Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-09-10

S.F. Update and Pics!

We had a supercalifragilistic time in San Francisco! I can now officially say I have had a great experience in the city. All of my previous visits (sans my partner) were fraught with one bit of drama or another, always something that kept me from fully enjoying the city the way I might best enjoy it. Finally, that time has come and I can now join the many who say, "I love San Francisco!"

I have some pictures for you, I know it's been a while. So let me give you a blow-by-blow of the highlights. The evening we arrived, we dressed up a bit for the gallery scene, there were 23 galleries in the same building near Union Square, all open with new exhibitions!

Here we are before stepping out:

And I saw a cool angle of David in the mirror so I snapped the funky view:

One of the galleries we attended was Catherine Clark's, who was showing new work by Julie Heffernan, who is also represented by Paul, David's gallery in L.A.

Though I love Julie's work, we went back the following day to acquire a few pieces from one of David's favorite artists, Masami Teraoka. I won't tell you which pieces we got until they arrive and we are able to take photos of them hanging here in our home! We're excited, though.

There was a ton of great art in the city, which sparked some intellectually stimulating conversation about art, craft, and intention between my love and I. I have many shots of art throughout the city, I'll try to organize them and do a separate post so as not to overwhelm and digress.

We did some dining! David took pictures of most of our meals for the foodie web site, chow hound, that he belongs to. Here's a shot he took of our lunch at the South Park Cafe:

Here's another from Slow Food, which was our last and best meal in the city (note the food is gone. There wasn't much time for picture taking because it was so damn tasty, and the atmosphere was wonderful, similar to Cafe on Park):

I save the best for last (usually). So now I'll share that we did plenty of shopping at some really fun stores. To spare my family the thoughts, I will refrain from telling you exactly what we got. But here's a picture of Ms in one of the stores:

And the best part about this shot (aside from the goodies within view) is the sign above his head, of which I have a close-up for you:

And so much more! Our stay at the Palomar was pleasant, the door guys were fun but the restaurant left much to be desired (we only went for breakfast, but still).

Now we're back and ready to get back to work! Though, in many ways, what we did over the last few days was work as well. Connections were made, research was accomplished, cool things were acquired, fun was had, and now we are home and looking forward to the fabulous, friend-filled weekend we have planned about 5 days from now!

Fuckin' A.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
S.F. Update and Pics! 2006-09-10 10:52 a.m. We had a supercalifragilistic time in San Francisco! I can now officially say I have had a great experience in the city. All of my previous visits (sans my partner) were fraught with one bit of drama or another, always something that kept me from fully enjoying the city the way I might best enjoy it. Finally, that time has come and I can now join the many who say, "I love San Francisco!"

I have some pictures for you, I know it's been a while. So let me give you a blow-by-blow of the highlights. The evening we arrived, we dressed up a bit for the gallery scene, there were 23 galleries in the same building near Union Square, all open with new exhibitions!

Here we are before stepping out:

And I saw a cool angle of David in the mirror so I snapped the funky view:

One of the galleries we attended was Catherine Clark's, who was showing new work by Julie Heffernan, who is also represented by Paul, David's gallery in L.A.

Though I love Julie's work, we went back the following day to acquire a few pieces from one of David's favorite artists, Masami Teraoka. I won't tell you which pieces we got until they arrive and we are able to take photos of them hanging here in our home! We're excited, though.

There was a ton of great art in the city, which sparked some intellectually stimulating conversation about art, craft, and intention between my love and I. I have many shots of art throughout the city, I'll try to organize them and do a separate post so as not to overwhelm and digress.

We did some dining! David took pictures of most of our meals for the foodie web site, chow hound, that he belongs to. Here's a shot he took of our lunch at the South Park Cafe:

Here's another from Slow Food, which was our last and best meal in the city (note the food is gone. There wasn't much time for picture taking because it was so damn tasty, and the atmosphere was wonderful, similar to Cafe on Park):

I save the best for last (usually). So now I'll share that we did plenty of shopping at some really fun stores. To spare my family the thoughts, I will refrain from telling you exactly what we got. But here's a picture of Ms in one of the stores:

And the best part about this shot (aside from the goodies within view) is the sign above his head, of which I have a close-up for you:

And so much more! Our stay at the Palomar was pleasant, the door guys were fun but the restaurant left much to be desired (we only went for breakfast, but still).

Now we're back and ready to get back to work! Though, in many ways, what we did over the last few days was work as well. Connections were made, research was accomplished, cool things were acquired, fun was had, and now we are home and looking forward to the fabulous, friend-filled weekend we have planned about 5 days from now!

Fuckin' A.