Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-05-25

Reader, Reading, and Family

And it's already Wednesday. Check out this week's Reader , because Ollie's mug will be on the cover! It will be up online later this afternoon. He did the cover story this week. Now it's a race between us to see how many times we can get our own faces on the cover of the mag. So far, I'm ahead. But he's not far behind.

Last night I was a guest reader for the creative non-fiction writing class at San Diego City College. My nerves were calmed a bit when I first walked in and encountered a few students who read me regularly. And the glass of wine I had with Sara prior to going to her class helped too. At least they know what they're getting into, I thought. I wore feathers on my head, and read three columns, after which I answered questions.

I ended up staying and listening as many of the students read some of their own work. Wow, there were some great writers in the room. I found it so stimulating, inspiring even, to listen to these different voices, people from different walks of life telling their own stories, paying attention to what it is they choose to observe in life. I'm sure I got a lot more out of being there than they got from me being there. What a cool experience.

Today, after my piano lesson, I'll be driving up to San Marcos to watch my nephews. May the lord I don't believe in give me strength. I'm still working on this whole "patience" thing, but I'm sure I'll survive, and maybe they'll even like me a little.

Tomorrow morning, I'm taking my mother to the hospital for a "procedure." Maybe I'll write about it. Butt for now (not a typo), just know that I'll bring a good book, because I'll be hanging out in the waiting room for at least 2 hours. That is, unless I choose to drive around and observe the natives of Chula Vista. Hmmm. On second thought, I'm bringing my laptop and going to a coffee shop after I drop her off. The doctor will call when they're done, right?

Now, to limber my fingers and prep for my lesson. Let the music carry me away.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Reader, Reading, and Family 2005-05-25 9:57 a.m. And it's already Wednesday. Check out this week's Reader , because Ollie's mug will be on the cover! It will be up online later this afternoon. He did the cover story this week. Now it's a race between us to see how many times we can get our own faces on the cover of the mag. So far, I'm ahead. But he's not far behind.

Last night I was a guest reader for the creative non-fiction writing class at San Diego City College. My nerves were calmed a bit when I first walked in and encountered a few students who read me regularly. And the glass of wine I had with Sara prior to going to her class helped too. At least they know what they're getting into, I thought. I wore feathers on my head, and read three columns, after which I answered questions.

I ended up staying and listening as many of the students read some of their own work. Wow, there were some great writers in the room. I found it so stimulating, inspiring even, to listen to these different voices, people from different walks of life telling their own stories, paying attention to what it is they choose to observe in life. I'm sure I got a lot more out of being there than they got from me being there. What a cool experience.

Today, after my piano lesson, I'll be driving up to San Marcos to watch my nephews. May the lord I don't believe in give me strength. I'm still working on this whole "patience" thing, but I'm sure I'll survive, and maybe they'll even like me a little.

Tomorrow morning, I'm taking my mother to the hospital for a "procedure." Maybe I'll write about it. Butt for now (not a typo), just know that I'll bring a good book, because I'll be hanging out in the waiting room for at least 2 hours. That is, unless I choose to drive around and observe the natives of Chula Vista. Hmmm. On second thought, I'm bringing my laptop and going to a coffee shop after I drop her off. The doctor will call when they're done, right?

Now, to limber my fingers and prep for my lesson. Let the music carry me away.