Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-06-01

End of Book Blues & an evening out

My habit is to pick up a new novel within minutes of finishing one. But how can I do that now?

The Kite Runner is going to stay with me for a bit. Even if I try to immerse myself in another story, chances are it will not have the same impact, the same emotion, the same redemption, the same reality as this one I finished reading today.

So rather than jump to The Known World, which is a novel about slavery, I think I need something light and airy, something that won't pale in comparison to the depth of The Kite Runner. Christopher Moore's The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove might just do the trick.

Earlier this evening, after I'd cried through the climax of the novel and breathed in the denouement, we met up with Ollie to check out Wendy's pieces down at Zapf's Gallery. After viewing some cleverly designed furniture, my darling slave and I parted ways with our friend and headed over to the new Argentinian restaurant on India and Hawthorne. Great service, live music (a man who sang, played piano and guitar), and tasty food.

And now it's 10. And I am sleepy from wining and dining. I say, ol' chap, there are worse ways to be.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
End of Book Blues & an evening out 2005-06-01 9:52 p.m. My habit is to pick up a new novel within minutes of finishing one. But how can I do that now?

The Kite Runner is going to stay with me for a bit. Even if I try to immerse myself in another story, chances are it will not have the same impact, the same emotion, the same redemption, the same reality as this one I finished reading today.

So rather than jump to The Known World, which is a novel about slavery, I think I need something light and airy, something that won't pale in comparison to the depth of The Kite Runner. Christopher Moore's The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove might just do the trick.

Earlier this evening, after I'd cried through the climax of the novel and breathed in the denouement, we met up with Ollie to check out Wendy's pieces down at Zapf's Gallery. After viewing some cleverly designed furniture, my darling slave and I parted ways with our friend and headed over to the new Argentinian restaurant on India and Hawthorne. Great service, live music (a man who sang, played piano and guitar), and tasty food.

And now it's 10. And I am sleepy from wining and dining. I say, ol' chap, there are worse ways to be.