'm halfway through learning is Chopin's Nocturne in E minor.) Now I have the Chopin CD on, nocturnes and ballads performed by Vladimir Ashkenazy.

And I am realizing that it's not just the song I chose to learn that I love -- I love Chopin's music. Each of these tunes has caused me to close my eyes and savor the melody. Passionate, dark, yearning, redeeming, glorious.

I'll have to learn how to play all of them. If I get half as much pleasure from playing these compositions as I do from listening to them, it will be time well spent. These songs are bittersweet, as satisfying as a well-written novel (of which I've read many lately).

Tonight, Dad is coming over to hear me play the piano, and then have dinner, probably somewhere local. The sooner I finish my work for today, the sooner I can practice the songs I will play. Verilium - 2005-04-12 19:23:01
Your rendition of Chopin sounded lovely last night:-) Have fun with your dad!
-------------------------------
GelidGuy - 2005-04-19 11:41:06
As you find Chopin's music expresses many colours, and as you clearly enjoy a good read, you may want to get a copy of George Sand's autobiography. She was Chopin's mistress for many years. She was also a very original and independent woman in her own right, especially for their time.
-------------------------------
texas holdem - 2005-05-11 03:27:36

Please check the sites about texas holdem texas holdem http://www.ua-princeton.com/
- Tons of interesdting stuff!!!


-------------------------------